We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #101 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

You can tell the hotel used to be one of the grand hotels of Buenos Aires back in the days. Although it has retained some of its charms, it is a little dated and would need more than just a coat of paints to bring it to the 21st century. Still, it was a nice hotel. The location was great. The service was attentive. Not much more we could have asked for, for the price we paid.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    527
    272
    110
    59
See reviews for
250
519
79
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Due to gold status we were upgraded to an executive suite. This hotel has been refurbished since our last visit to BA. Still need to either walk up or down one landing to get from lobby to elevator.
The exec lounge provides a comfortable area to relax. Good capucino and decent snacks.
Evening service had good choices including hot soup.
The only negative experience was in the restaurant for dinner. The steak was tough. We are in Argentina, and expected that the beef would be excellent. The prices in this restaurant are high and the service is cold
The location is perfect sitting adjacent to Florida Street, a main shopping street in BA. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days; its an older property and the rooms definitely need some work but we did enjoy staying in a suite (upgraded) since we are Gold status. One item that definitely disappointed us was that the executive lounge (another Gold status perk) did not have free alcoholic drinks. Due to my extensive business travel this year we have stayed at Marriott hotels in many countries and this is the first lounge where drinks were not free. That said, the food was very good in the lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am staying at the Plaza hotel and was upgraded to a suite on the 9th floor - double bathroom and showers.

Balcony view of the park - the room is quiet clean and extremely comfortable.

Executive lounge is very pleasant and food quality is high.

Wireless internet is very good.

The staff have been more than helpful and friendly.

I really do like this property!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyboyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, the World
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed here a few times, and stayed at a large number of Marriotts, but the one incident that stands out for me from my last trip was that a member of the hotel staff searched through one of my bags and stole my blackberry. Now, yes, I know, I *should* have used the safe. It's just that is why I stay at Marriotts because I do not expect to have to use the safe and I rely on the integrity of their staff. Yes, it could have been a lot worse - I still have no idea why they took the, frankly, cr@ppy 18 month old work blackberry, and left the lenovo laptop, Samsung android phone, or the tempting wallet I had left in the same place. But still. The management did investigate, interviewed the two staff- both employees since 1999 and exclusively serving the executive level - who had apparently been in the room, and searched the room themselves. Does not alter the fact that I left Argentina minus one blackberry.

Other factors: hotel is old and the renovation cannot/does not disguise this, unlike the renovation done on the nearby Sofitel building or the Hyatt. You will either look at this as a positive or negative according to your own tastes. Location is fantastic. Probably could not be better. Gym is mediocre compared to say, the Sao Paulo Renaissance or JW in Rio. Breakfast was good, but the exec lounge food leaves something to be desired, again especially in comparison to the Brazilian counterparts.

Conclusion: Overall, if the Sofitel or Hyatt are in the same price bracket, I cannot recommend this hotel. And the last stay has damaged my trust in the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

pretty nice. it's an older property but it has charm. service was excellent and the location was good for walking to dining, shopping and a few points of interest. upgrade to a plaza view suite and you gain some floor space with a nice view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjenks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We are Marriott customers, we have stayed at dozens throughout the US and the world, this one is mediocre at best. Some amenities like the concierge room have a nice view and great service, but our room on that floor was dark, outdated, no view and damp-smelling. Also, the elevator has a loud ding when it arrives on the floor, it woke us up throughout the night. Then starting with the early morning breakfast in the concierge room, the door would slam open and shut--all in all a very poor room and sleep. And when we told the front desk there was no accommodations made for us at all during our stay. The staff here was indifferent, very unlike the Marriott service that is boasts. We asked if we could borrow the ipad charger that was sitting at the front desk and we were refused, then we asked if we could just use it while we were standing in the lobby, still said NO--and not nicely I must add. Just not great, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABKSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#140 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#71 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#46 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#63 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#82 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#97 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing