We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #69 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. We were there for a conference and it was convenient.
However, most of the staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. We had an unpleasant experience on our last day - there was supposed to be a pre-arranged transfer to the airport, and the car/driver were waiting outside, but no one at/around the front desk knew about this. We even asked Sebastian (front desk), and all he could do was advice that he call for a cab. The person who hails cabs, and usually is in and out of the hotel door also had no idea that our car and driver had been waiting for us for over an hour, even when we specifically mentioned that we were expecting that.
Housekeeping forgot towels and left dirty drinking glasses after they serviced the room.
There was a tall black person who was VERY nice though. He was really concerned when my husband hurt his head on the door and ran to get us some ice!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabnam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many thanks for letting us know the inconveniences you have with your taxi due to a misunderstanding perhaps between our staff and the person who stay outdoors - Third Company - managing the taxis. It was a pitty you didn' t ask for the Manager for asking and inmediate solution, we are all engaged with any problem of our guest. Please, let us welcome you when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed in BA for 5 nights in total with the last 2 being at this hotel. For the price it charges, the hotel has extremely poor service. The staff are completely unfriendly and have to be prodded to get any information. The room didn't even have a hotel guest directory to outline the facilities etc. which was ridiculous for a large hotel. When I rang about this, they said the directory was being "refurbished" whatever that means!

Whatever you do, don't eat or drink in the hotel - the service in the lobby bar was appalling - the staff act like everything's a big hassle and don't even ask if your finished when they clear your table.

I would recommend many of the other hotels in the area but do not stay at the Panamericano.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skyland25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are all really concerned related your comments. The fact is that if you don' t contact the Manager when something wrong is going on always will be too late. Thank you for let us know your experience with us, this encourage us for following with the improvement in every division for giving to our guests the best of our service. We hope to welcome you if your traves bring back to Buenos Aires for giving you the best our service what it our first goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

this hotel is nice, has a lot of good things as well as some questionable ones, service is really good, prices are great, pool on the top floor is amazing, breakfast (if included) is a good option and rooms are huge (at least the one I got)

now, the downside, location is wonderful for day activities, after 9:00 pm turns into a dangerous area.. wifi is quite unstable and -some- amenities are old.

bottom line, this hotel is a good option IF you have to stay at the MicroCentro

Room Tip: choose a room that faces the Obelisco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many thanks for comments about our Hotel, related the risk of this location, today every street i9n the city after 21:00 hours is dangerous, one must to take care if one goes out after this time.
Thank you for let us know that the wifi doesn' t work so well, it was be great if you contacted the Manager for take care of each problem you have, it is our work to give to the guest the best of our service. We are working for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a city view room, very large, modern and comfortable. The rooftop pool was great after a long day of touring the city. Staff speak English very well, and they were always very helpful. The breakfast was AMAZING! it was also included in the price of the room. We were right by Florida street which has excellent shopping and it is very close to most major tourist attractions. 30 min walk to Recoletta. Would stay here again next visit.

Room Tip: City view rooms have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many, many thanks for your terrific comments related our Hotel. We feel all very proud after reading them. We hope to welcome you in a next future. Many thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 night on business. Had a lounge and bedroom but it would have been more useful if it was one room - never used the lounge at all so it was a waste of space. Hotel is clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is average and appears to be set up for the tour groups that come through. One thing that irritates me about many hotels is why the showers cant be built not to leak water all over the bathroom floor and the Panamericano was no exception.

Hotel is in a good central location on the main thoroughfare in Buenos Aires but we did see two people being robbed on two separate occasions within 100m of the hotel (and police for that matter). From what we were told that can happen anywhere in the city though.

Didn't have a chance to use the pool but colleague told me it was fabulous with great views over the city.

Prefer to stay in the Intercontinental but wouldn't walk out of that hotel after dark whereas I felt safe outside the Panamericano at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many thanks for your comments realted your experience at our Hotel. It was be great if you have asked to Reception Manager the problem with your shower, Related the security, every street in South America has its risk, you have to take care all the time even during the morning. Thank you for rad about your experience with our breakfast, this hel us to the continuous improvement.
It will be great to welcome you if your travels bring back to Buenos Aires and to offer you the best of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Panamericano is a very good, 5-star hotel in Buenos Aires Downtown. They have pretty good and well decorated rooms with classical furniture (classic italian style), a good breakfast (not outstanding, just ok), and a good swimming pool as well, at the top of the building, with an amazing view of the city. It´s location is unique, near everything important in Buenos Aires Downtown and in the way to any great touristic place in the city. Considering all this, and taken together with the affordable price for a hotel of such class and the simpathy of the staff, it´s a great location to stay in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the central location.
We look forward to your next stay,

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed four nights as part of a larger group. Rooms are adequate and clean. There is a pool on the 23d floor with a fantastic view over Buenos Aires. The breakfast is very good. The area around the hotel is not fantastic, but feels safe. Across Avenida 9 de Julio you find the Teatre Colon that is well worth a visit and a tour. To get to the main shopping street (Florida) turn left from the hotel and then left again onto Lavalle (pedestrian street). Continue four blocks and you cross Florida. An interesting phenomenon in Buenos Aires is the so called “blue market” for changing money. On Florida there are people everywhere shouting cambio/exchange. You get app. 40% better exchange rate then the official rate if you change USD or Euro on the street. It is quite safe, but be aware since a few people in our group got falsified money, so take an extra look at the bills you receive. If you conitinue on Lavalle you reach the Harbor Area with lots of restaurants after 25 min walk.

If I would go to Buenos Aires again I would probably find a hotel in the harbour area

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really glad that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and the espectacular view from the spa.
We look forward to your next stay!

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#138 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,316 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#36 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#52 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,054 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,424 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires
#72 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Calle Carlos Pellegrini 551 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1009ABK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#49 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $113 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel is situated on 9 de Julio Avenue, just in front of the Obelisk and the Colon Theater, in the downtown area of Argentine's Capital Federal known as "microcentro". Located in towers the Panamericano Hotel offers 314 rooms with unique views of Buenos Aires. With imported Italian furniture, delicate adornments and original paintings, they do of the rooms of the Panamericano Hotel the only place. Check each of the rooms in our web. A world of tranquility, pleasure and beauty located in the 23rd floor of the Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel. It has a wonderful panoramic view of the city, and offers an elegant heated swimming pool, solarium, a highly equipped gym, spinning room, sauna, massages, beauty salon and all kinds of treatments. In short, a state-of-the-art Spa and Health Club. Everything with a view to ensure a personalized attention, both for our guests as well as for customers who are not staying at the hotel. Our idea is to design a package tailored to the requests of every customer, whether they would like to come alone or with a couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Buenos Aires
Panamericano Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing