We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Layover”
Review of Ibis Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ranked #122 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our cruise arrived in the morning and the flight left in late evening. The Ibis Congreso was a moderately priced hotel in a central area of Buenos Aires that would allow us to visit parts of the city and freshen up for the flight. However, the United flight was cancelled five hours before takeoff. Thanks to the free internet, the information was received and a new flight for the next evening was booked. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating with our changes and arrangements.
The Ibis is located on the beautiful Congreso Park, headed by the impressive Argentine Congress Building. Just walking around the park is enjoyable, with its many shops and restaurants. The Ibis seems to be the only full-service hotel in the area. The room is similar to Ibis hotels in other countries with a minimalist concept of decor including built-in queen bed, desk, sofa, shelves, bath and tile floor. All very clean with non-smoking floors, central air and free breakfast. Other paid meals are available 24 hours a day. The staff will call a taxi to the airport and expect the ride to be an hour in moderate traffic.
We enjoyed our stay at the Ibis and certainly could recommend the hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Oh! In the name of ibis Congreso Thanks for your coments!
Regards,
Marcela R. Iturburu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Location is ok, although is not the best neighborhood.
Price is good for the city, although it does not include breakfast and they could explain better how the additional breakfast work: the signs say AR$16 (some €2.5 at the time), but that is only before 6:30, after that is AR$32 and after 10 is AR$64. They don't keep good count of the breakfasts, so if you stayed three days and only had breakfast once they try to charge you for three breakfasts unless you notice and protest.
Room is comfortable and well insulated from the outside noise (which could be substantial), but for a double room we only got two shower towels, instead of two sets of hand and shower towels. We managed, but certainly was uncomfortable. Also, the room had only shower, not bathtub, which is ok but not ideal.
Another annoying bit is with the free wifi: not only you have to call to reception to find out the username and password (because is not indicated in the room, nor even in the English part of the brochure), only one device per room connects at any one time! With the number of different devices we normally carry with us nowadays that use wifi (mobile, tablet and laptop), multiply it by two people in the room, and now try to imagine the frustration of realizing that you have to disconnect your smartphone wifi and your go through the authetication process again if you want to answer an e-mail on your laptop, while your wife waits until you are done to skype home with the tablet. Very annoying.
Other than that, the room is ok, and the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
4  Thank Elfilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

I would greatly appreciate your feedback, we work on them to improve every day.
The information of our breakfast are common on every floor of the hotel, the concept is for all clients have access to a breakfast from 4:30 to 6:30am breakfast for early risers, from 6:30 to 10 : 00am buffet breakfast and 10 to 12:00 pm a breakfast for late risers, I apologize if this has not been clear, we will find the way to indicate better.
By standard the hotel has no hand towels, all rooms has 2 bath towels and if that should embarrass the customer, you have available in the reception.
Wi fi is free and has a key that is not scattered in every room, because for security reasons it is changed monthly.
From now and again, thanks for letting us know your opinion and help us to improve day by day.
Thanks,
Marcela R. Iturburu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights before departing on a cruise. To be honest when we first walked through the door i thought we'd come into a hostel.The lady on reception was extremely friendly and welcoming and even took the trouble to get us a drink of water. We were given a very clean room on the 12th floor with amazing city views. The main road overlooking the bedroom window is busy but no noise whatsoever.The food in the hotel is of a very good standard and i had the best steak i have ever had in my life here. Christian the guy in the restaurant is extremely friendly and helpful.Breakfast here is the best Ibis breakfast we have ever had.Even without the special offer we got at booking, this is a little gem in the heart of the city. Would we stay here again? definitely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donaldbovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Oh! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Buenos Aires Congresso. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marcela R. Iturburu
Gerente General
Accor Hotels - Ibis Buenos Aires Congreso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

All you would expect from an Ibis chain hotel. Great location and free Internet in the lobby. Always popular so book early. Nice helpful English speaking staff on reception. Buffet breakfast of magnitude.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysrock2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Buenos Aires Congresso. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Marcela R. Iturburu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been to this IBIS CONGRESO in Buenos Aires several times in the past few years because it offers a good value for money and is very well located, within a walking distance from the Obelisco and pedestrian streets of Lavalle and Florida. There is another Ibis closer to the Obelisco but I prefer this one because it has a wide open view thanks to the Plaza del Congreso, over which I always request a room on a high floor: 11th, 12th or 13th.

As in all Ibis hotels where I have slept in France, Austria, Brazil and Peru, there is a double bed (in some places they have a queen bed, like in Annecy Cran Gevrier for which I posted a review, but it no longer belongs to Ibis) with a tablet running under the window from wall to wall, the same wood chair without padding and a small bathroom with two towels and a hair dryer. There is also a telephone and a small LCD TV. NO frig or teapot. Basic, Spartan “comfort” for 450 pesos counter rate (almost $100). I paid half as much because I reserved in April 2012. But in Buenos Aires, like in Montevideo, prices keep going up thanks to the invasion of Brazilian tourists!

Buffet breakfast is an additional 32 pesos, about $6.50 (exchange was almost 5 to $1 in January 2013), which is a very good price for the quantity of items that you may have.

In short, at $50 US, this is an outstanding value for money in Buenos Aires. At $100… I would NOT go that far!

WARNINGS:

1) You may go to the airport by bus (bus number 8 –former 86 in the 1990s- will take you there for 5.50 pesos a/o January 2013) in two hours and twenty minutes from the terminal (which is only two blocks from the “Colonia Express” terminal, where you arrive from Uruguay by boat). Make sure the red sign in front of the door says “Aeropuerto” because there are several busses number 8 and only one every fifteen minutes goes there.
However, bear in mind that YOU NEED COINS to get on the bus because, unlike Uruguay, where bus drivers carry money and give you the change, in Argentina, like in Miami, bus drivers carry no money. You must therefore put your coins in a machine which does not take bills! The problem is that NOBODY HAS COINS and I had to consume in several restaurants and cafes before I could gather the 5.50 pesos necessary to go to the airport.
Also, by the time bus number 8 gets to the Congreso, where this Ibis is, it is already almost full at 2 pm. The solution is to take it in the opposite direction (on the same side of the street where this Ibis is) and pay an extra 3.50 (in COINS!) to go to the terminal, where you can take it empty and get the very best seat of all: a single seat after the second door on the left hand side of the bus.
The journey from end to end will take you 2h20, but since you must leave the hotel by 12 noon (2 pm if you are an Elite member of Accor A Club) and the first flight to Miami leaves at 9:15 pm, you have plenty of time to do so. The best moment is before 3 pm in order to avoid rush hours, which start already by 4 pm, just as in Miami.

2) Get a CHINESE AC system adapter to go to Argentina now!!!
Until my previous trip to this Ibis, in June 2010, they had the international European AC outlets that I have found not only all over Europe (except in the UK but those guys are special…) but also in all South American countries that I have visited: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Peru and Uruguay. This is the well known system with two round holes side by side, for which you will find an adapter at every corner in Miami and in all big cities.
However, on this last trip in January 2013, I noticed that this worldwide spread system had recently been changed to another one that I have never seen in any of the countries that I have visited since 1947, from Hawaii to New Dehli, including Africa and Istanbul! This system has two flat openings, similar to the US one, BUT instead of being vertical side by side, they are inclined forming an “A” or, I should rather say: a “V” upside down.
Although I had never seen this system in any country, I do know it because I have an adapter that came in a kit (that I never take with me because of that!) which says: “China” and “New Zeland”, where I have never been.
When I complained to the front desk clerk, she told me that they had been forced to change the system last year in order to comply with a new law from Mrs. Kirchner’s government.
At the age of “globalization”, instead of keeping the widespread European system that they had before, the Argentinean government decides to change to the Chinese standard… Very smart! Do they ever eat fish?

Room Tip: Request a room from X01 to X04 on a high floor: 10th, 11th, 12th or 13th (there is only a 1401 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Efrin_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Buenos Aires Congresso. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Marcela R. Iturburu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Central location and we walked to all the attractions. Friendly staff and helpful they were.

Check out Ugi's pizza if you are going to Bs As. Best pizza ever for a petite price. Taste some alfajours - buy them from a specialty store, and you get to pick different types. Also buy a jar of "milk jam" (dulce de leche) and try it on toast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank man0haran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Buenos Aires Congresso. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Marcela R. Iturburu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

It was our second time at Buenos Aires (Feb 2012, sorry little late to post) and both opportunities we stayed on this hotel, Ibis Congresso. Very well located to do a good sight-seeing walk, as well as one of the Bs As Free walking City Tours starts at Plaza del Congreso, almost in front of the hotel. At the early morning for sure you will see some dog walkers and their nice dogs walking around and playing at the plaza. The breakfast buffet (usualy not included) is good and has a good variety to get the energy to start the day, but we also recomend some very near coffee shops were you can have a combination of coffee/tea, fresh orange juice and very good bread (toasts and medialunas, the argentinean croissant), for example going out of the hotel, take right as going to the Av de Mayo subway, and just couple stores after the hotel you will see a very small coffee shop that is also a bakery (panaderia), where everything we tried tasted so good! Of course, unfortunately, as in many other countries, we have seen several homeless people in the downtown area, what is sad and not beautiful to see, but they seem harmless (at least we didn't see or listen anything about). If you like riding a bike we also recomend a tour with the "la bicicleta naranja" (the orange bike), you can rent and have a really nice time (as the yellow ones are only for citizens)! And last tip, if you like icecream as me, don't miss the very good argentinean ice cream, not only at the famous ones, but for example at Winpy just in front of the hotel, across the Plaza del Congresso.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Buenos Aires Congresso. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Marcela R. Iturburu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#114 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,420 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#46 of 444 in Buenos Aires
803 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#124 of 444 in Buenos Aires
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#50 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,486 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#135 of 444 in Buenos Aires
585 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#55 of 444 in Buenos Aires
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Hipolito Yrigoyen 1592, Buenos Aires C1089AAD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#107 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#115 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $38 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Buenos Aires hotel is very near the centre, 5 min from the OBELISCO tourist area and the 9 JULIO avenue. 25 min from Ezeiza international airport, it has 147 rooms available for booking, including 3 adapted for disabled guests, and 3 meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences that can seat 60 persons. The hotel also has a restaurant, a bar open 24/24 serving light meals and snacks and private covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Accor Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing