We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Service that you'd expect from Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #32 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We spent two nights at the Intercontinental Hotel and were pleased with the attentive service and elegant ambiance of the hotel. The staff at the front desk, the concierges, the housekeepers and the wait staff in the bar and restaurant were all exceptional. Everyone was very friendly, professional and highly competent.
All of the public areas of the hotel were immaculate and comfortable. We were especially surprised to find the beautiful and romantic outdoor garden of the hotel. It proved to be a nice oasis from the bustle and grime of the city.
The only drawback to the hotel was the location. At night, it is a bit desolate on a dark and not highly travelled street. Most restaurants and night life activities are a cab drive away. Still, for the elegance, charm and exceptional service, we would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arkybergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

Hotels often promise to be the home from home, but arrogance, incompetence or just bad service make this claim usually a joke.
However, this hotel delivers on its promises. Rarely have I felt so welcome in a hotel. No arrogance, just superb service. We almost felt as being part of a family.
Our room had sweeping views over Buenos Aires and could not be faulted in any way. The club lounge featured a good choice of drinks and snacks.

I can also highly recommend the hotel's Terazza restaurant on the ground floor. It offers grilled sumptuous meats and wonderful fish. The steaks are melt-in-the-mouth and we renamed the Patagonian Lamp Chops to “Patagonian Lollypops”, because they were exceptional.

Shopping, central Buenos Aires and the main tourist area are within walk distance.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I travelled to Buenos Aires for a 2 month work trip and reserved a stay at the Intercontinental for the entire trip. The rooms were beautiful; but we soon realized that the hotel charged extra for everything. We recieved a good room rate; but after the daily fee for internet use and gym, an additional cost of US$32/per day was added to the room. Not to even mention the AR$35 bottle of water in the room. The breakfast in the morning is not complementary and not cheap. At AR$67, it wasn't worth the price for runny eggs. The attitude of the staff was one of indifference. Because we had 4 different people staying at the hotel, we quickly knew that there was a lack of consistancy between the service provided between rooms and floors. We then began looking at other accomidations in Buenos Aires. We informed hotel management about an offer we had recieved from another hotel and encourage them to match it. The management seemed either confused or indifferent about our intentions to leave. So, we booked the new hotel and left the Intercontinental after just one week. If you want posh surroundings and enjoy overpaying for amenities, then the Intercontinental should be your hotel of choice in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmiles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Unremarkable and unmemorable Intercontinental, although the rooms very clean and up to Intercon's standard. Nickel and dime you like crazy here: internet, 2nd guest charge. You feel like a corporate commodity as a guest. Also avoid being tricked into Club when you check in. The Hilton in Puerto Madero is better, newer, and has a dramatic open lobby. Sofitel is even better, slightly classier. Four Seasons I'm not sure. Alvear for a bit more snobby stay. The Intercon has a nice quiet indoor swimming pool that few people seems to use. But it have yet another additional charge for use of the health club weight and exercise machines.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opinionchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The hotel has a nice classic flare. Rooms are a little outdated (old fixtures, etc.) but in the scheme of things they are spotless. Breakfast is superb (make sure is included in your rate, otherwise be ready to pay a lot of money) and the empanada appetizer in the bar is out of this world. The main problem with the hotel is the location. Although main highways are nearby and "La Florida" is a handful of blocks away it is not in the best neighborhood. Don't even try to walk at night. If you are traveling for business and someone is planning on picking you up, by all means stay here...if not, try the Hilton or any of the other hotels in Puerto Madero, I must also say that the front desk is not the friendliest of all unless you are a Priority Rewards Gold.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntlEconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Probably the best thing about the hotel is the staff who are very helpful indeed (although that seems to be a trait shared by most people in buenos aires). The rooms are nice too (although not that well sound proofed), especially given the offer price paid (around 120 USD a night). Breakfast wasnt included though, and neither was the gym, so one should be aware of that when booking. The location is pretty good, near the San Telmo district.....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Good location although the street is in is very small and not very elegant or charming but it is close to everything. The actual Hotel is of the quality you expect from Intercontinental: marble everywhere, good restaurant, ample rooms, amenities. However, I spent 5 nights there and I could not believe the terrible service by the valet Staff. When I arrived they never came to pick up my suitcases until I went inside and asked for help. They kept looking at me but doing nothing . The Limo driver (from the hotel) had to shout at them forhelp. Every time I arrived at the door in a car or taxi they would never come to open my door or greet me, and 3 or 4 of them would be inside looking at the door but doing nothing. This happened everyday. I kept smiling and saying nothing.

I guess they have this "topical" attitude of not serving people as they mistake it for being a servant, but in a 5 star hotel this is unheard of. At least they could show they care and they were happy for our Custom, but no...

Checking out was an experience in itself. The day BEFORE you arrive they actually charge you one night in your credit card in advance. Then whne you arrive they charge your card for the nights you are going to stay minus the one you already paid. Then when I checked out they told me that this first charge was not enough because of incidentals so they had to charge me again with another diffrent bill. SO I ended up with 3 different bills to prsent to my employers. 3 invoices and 3 charges... 19th Century style for a 5 star hotel.

I will not go back and will use the Hilton in Puerto Madero instead.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#45 of 442 in Buenos Aires
3,506 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 442 in Buenos Aires
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#71 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,595 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#136 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Moreno 809, Buenos Aires 1091AAQ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#11 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#22 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#24 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $124 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Buenos Aires brings five-star, 1930s-style elegance to Old Town. It s easy to feel the Argentinean spirit when you re so close to cultural mainstays such as tango academies, theatres, traditional coffee shops and the soccer stadium. The financial district and the famous Calle Florida shopping street are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenos Aires Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing