We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, for a night”
Review of Globales Republica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Republica
Ranked #172 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is an average 3 star hotel - nothing more, nothing less.

Staff on reception are polite, helpful and friendly. One obnoxious waiter works in cafe, however all other wait staff were professional. Food in cafe is ordinary and lacked flavours and freshness.

Shower in room was ridiculously small. Water was hot and abundant. Twin share room was small, however balcony overlooking oblique was added bonus.

Overall I wouldn't wish to spend any extended periods of time at this hotel, however if was sufficient for our overnight stay.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank VickiA331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

I usually stay in Buenos Aires for a few days, on my way to visit my family in Uruguay. I found a good deal the week after Easter, at a much lower rate than usual. The location is great, just a few steps away from Corrientes and the Obelisco. The staff is friendly enough. I got a pretty small room, not facing the street but I kind of saw it coming since I chose the cheapest deal available through the booking system (about 70 bucks a night). Travelers get a pretty decent breakfast, free use of a workout room that has seen better days (better than nothing), wifi, and sauna + jacuzzi for a fee. There is no hair dryer or individual safe deposit box.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murgattore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had seen mixed reviews regarding this hotel and I was surprised. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, in particular one of the concierge gentleman was very nice and spent quite a lot of time with us explaining where we should go and what we should see.
The rooms were basic hotel rooms but they were clean and the view we had was fantastic looking over the city. It was walking distance to most attractions.
The buffet breakfasts were substantial and offered a good variety.
They had free wifi which was great!
Only down side was that you had to pay $25 pesos ($6) per person to use the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLTDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is in a great location close to the Obelisco and around the corner from Calle Corrientes, the main drag for theatres and cinemas, Santa Fe avenue and restaurants.
The building is old and dated and my single room was small but clean and comfortable for a 3star property.
Breakfast was very good for Argentinian standards.
The most value I found after a long flight was the spa area, with various rooms of different temperature steam rooms and a cold water pool to alternate. Sauna and jacuzzi and a bar completed the picture. There was a small charge for this which included a robe,towels and thongs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maricris721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Front desk staff does not make much effort to treat their guests well. Although they do help you and try to speak Portuguese as there are also many Brazilian guests, they look way too cranky for people who receive tourists and are supposed to make sure that they have a good experience at the hotel and the country in general. Good thing about it is the location, facing the obelisk and about four blocks from calle Florida. There is a supermarket nearby and it is pretty much central. Because of the traffic it can get really noisy, and if you have a room facing the obelisk you'll want to make sure to shut the drapes well, as the billboards are lit all night. There is no hair dryer or lock to the safe, you have to request it at front desk. Breakfast is pretty standard, not bad at all. Rooms are also very well cleaned by this cute cleaning lady.

Room Tip: If you wish to escape the noise, choose a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thais T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I used my airline miles to defer the cost of this hotel and this is the only reason I stayed here despite all the negative comments. The location was central, buffet breakfast was great, and wireless was free only in the lobby. Our 8th floor room was on the back side which was great because the street noise was less and the view was open. However, whenever the shower was turned off in any of the rooms nearby, the noise sounded and was as loud as a JACKhammer. We were woken up many times during the night. The room was fine (small) with a refrigerator and new bathroom. The spa in the basement charged a small amount for daily usage (around $4 USD). The hotel experience was bleak because the front desk staff were so unhelpful. I asked for change since all the ATM's give you only 100's and without even looking in their cash drawer, the male clerk said NO. Many other examples how they were just apathetic and lacking in any kind of hospitality. Also, there was often a bottleneck since there was only 1 person doing bills/handling money. Seems like many local Argentinians stay there, so maybe they just get tired of tourist questions (& I was speaking in Spanish). To the management: please hire some pleasant customer oriented front desk staff. Luckily everywhere else in Argentina, the experience was great. Later, we stayed at the BA Hilton. Much better location and much better service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside don't have balconies but are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeaStarHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Republica is extremely well situated: just in front of the Obelisco and close to the main shopping areas around Calle Florida. It is a large traditional hotel offering the whole range of services one expects. The hotel has been extensively renovated (at least the top floors) and the rooms have a new, modern look. It also has a large spa that can be used at no charge by hotel guests. The hotel staff I dealt with were not very helpful but were at least polite.

Turning to the rooms, if you book a small room you'll be shocked by how small it is: not enough space to move around the bed ! Although the room was identified by the hotel as 'small', I was not expecting it to be that small. But the room was extremely clean.

Room Tip: Small rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeang260643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#110 of 440 in Buenos Aires
816 reviews
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#80 of 440 in Buenos Aires
764 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Exe Hotel Colon
Exe Hotel Colon
#381 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,202 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#107 of 440 in Buenos Aires
3,473 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#118 of 440 in Buenos Aires
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Republica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Republica

Address: Calle Cerrito 370, Buenos Aires C1010AAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $40 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Globales Republica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in front of the Obelisk, the most representative place of Buenos Aires and with the traditional category of services, is the ideal place for a wonderful stay in Buenos Aires due to its privilege location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Globales Republica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Globales Republica Wellness And Spa
Hotel Globales Republica Wellness Buenos Aires
Republica Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Republica Buenos Aires
Republica Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing