We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly hotel & great location in Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Ranked #24 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    244
    65
    21
    11
See reviews for
139
481
61
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My last review on a hotel in Easter Island was, by necessity, fairly damning, so I had to cheer myself up by reviewing my favourite hotel on our recently completed South American holiday.
Sofitel Buenos Aires is gorgeously designed, beautifully run and maintained, well located and terrific value for money. Most importantly, the staff are a master class in how to treat guests - they were elegant, helpful and friendly. They’ll even caution you against tourist traps, advise on outside safety and steer you towards some great experiences in the Argentinian capital.
We decided to upgrade our room here, but just for fun because the hotel is built around a high tower that has marvellous views the higher up you go; and the current economic climate means these rooms are excellent value in the context of South America as a whole.
The rooms are modern with classical touches, cosy and very comfortable. Our upgrade room was absolutely stunning with a huge bathroom, separate bath and shower, two basins, a coffee machine (yes you heard right) and a very comfortable desk to work from. All amenities like internet and other electronics worked faultlessly.
There are superb dining opportunities in Buenos Aires and we are not usually big on dining in when travelling, but we found that the quality of the restaurant, bar and room service in the Sofitel and its value were so outstanding, we wound up basing ourselves for many meals at the hotel and its restaurants, and they were all marvellous, including the ones in our rooms.
The ‘Le Sud’ restaurant near the lobby is just wonderful, not cheap but certainly not outrageous either. There is also a French-style bar which serves light meals, also of a great quality and it has a terrific vintage (yet still modern) feel, a contemporary take on a club reading room.
Special mention must go to our concierge who was charismatic and helpful; he seemed to genuinely care about his customers.
There is only one negative for the hotel and it is a tiny one in the context of the stay. The hotel’s fitness facilities are very small, the pool for example can barely accommodate 2 people at once, but these facilities are still beautifully presented and maintained, fitting with the overall ‘boutique’ tone.
We are Australians and travelled as a couple through South America and we will certainly retain fond memories of this place and its staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the rooms and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebenzadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments when choosing your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires after such a long trip in the South America. Is our a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay there. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful with direction and getting cab, etc.... Good location, close to a small convenient store to pick up snack and bottled water if needed. Nice room with free wifi. Breakfast was buffet style plus one main dish a la carte so lots of food to select from. One minor complaint was the breakfast staff was rather slow and rather sulky.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCerlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our Le Sud Management in order to check whay you felt our service slow.
I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. Our luggage had not followed us during the long flights to get to BA. We arrived at the Sofitel Buenos Aires very very early one morning minus our luggage. The front desk welcomed us like long lost family members. We were able to go to our room almost right away and the hotel provided us with toiletries that we needed after very long flights from Toronto. We found the hotel very comfortable, luxurious and well run. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We will stay there again on our next trip to Buenos Aires. I was also extremely impressed by the hands-on management style of Philippe Seigle, the general manager of the hotel. He makes himself readily available and is very visible. This is managing by walking around and it is very effective..

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor which I had read we should avoid. In fact we loved the room. It was extreme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.


Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and other clients especially telling them
how "Magnifique" will be their stay in Sofitel Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel was an extremely pleasant surprise. Comparable to the best in BA (Hyatt and Alvear - unfortunately I still havent been to the four seasons yet).

The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly
The rooms are bigger and newer than the Alvear. Much larger than the Hyatt. And when comparing to both, the quality, service and location are just as good.
Paid half of what was asked for at Alvear (using Booking.com) for the first week of January.

Travelled with my 3 kids (5, 4 and 2 yo) and they enjoyed the hotel just as well.

The restaurant and the cafe (library) have great food (although the Alvear breakfast in incomparable to anything else).

Location is great - Arroyo is the continuation of Alvear Av - just after the 9 de julio avenue. Only 2 blocks from Recoleta, but on a much quieter area.

I recommend this hotel at any time.

Room Tip: Any room is good and quiet. If travelling with family, the end of corridors are great - the rooms co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Mattar,

We appreciate your comments regarding our location, and satisfaction with our staff.
For sure, your comments are considered as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location walkable to almost eveything you want to see. Immpeccable service, the room was very well cleaned and we found all of the staff helpful. Pablo hope I spelled it right? The Conceirge was the best! All of his suggestions were right on target for what we were looking for. We felt like his recommendations reflected the real Argentina and not just a tourists delight. I agree w/ the other comment please no Bonjour! We are in Argentina and it would be great if all of the rooms had a coffeepot. Ordering coffee was reasonable but sometimes you just don't want to wake up and have someone from room service enter first thing, I prefer a cup of coffee before I greet people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandererVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Happy Wanderes,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding our service. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding cleanliness and Concierge, we confirm Pablo is his name.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and we aren considering the coffee service in the room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#29 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery Collection by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Property: Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Address: Arroyo 841 | C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Buenos Aires is located in the tranquil and charming Arroyo Street, surrounded by enchanting and quiet sidewalks flanked by trees, the area is a heaven made up of antique shops and art galleries, a true epicenter of culture. The hotel features a perfect blend of the French savoir faire and the Argentine tradition, with an ambiance complementing exquisite decor and the delicate scents of soft flowers, awakening the senses of guests and giving them the feeling of being where true luxury sits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing