We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and amenities but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #71 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location and amenities but poor service”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip - booked last minute. Hotel itself - location, room, gym,pool breakfast was good ( though a little tired in places) but as reported elsewhere staff were indifferent and service overall disappointing. Desk staff were unresponsive and several external calls made by friends trying to reach me were unanswered or not transferred by desk staff. On one occasion I had to ask them to service my room. I was met with a very blunt response for an expresso coffee at breakfast. I also had to contest the final bill as this was not my original understanding - and whilst the hotel eventually settled in my favour (thank-you) it took some considerable time. Interestingly, during my stay there I noted a number of customers challenging or complaining about different issues to staff. The average rating is due to location/pool and decent room -and eventual agreement by hotel management on my bill. It would otherwise be lower. Hotel Mgnt needs to respond to complaints regarding service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB100Bxlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are all very disappointed after reading the problems you found with our staff, manners and "feeling" must be for us the entrance door of our service! We regret a lot your experience,
we have taken the measures for doing changes inmediately, improving and taking care of the different departments you were so kind to detail. We hope to welcome in next future and taste the changes. We ask our guest to ask for the Manager in front of any complaint in order to give the solutions inmediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    529
    193
    84
    57
See reviews for
171
639
68
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here on a tour. Our room had been redone and was nice and very large with a sitting area. We faced the boulevard, which was pretty but we were there the night of the election and it was very noisy until midnight. Service in the lounge is VERY slow. One of our group had his carry-on stolen, which contained his passport. He was in the computer area and set it down for 30 seconds. The location was excellent for walking to sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, it helps us to continuous improvement knowing that we are on the right way.
Thank you so much!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We got there in time for check in, and our room wasn't ready. They made us wait for an hour with just a complementary drink which only includes coffee or a soft drink. The reason for the delay was maintenance on a lamp, which we never even used. Anyone would obviously rather get the room in time, with a bad lamp than wait for an hour. When we got to the room, staff was still working on it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We all regret a lot our drinks are not what you expected from our services as well as the delay of our Maintenance Department in arrange a single lamp. Your comments help a lot to improve our service and make the corresponding changes for reaching the customers expectation. We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires and enjoy the service you help us to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

You will notice that in all of the negative reviews the response from management is it's too bad you didn't let us know during your stay so we could do something about it. During the first day of our stay I asked to see the manager to complain about the poor service we had received. She apologized and indicated that what I complained about was not acceptable. An hour later I called housekeeping for some additional towels. Three hours later, when we still had not received the towels, I again spoke with the manager to ask why the service had not improved, as is promised in all the TripAdvisor replies. We stayed with a group and at least half of the group experienced similar problems to ours.

The good, a beautiful pool and gym on the top floor. The view of Buenos Aires is great. The location of the hotel is also very good. End of list.

The rooms are tired and worn. Cracked marble with poor repairs abound in the bathrooms. Our bathroom door handle was falling off. The bathtub was poorly cleaned from the last guests and was stained and cracked. The floors creak. I can go on, but most of this is just a repeat of previous reviews. I have chosen not to show the picture of the bath towel with the large hole worn through it.

This hotel seems to cater to groups and does not really care about the individual guest. The other reviewers' comments about poor service are right on. Based upon the previous TA reviews we would not have stayed here if our group did not use the hotel. I will certainly be letting our tour operator know they should stop using it.

Bottom line, I would not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Early in the morning on Monday our General Director was advised by the Manager on duty who met with you about the inconveniences you had with the towels and the delay for getting a quick solution to your request as well as the details related your room. We are all concerned after knowing your experience with us and we regret a lot you cannot enjoy your stay, nevertheless we appreciate a lot your comments, We hope you give us the opportunity to stay with us in a next future for tasting the changes you help us to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has a great location at the "9 de Julio" street, very close to places like La Florida (shoping), Puerto Madero (food and pubs).

You'll be at one block from the "Obelisco". There's also the D (green line) station of the subway, which take you to Palermo (North Zone of Capital Federal Buenos Aires) in less than 15 minutes. Palermo is a beautiful neighbor where you will find the zoo, the japanse garden, bosques de palermo or cañitas and you can find excellent pubs, restaurants, discotheques for relax and have fun day and night.

The hotel building is beautiful, and the customer service is not the best. The pool area is just awesome.

Buenos Aires, Argentina is a wonderful city, with great food, wine, party and people energy. If you are planning to travel to Buenos Aires, I hope you enjoy it and also recommend to avoid to spend to much time in the average tourist places, they are nothing compare with the citizens spots in Capital Federal.

Room Tip: I always stayed at the south tower, and I did never had noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thanks for kind comments related our location and our Hotel. We are feeling rather concerned related your comments about our Staff, it' s a pitty you didn' t ask for the Manager during the stay for arranging any problem the staff could caused you. Many thanks for advising us about this for taking the measure regarding this subject.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was not a happy one. On one day our room was not cleaned at all and by 2pm the next day, having run out of clean towels, I went to reception and let rip. I was told someone would come immediately, but it was another half an hour, before a very irate cleaner came, she was very angry that we had complained. The breakfast is poor and we had to lay our own table from the counter, there were long queues for coffee and the hot water was in a jug which soon ran out. This hotel looks good when you arrive, but the rooms are shabby, especially the bathrooms with chipped furniture and peeling paintwork. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are all really concerned about your comments, it would be great if you would ask for the Manager and you have informed how these problems were disturbing your stay, some strange thing occured because we try to improve every day our service and comments like yours help us to focus the improvement to this area. It was really a pitty not to know how your stay was going for doing the change inmediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The service is not good, and considering the price for this place, the service is horrid. At the rates they charge they should really have staff that is educated as well as pleasant to deal with. I have to say that though the accommodations and the location are solid, I would not recommend staying here to anyone. I've had better experience at almost all the Hostels I've stayed at for 1/20th the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnitnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are all concerned about your comments, it would be great if you would ask for the Management and informed how your stay was going, we are really engaged with the improvement of each division, ir' s a pitty you didn' t let us know your experience during your stay, our mission is to give to the guest the best of our service, sorry for not knowing your problems during the stay for giving a solution inmediately
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#143 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,280 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#49 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,013 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#62 of 445 in Buenos Aires
2,033 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
#80 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel

Property: Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Address: Calle Carlos Pellegrini 551 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1009ABK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#52 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel is situated on 9 de Julio Avenue, just in front of the Obelisk and the Colon Theater, in the downtown area of Argentine's Capital Federal known as "microcentro". Located in towers the Panamericano Hotel offers 314 rooms with unique views of Buenos Aires. With imported Italian furniture, delicate adornments and original paintings, they do of the rooms of the Panamericano Hotel the only place. Check each of the rooms in our web. A world of tranquility, pleasure and beauty located in the 23rd floor of the Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel. It has a wonderful panoramic view of the city, and offers an elegant heated swimming pool, solarium, a highly equipped gym, spinning room, sauna, massages, beauty salon and all kinds of treatments. In short, a state-of-the-art Spa and Health Club. Everything with a view to ensure a personalized attention, both for our guests as well as for customers who are not staying at the hotel. Our idea is to design a package tailored to the requests of every customer, whether they would like to come alone or with a couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Buenos Aires
Panamericano Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing