We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“masterclass hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #101 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
London
1 review
“masterclass hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is a must for every hotel fan...and even you you are not a hotel fan, still. Such an historic building, a great brand ad fantastic service, especially from housekeeping and room service!
Dont let yourself fooled by the reviews...it quite sad that people are not happy with this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirta1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    534
    273
    110
    59
See reviews for
250
521
80
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The only reason why we stayed there was because we had a discount voucher wich cut the price in about 50%. Hence, I thought it would be nice to stay there for half price.

The hotel is on an old beautiful building, had great staff (although the bell staff were rude at a couple of times with us by not opening the door for us, but strangely openning the doors to other guests ??? weird).

I've stayed at other Marriotts and I believe the one in Buenos Aires has to improve to reacah the standards of other Marriotts.

Overall it was a good stay because we did not pay full price, but I would be deeply disappointed if I had paid full price for that stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cesarhanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on the first part of a first visit to Argentina. Initially we were planning to stay elsewhere but when we realized we had the opportunity to redeem points for free nights we decided to take advantage of the savings. By and large this was a good choice for a first visit, especially since the hotel is well located for tourist sites and transportation.

The building itself is beautiful and very historic, the interior of the hotel is showing its age--clearly had once been "grand" but now carpet and other, especially in the common area was worn. Elevators were also prone to delays (not that many given size of hotel). The gym was clean, modern and had more then enough equipment. Rooms were pleasant and larger then expected.

Since it was a large hotel there was less of a personal touch with the staff but all of our interaction with them was pleasant. When we first arrived there were issues with our in-room internet connection and someone came up to fix it--spent close to 30 minutes solving the problem, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shw7552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Marriott is so centrally located to the riverfront, the activity on Florida street, and so many places in the city. The staff is extremely helpful and the hotel was a delight.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Just returned from a great stay at the Plaza/Marriott Buenos Aires. Ours is a family of four with two children ages 7 and 9. We arrived from Houston in the early morning. The hotel arranged for pick up and transfer from the airport (U$$ 75). We booked two connecting rooms (715-716) and they were ready upon arrival. The personnel was attentive, pleasant and helpful from the beginning to the end of our stay. We requested extra towels and extra cleaning with USA cleaning products (Flu scare) and Housekeeping perform over the call of duty.
We had breakfast (every day), lunch and dinner at The Brasserie were service and food were excellent. Prices were high but competitive with similar establishments.
The location, across from Plaza San Martin at the enf of Florida Street is very convenient and easy for access. We took taxis from a company recommended by the hotel and they arrived within 5-7 minutes.
The hotel is 100 years old and charming in a way. Some areas require attention: One of the elevators did not work; areas on the outside of the rooms are stained (pigeons); and the outside of the hotel needs repair and painting. The hotel is not ADA compliant but they try, Our rooms did not have individual temperature control capability. That is, the hotel sets the temperature for all the rooms-warm in the winter- and we control the fan. Room 716 was hot and there was no way to cool it. The hotel was responsive to our complaint but uncapable to fix it.The hotel does not have all the bells and whistles for young children (robes, club, entertainment, etc) but Buenos Aires provides all the entertainment you may need.
Overall, a very good experience. Last two words: be nice and the personnel will be nice.
And, as always, check your bill at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAO PAULO
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The location is great, but the hotel is worth REFORM. The fit is old and smell mold. The service of reception and restaurant is very efficient and gentle.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPAIATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Many years ago we enjoyed a stay at the Plaza and hoped this experience would be equally as nice. It was. The hotel is relatively expensive, but the rooms, service, and location are excellent and worth the price. We stayed at different, lower cost hotel in BA 3 weeks later and were very disappointed, particularly when we knew what we could have had for just a few dollars more.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#139 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,267 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#26 of 446 in Buenos Aires
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#60 of 446 in Buenos Aires
2,027 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 446 in Buenos Aires
763 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#51 of 446 in Buenos Aires
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#81 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#89 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#96 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing