We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE SOPHIA LOREN OF HOTELS - TIMELESS AND STILL STUNNING TO LOOK AT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place oozes style and tradition. The Titanic of hotels of the golden age. Entering the hotel you can´t help be impressed by the lofty public areas and the sheer amount of polished brass that must involve an army of cleaners.

Don´t expect anything boutique or trendy here. What you get is great style and faultless service but outstanding staff. Time has stood still here.

The bedrooms are of the classic style and all well maintained with good bathrooms and everything is very very quiet and discret.

Enjoy a glass of chilled champagne in the bar watching the great and good, as well as lots of tourists pass.

The ground floor, LÓrangery restaurant, is like the old River Room restaurant at The Savoy, and offers a very impressive lunchtime buffet. Meanwhile the "signature" restautant is La Borgogne. Wonderful classic menu. Personally I don´t like the 70´s decor and the place lacks any intimacy.

Small spa and pool but the perfect place to relax after some serious retail therapy in the area.

Now you just have to wait for Sophia Loren!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms of the front. Looking out of the window you could be in Paris
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOWITHTHEFLOW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the Alvear Palace Hotel Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to post your review on our TripAdvisor page.

I was delighted to read that you had such a great experience at "the Titanic of hotels".

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
There are newer reviews for Alvear Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful elegant hotel - it deserves it's 5 star rating - the suites are just sensational and service excellent. Room service was a tad slow and not great value in our opinion. Its a very small indoor pool that you need to be wary of the slippery floor - that said staying there to enjoy Buenos Aires from was a fabulous experience. Recoletta area has lovely restaurants closeby and the amazing cemetary. Be mindful of personal security as pick pockets are rife generally..

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTrishWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

5 star hotel in a 5 star location with a 5 star staff. Great cigar bar, breakfast buffet and rooms. Located in the heart of Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assitant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you "Great" comment.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I chose this because of the location of this property, right in Recoleta. Really close to all high end shops and restaurant and relatively close to most tourist spots(ie: Palermo etc.). The taxi rates were quite reasonable. The only thing I do recommend is to write down name and address of places you want to go as most cab drivers do not speak english...as we are in Argentina! I dined at the both of the restaurants located in the hotel. La Bourgogne was fantastic! Great service, food and wine, definitely fine dining. I had breakfast included in with my room and really fantastic with all things you want to eat (american/continental foods), which almost like a Sunday Brunch spread you see in hotels. I had high tea, it was a little bit disappointing, had better for sure. The lounge for coffee and snack was good as well. WIFI was one of the best I experienced in Argentina, which is a plus! The spa...OMG! Get the massages from the older ladies, one of the best I ever had! I liked it so much I booked twice. Facial was good as well and the pools were relaxing. Try the "Sensation Path" which consists of walking three times on pebbles in cold and hot water. It actually did work for circulation for your legs.

My room, wow, was beyond my expectation. I got a upgrade to suite, booking with Amex Travel. Bed was great, room was quiet, and quite spacious. They had Bvlgari bath amenities and big fluffy towels. The staff is courteous and they even had an appointed Butler for if you require anything. I would definitely be back when I am in Buenos Aires again!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinTwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you most recent experience at the Alvear.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We were happy to learn that our location met your expectations and that you enjoyed the dinner at La Bourgogne, our french restaurant.

However we feel very concerned by the fact our tea service was a little bit disappointing. Please be assured we have alerted our Food and Beverage Manager about this.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservations. I will be happy to make all the necessary to make your stay memorable.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I didn't stay at the Alvear Palace but based on recommendations, went over for breakfast. It was one of the best breakfasts I've had. The food was perfect, the ambience old worldly & charming and the staff very courteous and attentive. It was a wonderful experience. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ramdas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

First, the location cannot be better in the Recoleta. It is an area to walk and enjoy people watching and relax. Very close to the cementery were Evita Peron is buried, a beautiful cementery were you will see that people just go there for a stroll as a normal day to day activity.

The hotel itself is a gem. The rooms are amazing, no details missed including Hermes toiletries, robes and linen mats.

The restaurants are very elegant and the service impeccable. Please do not miss the afternoon tea at this hotel.

A sunday morning flea market visit is a must, a Tango dancers show in Paseo de la Florida and a stroll thru the old part of the city where the Tango was born and if you have more time a trip to El Tigre.

If you are up and around, please watch your belongings, like in any big city, there are thieves roaming the streets.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitizenoftheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your feedback about your recent stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel and to highlight all the wonderful things you enjoyed about your stay.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We 'did not stay' at the Alvear Palace Hotel (we stayed at another lovely hotel in Recoleta), but we did stop by for afternoon form tea.

The tea experience was suggest by the Concierge at our hotel.....the conversation went something along these lines:



"Do you take afternoon tea?" inquired our Concierge.

"You mean 'tea' as in little sandwiches, fancy pastries, etc., etc., etc.?" I asked.

"Precisely," responded the Concierge "traditional tea in a formal setting."

"Here?" I asked.

"No sir," replied the Concierge, "at one of the oldest and finest hotels in the city and it's just a short walk from here."

"I didn't pack a business jacket" I noted "plus sounds a bit stuffy."

"Think 'entertaining' not stuffy," responded the Concierge "I can arrange a table; no jacket required."

* * *

Formal tea at the Alvear Palace Hotel was worth much more than the $40.00 we were charged.

Totally entertaining:

• silver place settings and tea service
• a toadying staff of white gloved attendants
• distinguished matrons and younger portenos stylishly attired
• a most decadent architectural setting

The tea was excellent and we did indulge in the empanadas heavily lathered with dulce de leche!

This experience convinced us to make the Alvear Palace Hotel our home away from home on our next journey to Buenos Aires!

Room Tip: Even if you don't select this hotel, at least do a walk through - have tea - maybe lunch or a dr...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omegaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear client,

It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests and clients; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

We were delighted to read that you had such a great experience at the Alvear High Tea.

Hoping to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,659 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#16 of 443 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 443 in Buenos Aires
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $368 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing