We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice Location in Center of Buenos Aires” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Ranked #132 of 453 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Location in Center of Buenos Aires”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice hotel located within easy walking distance of the major tourist areas. Had one day before business and front desk staff plotted out two great walks for me around the city. Nice restaurant across the street for Lamb cooked on open fire. Only complaint is rooms are a bit dated. Looks like a very chic hotel from around 10-15 years ago that is still quite nice but could use a referb.

Nice Spa/Pool on top floor but the hot tub was a bit on the cool side. (30 C)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel and trusting us with your accommodation during your trip to our wonderful city.
We have finished a refurbishing project that included guest rooms, meeting rooms, La Pergola Restaurant, the Link@Sheraton and our Sheraton Fitness Center programmed by Core Performance.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your feedback, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    508
    231
    68
    43
See reviews for
239
335
87
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I feel badly giving only three stars because the staff here was amazingly helpful, knowledgeable and professional. They had a wheelchair waiting for my disabled mothers when we arrived and let us use it the entire time (the airline had lost ours). As a side note, BA is NOT a handicapped friendly city! We paid for a club room which offers a lovely and diverse breakfast but the evening snacks and drinks are gone within the first few minutes and the room is excessively crowded. But the real problem here is the rooms. They needed a renovation and a deep cleaning years ago and it is clear that the other hotel facilities have been neglected too. The elevators were constantly breaking and randomly went to and stopped at floors regardless of the numeral pressed. Normally just an inconvenience, it was a real problem for me when I was trying to get my elderly parents around. The gym is perfectly adequate (but for gym junkies there are actually a lot of gyms around if you want to check out BA gym scene). The rooftop pool looked nice (view from the gym) but I never actually checked it out. The restaurant is expensive but my father loved their pasta so much that he ate there three times! The takeaway is as follows...perfectly adequate if you get a great deal but not up to Sheraton standards. Fantastic location and amazing staff help with the overall hotel rating but there are lots of better options to be had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraz7270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel and trusting us with your accommodation during your trip to our wonderful city.
We appreciate your comments about our service; we work very hard to make our guests feel like home. But we are deeply concerned about your comments regarding the hotel conditions.
We have finished a refurbishing project that included guest rooms, meeting rooms, La Pergola Restaurant, the Link@Sheraton and our Sheraton Fitness Center programmed by Core Performance.
I’ve forward your comments to our Director of Rooms to take care about the details you mentioned.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your feedback, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just stayed one night en route to a cruise. Busy with other passengers but friendly staff provided normal Sheraton standard of care and attention. Charged for internet in your room, but in lobby provided 5 free computers. Central location allowed for easy roaming round the interesting locale.
Belatedly we discovered the Spa on the top floor -- fantastic views over the city

Room Tip: Get one high up for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.
As a management team, we take all comments seriously. Thank you again for the comments, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
224 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the Hotel you can walk to most of the major sites, whether it is the opera, the cathedral, the central station or a couple of street markets. The rooms were fairly standard for a four star hotel. The safe had a useful plug inside it, but less helpful was the positioning of the lights that left an area of the bedroom in shadow.
We had an enjoyable meal on the first evening we arrived but only had breakfast for the next three days. There was a good choice of items for breakfast and I enjoyed the hot items. Yogurts were propriety brands. Coffee was served to you but generally the staff were very attentive although to be honest I have got used to serving myself and getting the coffee/milk mixture right every time.
I had read about the roof top pool from an earlier guest and while it is attractive it got very hot under the Perspex roof in the middle of the day. The automatic flush in the toilets and the uneven flow of the hand basins caused some amusement of those who got surprised. The two biggest criticisms however are reserved for the cleaning of the rooms. We returned to the room twice after lunch and found that at between 2.30.pm and 3.00pm the rooms had not been serviced. On one occasion we were still in the room when the housekeeping staff arrived and to their credit they came and cleaned the room as soon as we left it about twenty minutes later.
The lifts were an irritation and we often seemed to wait for several minutes only to find them relatively full. Check out was efficient which reflected the general interaction we had with staff. The reception area is clean, comfy and an honest reflection of the rest of the hotel. It will not stand out in the memory but is a safe place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Sheraton Libertador is in the heart of big Buenos Aires. It's convenient location allows you to walk to several great spots for shopping or simply seeing the sights. Restaurants are all around you and the food is great. The staff at the Sheraton Libertador all speak some English and are very helpful. I ate at the restaurant within the hotel and the food there was great as well. And the rooms are not your typical international "small" rooms...very spacious. Lastly, I did have the chance to enjoy the rooftop pool and spa. Although it was small, the open air feel and the 27th floor view of Buenos Aires was phenomenal.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a higher floor if possible. The view of the city from the Sheraton Libertador is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February. We arrived quite early off of our international flight, but they provided us with a room by 11:00 a.m. We really appreciated being able to shower and take a nap so early. The room was quite large, as was the bathroom. Everything was quite clean and quiet.
Breakfast in the Executive Lounge was included, and it was great. Eggs, bacon, fruit, breads, and some of the best coffee I had in BA.
The location was convenient to get all around BA. We could walk to Recoleta and the cemetery, the downtown, and down to the water. I would definitely stay at the Sheraton Libertador hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place is showing its wear. As others have mentioend it is pretty soulless. Staff is eager to please. The good: Room service, particularly breakfast is amazing but you have to answer lots of questionbs to get omelettes, cheese, yogurt, croisants, coffee, juice, all for a pretty good price. The bad: No hot water for two nights and tepid at best the third night. Water calcification seems to have clogged up the shower head. Shower small and very cramped - high ledge to get out of combo shower/bath and has that annoying half panel so common to hotels outside the United States. Laundry returned 1 and 1/2 hours late Beds sag. Also I have never been to a hotel that would ot let you include the tip on the bills. Bizarre. I stay in approximately 50 hotels per year in my business so this stuff just annoys me and I see it as just bad management. Wouldn't chose to stay here again. Also insufficient number of elevators and a heavily used tourist hotels - lots of people always queuing for the available elevators. In addition, one elevator is, oddly, around the side. Keep a watch for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gridiron62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we deeply appreciate you taking the time to offer constructive comments regarding your stay with us.
During your stay the hotel was fully booked; we apologized if this caused delays on some of our guest areas and elevators.
We are really sorry about the hot water problem, we have just solved that issue and it’s now working properly.
We honestly hope you will give as a chance in the future to make it up to you and make your stay worthy.

Once again thank you very much for your comments.

Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#62 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Retiro
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
#102 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#40 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 2,804 reviews
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#35 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Libertador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Property: Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Address: Avenida Cordoba 690, Buenos Aires C1054AAS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#75 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#96 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#105 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Libertador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Tower Hotel located next to shopping area, near business district, banking, & Teatro Colon Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Libertador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing