We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic and traditional luxuary in Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic and traditional luxuary in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Alvear Palace is a fantastic hotel to stay in BA if you like traditional and classic luxuary hotel and services. The hotel interiors are decor in European classic luxuary style that is highlighted in enormous main dinning room. Rooms and large and weel equiped. The concierge is fantastic and suggested lots of activities in BA.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay.

It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us - especially our decoration, spacious and well equiped rooms and our helpful staff.

I look forward to hearing from you and speaking with you very soon.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    220
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
287
769
85
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Alvear Palace Hotel in Buenos Aires is one of those hotels which makes one feel truly privileged to stay in. It is a Grand Hotel in the truest sense of the word. Every aspect of the hotel is as near as faultless as can possibly be! To my mind there is only ONE single shortcoming in this hotel. Unbelievable but very true! Just ONE! And that is the disappointingly small indoor swimming pool and the lack of an outdoor one. Other than this minor gripe there is absolutely nothing else that can be faulted. It delivers comfort, luxury, service and opulence in heaps and bounds. Don't believe me. Read for yourselves all the other reviews and see for yourselves. Or, better still, go there and experience the outstanding luxury that this hotel offers. This is one hotel (admittedly one of very very few ) where one dreams of returning to at the very first opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issibni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review!

I cannot wait to share your kind comments with our team, they’ll be thrilled to hear back from you.

regarding your comment about our swimming pool we are glad to inform you that we started a project which involves building a new swimming pool with an outdoor area.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is my second time in Buenos Aires. A friend recommended to stay here, claiming that this is the best hotel in Buenos Aires. Boy she was right. Excellent service from everyone, Great spa service. Definitively a must......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review of your recent stay. It looks like you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed at the Alvear Palace for 3 nights in March. Were upgraded to a junior suite. Beautiful room and gorgeous bathroom. Very good breakfast buffet, but wish they had more egg choices included in the complimentary breakfast. Afternoon tea was very nice too. All the staff very courteous and helpful.
Very safe neighborhood. Walked in the area around the hotel during the day and night with no problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review. We enjoyed hosting you for your three days stay.

Look forward to your next stay.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very centrally located historical superb hotel! We stayed here in November 2009 during our Latin America trip and I truly enjoyed the exquisite service, food and the suite that we stayed in.. Rooms are very luxurious and spacious. Hotel's high tea is excellent and must do..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuba71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post this lovely comment. We are pleased you appreciate the location of the hotel and also our Tradicianal High Tea.

We hope to welcome you back to the Alvear Palace Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I called the hotel from the United States prior to our arrival and made several requests which were taken care of by the superb concierges from the Hotel: Alexandro, Esperanza and Fernando! We stayed in an over-the-top suite that reminded us of Le Meurice in Paris, only on a more manageable scale. Public rooms are luxurious and the bar and breakfast buffet are exceptional. We truly enjoyed our fish in a salt crust served at La Burgoyne for dinner. We were treated like visiting royalty and when we needed a stapler to attach our labels to our luggage, the butler provided one immediately.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your excellent stay with us at the Alvear Palace Hotel. It's great you enjoyed all aspects of our rooms. Our team of concierge and butlers appreciate your recognition of their service and cannot wait to welcome you back. Thank you again for your feedback, I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around Argentina.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I spent three days at the Alvear. The junior suite was spacious with excellent amenities including a very large shower and separate jacuzzi style tub. The staff were all very courteous and spoke excellent English.
If you're looking to spend a few nights in a European style luxury hotel, this is it. Marble and silver everywhere, and even an English High Tea every afternoon

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geophysicsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed our High Tea at L´Orangerie.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another stay!

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#17 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Property: Alvear Palace Hotel
Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing