We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's prime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #74 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

You will notice that in all of the negative reviews the response from management is it's too bad you didn't let us know during your stay so we could do something about it. During the first day of our stay I asked to see the manager to complain about the poor service we had received. She apologized and indicated that what I complained about was not acceptable. An hour later I called housekeeping for some additional towels. Three hours later, when we still had not received the towels, I again spoke with the manager to ask why the service had not improved, as is promised in all the TripAdvisor replies. We stayed with a group and at least half of the group experienced similar problems to ours.

The good, a beautiful pool and gym on the top floor. The view of Buenos Aires is great. The location of the hotel is also very good. End of list.

The rooms are tired and worn. Cracked marble with poor repairs abound in the bathrooms. Our bathroom door handle was falling off. The bathtub was poorly cleaned from the last guests and was stained and cracked. The floors creak. I can go on, but most of this is just a repeat of previous reviews. I have chosen not to show the picture of the bath towel with the large hole worn through it.

This hotel seems to cater to groups and does not really care about the individual guest. The other reviewers' comments about poor service are right on. Based upon the previous TA reviews we would not have stayed here if our group did not use the hotel. I will certainly be letting our tour operator know they should stop using it.

Bottom line, I would not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Early in the morning on Monday our General Director was advised by the Manager on duty who met with you about the inconveniences you had with the towels and the delay for getting a quick solution to your request as well as the details related your room. We are all concerned after knowing your experience with us and we regret a lot you cannot enjoy your stay, nevertheless we appreciate a lot your comments, We hope you give us the opportunity to stay with us in a next future for tasting the changes you help us to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
There are newer reviews for Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has a great location at the "9 de Julio" street, very close to places like La Florida (shoping), Puerto Madero (food and pubs).

You'll be at one block from the "Obelisco". There's also the D (green line) station of the subway, which take you to Palermo (North Zone of Capital Federal Buenos Aires) in less than 15 minutes. Palermo is a beautiful neighbor where you will find the zoo, the japanse garden, bosques de palermo or cañitas and you can find excellent pubs, restaurants, discotheques for relax and have fun day and night.

The hotel building is beautiful, and the customer service is not the best. The pool area is just awesome.

Buenos Aires, Argentina is a wonderful city, with great food, wine, party and people energy. If you are planning to travel to Buenos Aires, I hope you enjoy it and also recommend to avoid to spend to much time in the average tourist places, they are nothing compare with the citizens spots in Capital Federal.

Room Tip: I always stayed at the south tower, and I did never had noise problems.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many thanks for kind comments related our location and our Hotel. We are feeling rather concerned related your comments about our Staff, it' s a pitty you didn' t ask for the Manager during the stay for arranging any problem the staff could caused you. Many thanks for advising us about this for taking the measure regarding this subject.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was not a happy one. On one day our room was not cleaned at all and by 2pm the next day, having run out of clean towels, I went to reception and let rip. I was told someone would come immediately, but it was another half an hour, before a very irate cleaner came, she was very angry that we had complained. The breakfast is poor and we had to lay our own table from the counter, there were long queues for coffee and the hot water was in a jug which soon ran out. This hotel looks good when you arrive, but the rooms are shabby, especially the bathrooms with chipped furniture and peeling paintwork. Avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are all really concerned about your comments, it would be great if you would ask for the Manager and you have informed how these problems were disturbing your stay, some strange thing occured because we try to improve every day our service and comments like yours help us to focus the improvement to this area. It was really a pitty not to know how your stay was going for doing the change inmediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The service is not good, and considering the price for this place, the service is horrid. At the rates they charge they should really have staff that is educated as well as pleasant to deal with. I have to say that though the accommodations and the location are solid, I would not recommend staying here to anyone. I've had better experience at almost all the Hostels I've stayed at for 1/20th the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnitnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are all concerned about your comments, it would be great if you would ask for the Management and informed how your stay was going, we are really engaged with the improvement of each division, ir' s a pitty you didn' t let us know your experience during your stay, our mission is to give to the guest the best of our service, sorry for not knowing your problems during the stay for giving a solution inmediately

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

we stayed here for 8 nights, we were part of a conference. I would feel sorry for anyone that was staying here NOT for the conference, because it was absolutely crowded and would not have made anyones stay welcoming. We had nothing but wonderful service the entire time we stayed here, the staff would have been exhausted from all the people and it really was crowded. they always smiled and helped with anything we needed, nothing was too much trouble. they held our bags for 2 nights AFTER we had checked out and organised anything we needed. The breakfast was always full and the coffee was good, sometimes a few little things ran out, jam etc but overall, they kept up well. The rooms were lovely and spacious, we had two different rooms during the time we stayed here, half the time we were on level 19 with a balcony which was a LOVELY surprise. the other half we had a HUGE room (twin) on level4. Both levels were quiet and very spacious. The only problem i had , which was more work related, was there was no wifi, (free wifi I should say) in the rooms. 5 star hotel and wifi not included? You could get 30mins free per day in the lobby, but being there for work 30mins, is no time at all and working in the lobby wasn't convenient. A very helpful staff member at reception (whose name escapes me at he moment!) was very kind and gave us a day free which was appreciated, and It only cost 60 pesos a day for the wifi. Apart from that (and the over crowded foyers during the conference) everything was great. I would stay again, great location and pool/spa too! beautiful lobby and foyer, the bell boys are adorable and always had a laugh with us. Well done to all the staff who would have been run off their feet during the conference which had 5000 people attend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazvrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Panamericano Hotel.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back !
Kind regards,
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed 5 nights on a business trip.
The hotel is perfectly located. Actually on 9 de Julio boulevard, near the "Lavalle", the pedestrian street. Here, more or less, ends the pleasure I had staying there.
The hotel is unbelievably crowded, some conference was taking place there, millions of people hanging around which made the relatively spacious lobby very tight and small.
My room (on the northern tower) was relatively ok. Not big but satisfactory. Bed was ok too.
However, it was terribly noisy. The noise was coming from an air conditioning/heating systems right below. I could not open the window, 1. because of the noise and 2. because of the wall of the next hotel which was like 2 meters away. (so close that I easily received their internet network). Very unpleasant!!!
The staff looked to me tired and fed up and as a result not willing to help.
THE BREAKFAST: I am not at all picky about breakfast but this was too much!!! Having a descent coffee is not too much to ask, is it?
Tastes awful, too cold, or not available. Never in my life saw a line of 5-10 people with the cups in their hands waiting for the coffee container to be filled up and the staff didn't seem to care.
After the 2nd morning I just went out to the coffee shop next door.
Is that a rule that a good located hotel will have a bad service???

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giovanni17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are very concerned after knowing your comments related your stay, it would be great if you would present your claim to the Management for arranging the problems you pointed out. We are always trying to improve the service and this is through the comments of guests, like you.
It' s a pitty not to know the problem when it occurs for giving the inmediate solution., but it's rather difficult if our guest doesnt' t let know how the experience is going. We hope sincerely to welcome you when your travels come back to Buenos Aires and to give the best of our service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

While the hotel has a beautiful lobby and conference areas, the service and the rooms are terrible. Considering this is a high end hotel, the reception was horrible. They do not smile, do not greet you, and always seem like they are bothered by any question. Once we arrived, the front desk clerk just laid the form that we needed to fill out and walked away. No greeting, no hello, nothing. We started filling it out and when he returned, he gave us a key and walked away again. No explanation of where elevators are, what to do with luggage, how to access our free breakfast that was included, etc. Many more issues occurred with the front desk, but they are all in the same domain: poor service, poorly trained, no warmth, no professionalism at all. The room was also a major disappointment. It was very sparse, no dresser or desk. It was run down, with the facets leaking, wallpaper coming off the wall, very few towels, and a shelf that looked like it was going to fall off the wall. Overall, not worth the money. We had previously stayed at the Plaza Hotel (which used to be the Marriott) and that was truly a five star hotel. Despite the fact that I am not a picky person, after staying at the Buenos Aires Marriott and then coming to the Panamericano, it was a HUGE disappointment. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are all concerned with your comments, it was a pitty you didn' t ask for the Manager and you informed why the reception staff hadn' t manners and why your guestroom was like you described! We are concerned above all because we coudn't give us the best of our service. Of course, your comments have help us a lot for improving the division you let us know doesn´t give the service tha we expect hast be the best. Let us welcome you if your travels bring back to Buenos Aires, please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#141 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,289 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#51 of 443 in Buenos Aires
3,354 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires
#81 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,088 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#63 of 443 in Buenos Aires
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Calle Carlos Pellegrini 551 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1009ABK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#52 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $129 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel is situated on 9 de Julio Avenue, just in front of the Obelisk and the Colon Theater, in the downtown area of Argentine's Capital Federal known as "microcentro". Located in towers the Panamericano Hotel offers 314 rooms with unique views of Buenos Aires. With imported Italian furniture, delicate adornments and original paintings, they do of the rooms of the Panamericano Hotel the only place. Check each of the rooms in our web. A world of tranquility, pleasure and beauty located in the 23rd floor of the Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel. It has a wonderful panoramic view of the city, and offers an elegant heated swimming pool, solarium, a highly equipped gym, spinning room, sauna, massages, beauty salon and all kinds of treatments. In short, a state-of-the-art Spa and Health Club. Everything with a view to ensure a personalized attention, both for our guests as well as for customers who are not staying at the hotel. Our idea is to design a package tailored to the requests of every customer, whether they would like to come alone or with a couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Buenos Aires
Panamericano Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing