We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - great choice”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #82 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent stay - great choice”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Excellent hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Taxi from airport tried to rip us off wanting 300 pesos. We paid 150 but this is still too expensive. Checked into the room then got a free upgrade to deluxe by asking at reception. Very clean and tidy, large queen bed and good size of bathroom. Location was good for all various districts of BA. Breakfast was plentiful and good variety.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    404
    109
    31
    24
See reviews for
145
425
67
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Having spent most of our Sth American trip in boutique hotels of some kind, we chose the Savoy as somewhere that looked a lot more traditional and as somewhere that was housed in a more 'traditional' BA building with grand lobbies, communal areas etc. It was also one of the cheaper places we looked at when choosing our hotel in BA. Given this, it wasn't bad value for money, but the price point is certainly reflected in the overall experience the Savoy delivers....

First up, the one thing we hadn't understood clearly enough was the location, which is the biggest pitfall. At least one site - Spendia I believe - had this hotel as being in Recoleta. It isn't and, had I booked through that site, I'd probably have asked to move. That's not necessarily the hotel's fault, but it did mean we booked a place that is a good close 15 mins walk away from where we thought we were. The location is still a convenient base for BA, but the area in general is pretty run down, it's on an especially busy road and I doubt any of the rooms have much of a view to write home about!

The building itself is a lot more traditional and - per other reviews - has been completely restored, but it does feel a bit cheaply done. The reception area is fine, nothing special. The bar/communal area is beautifully restored (per the pics you see in most online photos of the place) but is probably the highlight.

Our room was stylishly but - again - cheaply renovated. It was located on the second floor, overlooking the main road, so while the soundproof windows were very good, it was pretty much impossible to stop some noise getting in. We did look at moving, but the other room they offered, whilst quieter, was arguably even worse being located on the 'inside' of the building, overlooking a central light well with barely any natural light. TV's, bathrooms, beds, furniture etc all followed the same pattern - fine, but a bit cheap feeling in places and nothing exceptional. The hotel's most expensive corner rooms look fantastic on the website, but if you're spending that sort of money, choose a better located place.

Breakfast, whilst a bit hectic (lots of people passing through this place!), was pretty good with a wide selection of pastries, hot foods and even sparkling wines on offer every morning. The fresh fruit section was a bit average, but you're again this isn't an expensive hotel, so value for money was okay.

Moving to service, the Savoy is again in the 'okay' basket. On one hand, the doorman was fantastic and even gave us his own money to pay the taxi driver when we arrived (we didn't have enough change and, of course, paid him back ASAP but the point is his willingness to do whatever it took). On the other, the reception desk was badly undermanned (10 min wait to even start check in and frequent 'no answers' when we needed to call down from our room) and the staff manning it varied between friendly and functional!

So, overall, this place is fine, but any recommendation would come with a price point proviso. If you can afford to spend a little more, I'd suggest you do it - the Loi suites in Recoleta looked pretty good and were much better located... may be worth a look. If this at the top of your budget, it's certainly not a bad hotel, but don't expect luxury and be prepared for a bit of compromise in the location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Welsh-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pl
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is a nice, newly refurbished hotel, which still has an old style. I enjoyed the old building, nice room (I upgraded executive room to junior suite for 30usd and it was worth), nice and helpful staff and good coffee in executive lounge. Be picky when choosing a room while checking in - this is an old building and they can be different one from another in terms of living space and especially of what do you get outside the window. The pictures and sculptures on some floors and in the elevators can be quite spooky, but during my 5 days stay I didn't meet any phantoms :)
Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertomazowiecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Nicely renovated historical hotel, near Congresso.
Very friendly service, wonderful included buffet breakfast. Beautiful lobby where you enjoy to relax. Luxury hotel to excellent rate. Computers with fast internet access available, small gym. Many wonderful and stylish coffee houses very near. I spend 4 nights and I will definitively be back in February 2011. Meet Albert (Einstein) in the lift, as you would have when he came (-man size photo, but cannot resist to greet him each time!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aae191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Only there for one night prior to departure. All was in order through hotels.com. We had a great bottle of wine in the lounge area with terrific service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjchof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by the value! The hotel was very high-end feeling with quality construction and materials. Service was friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and modern, marble luxury bathroom, flat screen TV, etc. Loved the longe on the 5th floor with 24 hour access to coffee, tea, bottled juices, water and snacks. The daily breakfast had a good variety of selections, from many fruits, yogurt, artisian breads (a full mix of continental and american style breakfast). The downtown location was great, just short walking distance to to Recoleta and Congress.
The in0hotel restaraunt had the best steak on our entire 2 week trip through Argentina. We highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This is not a cheap hotel but the style, comfort and general ambience put it in a category well above the price which we were able to obtain on line. It is located very close to the Congreso (legislature building) in an area of B.A. which was probably quite fashionable when this hotel was built. Now, it is on a very commercial street (Av. Calllao) which is noisy and has a lot of lower end shops. However, it seemed safe at night with a good level of foot traffic even after 11 PM. Close to the Callao (red) and not much further from the Callao (green) subway stops allows easy access to many parts of the city. We particularly liked the luxury room and the fact that when we requested a "quiet" room we were given one which opened on to an inner light-shaft -- no street noise at all. The room came with access to a VIP lounge on the 5th floor, where you could make your own Nespresso coffee and have a fruit or cookie snack. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and had a nice meal with wine (no dessert) for under $50. I'm sure you can find cheaper in B.A. but this hotel delivers value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#56 of 446 in Buenos Aires
993 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#46 of 446 in Buenos Aires
746 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#44 of 446 in Buenos Aires
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 446 in Buenos Aires
893 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#63 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,226 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#47 of 446 in Buenos Aires
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Avenida Callao 181, Buenos Aires C1022AAB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#56 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L u x u r y a n d a v a n t - g a r d eSavoy Hotel Buenos Aires is one of the landmark hotels of the city of Buenos Aires. Its facade and palace style of stunning neobaroque architecture, is the work of italian architect G. Agostini and shows, like very few buildings do, the hopes and aspirations of of a comfortable and refined lifestyle that reigned at the beginning of the XX th century.It opened its doors in 1910, soon becoming the first luxury hotel built in Downtown Buenos Aires.Maintaining its style and sophistication, currently offers redecorated rooms of absolute modernity and comfort.Personalized attention, gastronomical delights, stories portraits , technological details in all its facilities, art and avant-garde inspiration define the Savoy Hotel Buenos Aires for its excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing