We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #80 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

An absolute gem of a hotel. Located a 15/20 minute walk from the centre of Buenos Aries, this hotel is a great place to stay. My husband and I used it as a base as we were travelling round South America over the past month and stayed there on 3 separate occasions for a few nights.

Each time we stayed, we had a different room and they were all of a very high standard. The reception is very impressive with a stunning red chandelier catching your eye as soon as you enter the hotel.

The bar is beautifully ornate and mirrored with a very laid back atmosphere and definitely worth having a drink in whilst using the free wi-fi.

Breakfast is a self-serve buffet and pretty good with plenty of choice available.

The staff were first class and nothing was too much trouble. At reception, we were always greeted with a very pleasant smile and whatever the query was, it was dealt with promptly. A big thank you to Aldana, Alexandra and Debra on reception for their help and for making us feel so welcome.

We will definitely stay at the Savoy again when we are next in Buenos Aries and are very happy to recommend this hotel to any potential visitor to Buenos Aries.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your comments. We are so proud of our staff. Hope to receive you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 986 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We got a great deal online for this hotel about £60pn but it felt like £500. Great location, walking distance to lots of great steakhouses, gorgeous rooms, impressive foyer and old word glamour but with modern rooms. Only tip would be don't bother paying fr in room wifi - we did fr one of the nights we were there and the reception was better in the lobby.

If only every hotel was the BA Savoy......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to receive you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

A nicely renovated hotel with tons of history- boasting former guests like Evita and Einstein doesn't hurt. Modern and comfortable- though the rooms are a bit small but well thought out- amazing shower and bathroom.

Location was close to most touristy things though I would prefer to stay in Palermo to experience a more cosmopolitan cultural slice of the city- no big complaints with Savoy. A negative was Internet was only free in the lobby which was annoying but not a huge deal. The vibe is definitely a little older (I'm 28) and quieter so if that's not your scene I'd head elsewhere.

We had a nice stay here and though and would recommend it as a jumping off point in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for shared your comments, we appreciate every detail about your stay with us. We hope to receive you again in your next time in Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The location was fantastic. A 30 minute walk to San Telmo, a 20 minute walk to the Casa Rosada, 30 minutes to Ricoletta cemetery and about 45 minutes to Palermo. You can also easily access the subway/taxis, but I recommend walking to take in the beautiful belle epoque architecture. The inside of the hotel is beautiful, modern, and clean. The beds in the room were super comfortable and the room was quiet and dark, which made sleeping super comfy. The breakfast buffet was fabulous- I was worried about not having options as a vegetarian, but I was pleasantly surprised. To top it off, the staff were extremely helpful and nice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, not facing the street. They are darker and quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSham89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate all your details about your stay with us. We hope to receive you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Sitting in the lobby right now: very large, but cozy at the same time. Great breakfast included. Baroque ambiance. Free wifi here (there is a charge in the rooms.) Plenty of plush armchairs to nest in.

The room we chose is larger, cost slightly more, but is fabulous! Marble tiled bathroom, wood floors. All so squeaky clean that walking in my bare feet is a pleasure; have never done that in any other hotel.

And the desk personnel are fabulous: we are having a problem with a booking to Iguazu Falls, and Alexandra is on it with phone calls and solutions. Don't know if another hotel would be so helpful on an issue that really doesn't concern them. This is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 205-- large & so updated! But faces the street, which is noisy, but since I sleep with earp...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svenskasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are so proud of our staff. We hope to receive you in your next trip to Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy for two nights. The staff were helpful and the service was great. We paid extra for an executive room. Glad we did as it included access to the Executive Room on the fifth floor. They don't offer a lot, but it was nice to escape and have coffee or a soda in the afternoon and it had a beautiful city view. Breakfast was included with our room and it was good with many choices. We also paid for the Buffet Lunch at the hotel and it offered a large selection of Argentinian appetizers, three main dishes, salad and fruit bar, and great desserts. We ate dinner at the Hotel and our steaks were good but the onion soup was a disappointment. Service could have been faster. The Hotel is beautiful and the only drawbacks were the frosted glass window so we couldn't see out of our room, not having free internet in our room, the area around the hotel is older, and there were no television news channels in English. We would stay there again as staff was great and the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments, we appreciate all your details about your stay with us. We hope to receive you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,029 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#47 of 443 in Buenos Aires
768 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#62 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#46 of 443 in Buenos Aires
903 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 443 in Buenos Aires
915 reviews
Montserrat
NH Buenos Aires City
NH Buenos Aires City
#77 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Avenida Callao 181, Buenos Aires C1022AAB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#56 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $71 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L u x u r y a n d a v a n t - g a r d eSavoy Hotel Buenos Aires is one of the landmark hotels of the city of Buenos Aires. Its facade and palace style of stunning neobaroque architecture, is the work of italian architect G. Agostini and shows, like very few buildings do, the hopes and aspirations of of a comfortable and refined lifestyle that reigned at the beginning of the XX th century.It opened its doors in 1910, soon becoming the first luxury hotel built in Downtown Buenos Aires.Maintaining its style and sophistication, currently offers redecorated rooms of absolute modernity and comfort.Personalized attention, gastronomical delights, stories portraits , technological details in all its facilities, art and avant-garde inspiration define the Savoy Hotel Buenos Aires for its excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing