We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape to Argentina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Ranked #23 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Escape to Argentina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

On my several yearly trips to Argentina, we always spend a couple of days in Buenos Aires, before heading up north near the border with Paraguay and Brasil - provincia Santa Fe and Corrientes. That time we stayed in this beautiful hotel, very well located, and a renovation of an old beautiful building. The rooms are excellent, the amenities such as spa, inside pool, gym, restaurants, cafes, etc. are all very well presented and with a nice service. The hotel is just a few minutes from central shopping areas as well as the main streets and avenues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
April 3rd, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services, we are pleased with your comments regarding details of our location.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    238
    62
    20
    11
See reviews for
135
467
60
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is located in a posh and central area of Buenos Aires. The location was safe and quite yet within an easy reach of cafes, restaurants, shopping malls and other attractions.
Our room was very comfy and large. there were two windows in the room so you can get plenty of light if you want to. They had black out curtains so we could sleep with a dark room at the draw of the curtains.
We liked their breakfast area and the variety of food. They serve freshly squeezed orange juice. The only problem we had at the restaurant was the delay in serving; they take too long to bring your orders. At one incident, by the time they got milk for my tea, the tea was cold. But all in all, the staff were very friendly and obliging especially at the front desk. And it worth mentioning here that their toiletry supplies were none but the good quality products of L'Occitane.
Finally I would like to say that I would stay there again if I go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevator, although all rooms were quite and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oum_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from the Hotel and other details like location.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services although the delay at breakfast..

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I are real Sofitel fans, and with a property like this in the heart of BA, no one can blame us! This property is simply beautiful, elegant and easy to fall in love with. Just ten years new it is the result of an outstanding and exquisite restoration of one of the city's most iconic buildings on the edge of the Recoleta district. It is only a ten minutes walk to the San Martin metro station and 15 minutes walk to the heart of Recoleta itself.
From the moment you walk in through the front doors, you know you are in some place special. The understated elegance is almost overwhelming. Everything is so fresh and inviting, and everyone is friendly and helpful. Our large room on the 15th floor was super comfortable. The bathroom was lovely. Our room even had a small balcony with views of the La Plata River.
We always book Sofitel online and pay in advance to get the lowest price. When it goes on sale, the price becomes almost cheap for this five star hotel. We had a chance to peek into the other five star properties close by including the Four Seasons, Alvear Palace, Cesar Park, and the Sofitel wins bragging rights hands down.
Surely one of the best Sofitels in its portfolio, and in my opinion an outstanding choice for wonderful BA. You will love this property.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are larger and have great views. 1506 was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos and out location-Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback with such a detailed description.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sofitel is located on Arroyo which is basically a continuation of Avelar Street. Keep that in mind as you got some other good choices like Avelar Hotel and Hyatt in that street, but you will spend more money. We always stay at Accor hotels in South America and Marriott in other places so have some serious ground to compare. Sofitel is the only chain at Accor comparable to Marriott and I can say that this Sofitel specifically is better that anything that we have stayed in BA. The building is beautiful, the room is very comfortable (although some other amenities would be appreciated) and La Sud restaurant, just in front of the reception is really nice. Just don't let the pool in the picture fool you. It is a very small pool.
My suggestion is to avoid other high end hotels in Recoleta and stay at Sofitel. You can still enjoy a nice dinner at Duhau restaurant and their Spa at the Hyatt or the brunch and dinner at La Borgogne at the Avelar Hotel. Patio Bullrich is also just a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostBrazilians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol/Dawlish, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our second trip to BA. We had three nights in BA prior to a 16 night cruise to Antarctica. On our first trip we had stayed at the Four Seasons. We had a great time in the FS so automatically re-booked the FS for this holiday.

BUT having had a great experience at the Grand Amsterdam Sofitel in September 2012 we thought we might try the Sofitel BA this time - so we cancelled the FS and booked the Sofitel.

Was it a good move?

Well from the start we received exemplary customer service. We booked a hotel car from the airport to the hotel. We arrived from London very early morning ..... walked out of arrivals saw our name on a card, our luggage was taken from us and put in the boot of a great car. We had a pleasant driver and off we went!

On arrival at the Sofitel our cases were taken, the doorman gave us a welcoming BA smile and greeting and the check in staff and concierge were excellent - friendly and helpful in every regard.

Our suite was still being prepared - we had to wait just 10 minutes - just time for an early morning beer in the bar! We were told after 10 minutes that our suite was prepared. We were shown to our suite - our cases were already there!

Our suite was everything we were expecting and more. The bathroom was clean and large and the beds just wow. We slept very well indeed! We had free WiFi and that was great too!

We had breakfast during our stay in both Le Sud and in our suite. Likewise we had dinner in both. We would rate both very highly but the food quality and service for room service was exemplary. One night we ordered off menu - nothing was too much trouble. We were very impressed!

The Sofitel is well located. All staff we encountered were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were particularly impressed with the front desk, room service and concierge staff - well done to all! We had a minor query on our bill on checking out but this was corrected within minutes with no fuss.

So for trip number 3 to BA where will we stay ..... the Four Seasons or Sofitel?

The FS is a top hotel but pricey. The Sofitel is a top hotel but slightly less expensive.

The deciding factor for us is not money but the value we get for money in terms of the quality of rooms, customer service and standard of food. On balance of our experiences of both hotels - Sofitel wins!!

I hope everyone has such a positive experience of this great hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Book a suite! It is worth the money .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominowomblestocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and your personal opinion about our quality and service.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed two nights in mid-January, 2013

The Sofitel Buenos Aires is set in a quiet residential street in the northern part of Buenos Aires, two blocks from the French Embassy, on Arroyo Street. It is within easy walking distance of several restaurants, the opera house, the monastery and the pedestrian shopping street (Florida Street)

Short version: The Sofitel Buenos Aires is a classy hotel conveniently located within walking distance of several major attractions. Staff are friendly and efficient, fulfilling any reasonable request in a timely manner. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

Longer version:

Getting there: The hotel (as far as we know) does not operate a shuttle to the large international airport (which is about a 45 minute drive from the hotel). There are several relatively inexpensive options such as the public bus. Best advice: Review your options before leaving home, and have your transfer planned prior to arrival.

Accessibility: Accessibility for the mobility impaired was good. There are no stairs going into the hotel, and the main reception desk, restaurant and bar are all on the same level, All other floors are accessible by elevator. Larger power wheel chairs may have difficulty getting into the elevator as they are rather small with little room to maneuver. There are many door men to assist with luggage and other packages. Be sure to ask for an accessible room when booking.

Check in: quick and efficient. Front desk staff are friendly and professional. The hotel will ask for a credit card for “”incidentals” ; however what they do not tell you is that in reality they are putting a $300 USD charge on your account immediately “just in case.” While it is true that they issue a “refund” after your departure for the $300 minus any charges (such as items from the minibar) that they think you incurred they are not as quick to issue the refund as they are to place the charge. Check your bill carefully before you leave as they had charged us for items from the minibar that we did not take/use. They quickly corrected the bill when it was pointed out to them.

Electrical power: Power is 220. Many newer electronics such a computer, can be used on either 110 or 220. For those items only a plug adapter is necessary. The plug style is that used in Australia. Be sure to bring a converter as well as a plug adapter for any items that only run on 110.

Rooms: The rooms are of a nice size with separate bathrooms, and a desk/chair for doing whatever work/computer use you need. There is free WiFi in guest rooms, and a “business center” available. Theoretically you can print from your room to the printer behind the main desk; unfortunately while we were there no one could figure out how to make it work. Hotel staff printed out our boarding passes for us and delivered them to our room.

There were two closets in the room we were in. The closet contains heavy terry cloth robes, and terry slippers (perfect for after bathing), a small safe, the hair dryer, laundry bags and a few wooden hangers (It would have been nice to have more) There is no iron in the closet; however the hotel will provide one upon request. There is a large screen TV in the bedroom area, and an alarm clock.

Bathroom: There is a walk-in shower but no tub in our room (some rooms do have tubs so if this in important to you, be sure to request a room with a tub when booking). Whichever you choose, beware that the tile floor in the bathroom is quite slippery when wet. The towels and toiletries were top notch. Like many hotels now, you are asked to re-use towels when possible. Hanging them up indicates you will re-use; placing on the floor means you want fresh towels.

Restaurant: we only ate breakfast in the restaurant. It is very nicely appointed. There is a very interesting cold buffet, containing many usual breakfast items such as mini muffins, fruit, rolls, bread, yogurt etc. as well as less traditional items such as cheese cake. One can also order from the menu which contains traditional items such as Eggs Benedict and waffles as well as some more interesting items. The staff in the restaurant were very nice and most accommodating, going to the bar to get an energy drink when requested, and reheating a portion of steak left over from the night before to go with son's meal. In the evenings we went out to popular Argentinian restaurants (more on that in another review).

Dressing in Buenos Aires: Read a lot of advice on this topic before going. It was very hot in Buenos Aires at the time we were there, with high humidity.

1. Shorts and neat t-shirts and polo shirts were seen along the streets during the day on both men and younger women. More mature ladies wear dresses. We compromised and wore skorts giving the appearance of a skirt but with the comfort of shorts. Dress shorts are definitely acceptable; cut off jeans shorts are not except on the youngest of visitors.

2. Tennis shoes/sneakers were seen everywhere on all ages during the days. In the evening they were seen mostly on the younger crowd. So if you plan of doing a lot of walking during the day, wear what is comfortable for you. In the evening when going out to dinner, wear a comfortable shoe or sandle that is a bit more dressy.

3. Dressing for dinner: business casual seemed to the rule in restaurants in the evening. Gentlemen need to have a collared shirt--polo shirt or button down—no jeans especially if you are going to one of the nicer restaurants downtown. In the evening dresses are definitely preferred for ladies.

Bottom line: wear what you feel comfortable in provided it is well fitting (not the place for baggy jeans/shorts that expose underwear) and does not have offensive sayings, pictures, etc Clean and neat is the look to aim for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-K-albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your specified and detailed comments regarding your stay at Buenos Aires and for Sofitel Buenos Aires.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with another guests and clients, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We visited BA in mid-November and our first stop was the Sofitel. Arriving early in the morning, after an overnight flight, with a check-in time at 2p is always challenging, but the staff were very helpful in recommending low key walking routes to keep us awake and enjoy the sunshine of the city. Our room was very nice, very quiet and at the end of a short hallway with very few rooms on each floor. The staff was excellent at recommending restaurants, shows, etc. that met our expectations. Location is perfect for walking just about anywhere and the hotel is on a quiet, very shady street. Would definitely return to the Sofitel on our next trip to Argentina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires and the recommendations of our location.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#28 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery Collection by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Property: Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Address: Arroyo 841 | C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Buenos Aires is located in the tranquil and charming Arroyo Street, surrounded by enchanting and quiet sidewalks flanked by trees, the area is a heaven made up of antique shops and art galleries, a true epicenter of culture. The hotel features a perfect blend of the French savoir faire and the Argentine tradition, with an ambiance complementing exquisite decor and the delicate scents of soft flowers, awakening the senses of guests and giving them the feeling of being where true luxury sits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing