We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbia Palace Hotel
Ranked #394 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Dirty, old, rumorous, nothing good to be said about this place, except maybe the location, but there are definitely many others just as centrally located.
I felt so sorry for our friends that had us booked in this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterLINDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Columbia Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2008

I stayed for 10 nights in Columbia Palace Hotel. I would say it is an OK hotel. The word "palace" doesn´t quite suit the hotel as it is basically a 2-star hotel.

The hotel is a very tall and a narrow building. I stayed on the 9th floor. The room was a bit old, but neat. The bathroom was quite small, and the facilities were quite plain, but it was enough for me.

What I did like about the hotel was the good service. An unlucky incident happened to me at the lobby of the hotel: I pushed the huge table lamp off the table by accident, and it broke into a hundred pieces. I was ready to face angry faces, but they just collected the pieces and said nothing, even as it would happen every day for them! I was ready to pay for the lamp I had broken, but they didn´t ask for anything. They just didn´t mind. I would say THAT is good service. They were very smiling and polite all the time.

What I did not like about the hotel was the elevators. They broke down all the time. Some of our group members even got stuck in them a couple of times. The hotel employees got them out, alright, but I hesitated to use the elevators. Actually I used the stairs 90 % of the time, even though I lived on the 9 th. I don´t like to use elevators, but I like to use them even less if I can get stuck in them anytime.

The hotel breakfast was basically coffee or tea + 4 croissants with marmelade and butter (if I remember right). You just walked in the breakfast table, and the waiter came to ask whether you wanted coffee or tea. A few minutes later you got them carried in the table. The croissants were DELICIOUS.

I would recommend the hotel for those who don´t mind climbing the steps, and for those who just need a basic room to stay at. Actually the elevators were the only thing that was really bad about it. Otherwise this hotel experience was between OK to good.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FinnishGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

Very horrible experience... If you are traveling with children, please avoid this hotel. It was dirty.. The plumbing was not working properly, the curtains would fall... very small and it was not what we were promised.
We have made reservation for 4 people and we arrived, they gave us a small room with 2 twin beds.. The bathroom curtains smelled and the room was not cleaned at all. When we asked to change rooms they changed us to another room with 3 twin beds... once again, not what we were promised. Every time we took a shower, the water would leak all over the place... definitely not a 3 star hotel...
The outside was dirty ...and a bunch of drunks sitting right outside the doors... harassing everyone that came in and/or out of the hotel. When I asked the front desk to PLEASE do something about it, they told me that they could not do anything and to ignore them. My children were scared and after 3 days of horrible service we decided to move to another hotel. Please beware!! NOT A 3 STAR HOTEL AT ALL!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank laly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

While this hotel is not luxurious, it is in a great location and feels like "the real deal". It was not over run with tourists, and although the staff did not all speak English...they were all helpful.

I recommend asking for a room that faces the back of the hotel, as friends complained about street noise on Corrientes (the street that never sleeps), but I did not have this problem facing the other side of the building.

You have to request the AC be turned on when you are in your room, and the water pressure in the afternoon can be a challenge.

Continental breakfast included was fine. Lots of cafes and good restarants (with great affordable prices) close by.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bs_As_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Really, I've never been treated worse. But you decide -- maybe my expectations are too high. I made a reservation, in which I wrote that I would be arriving at 11. My plane made an emergency landing in Asuncion because of weather and we were delayed, so I got to the hotel at 2:00. When I got there, there told me that I no longer had a reservation, and were very cavalier about it -- not at all sympathetic or feeling any responsibility. Just said "good bye". Apparently, this is standard practice. They told me it was standard in all hotels around the world that reservations could be cancelled if a person didn't show up on the hour when they said they would. I never heard of this (and I travel all the time), and when they asked me what hour I was going to arrive, they didn't tell me that I needed to either arrive then or alert them as to a late arrival. I asked for the official complaint book and they gave me a guest customer satisfaction survey of the one sheet kind with boxes you check off that is left in your hotel room. That is not the same thing and I've been to Buenos Aires about 20 times and well know that it isn't. Clearly, they were up to something shifty and didn't want me to file an official complaint, even though they legally are supposed to make that option available. They finally made a reservation for me in a dump down the street after making me feel like I was being really demanding. The place was a pit so I declined on arrival. Luckily, I know Buenos Aires well and found another place. What if I hadn't stayed in B.A. before? Who treats guests like this?

If you don't like surprises, I would avoid the Columbia Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Service
5  Thank tpsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2004

A great value. Clean, friendly, and in a fantastic location in microcenter. Blissfully devoid of American tourists. There are cheaper hotels to be found, but they are in areas you might not like to stay. Speaking Spanish will make your stay easier, as the staff may not speak very much English.

6  Thank doc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Myriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#153 of 443 in Buenos Aires
507 reviews
San Nicolas
America Plaza Hotel
America Plaza Hotel
#326 of 443 in Buenos Aires
249 reviews
San Nicolas
Atlas Tower Hotel
Atlas Tower Hotel
#202 of 443 in Buenos Aires
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#375 of 443 in Buenos Aires
224 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#115 of 443 in Buenos Aires
3,348 reviews
San Nicolas
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
#297 of 443 in Buenos Aires
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Palace Hotel

Address: Av. Corrientes 1533-35-37, Buenos Aires 1042, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $48 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columbia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing