We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate large city hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #68 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed four nights as part of a larger group. Rooms are adequate and clean. There is a pool on the 23d floor with a fantastic view over Buenos Aires. The breakfast is very good. The area around the hotel is not fantastic, but feels safe. Across Avenida 9 de Julio you find the Teatre Colon that is well worth a visit and a tour. To get to the main shopping street (Florida) turn left from the hotel and then left again onto Lavalle (pedestrian street). Continue four blocks and you cross Florida. An interesting phenomenon in Buenos Aires is the so called “blue market” for changing money. On Florida there are people everywhere shouting cambio/exchange. You get app. 40% better exchange rate then the official rate if you change USD or Euro on the street. It is quite safe, but be aware since a few people in our group got falsified money, so take an extra look at the bills you receive. If you conitinue on Lavalle you reach the Harbor Area with lots of restaurants after 25 min walk.

If I would go to Buenos Aires again I would probably find a hotel in the harbour area

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really glad that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and the espectacular view from the spa.
We look forward to your next stay!

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We got to the hotel a few days before our cruise was to start. The lobby made a good first impression. The staff is courteous and helpful although few spoke English. The rooms are roomy and comfortable and have a locked safe and other good amenities (hair drier, of course, good AC control, great shower). The desk loaned us converter plugs, no problem. The valet immediately told our traveling companions that it is dangerous to walk around the city wearing any jewelry. He also reminded us to be careful of pickpockets and told us the areas that should not be visited after sunset. When we asked where to exchange dollars to pesos, he actually walked us to an exchange store near the hotel and we did get a good rate. They also arranged for a Tango show with dinner (pricey but competitively priced) and roundtrip transport. The breakfast included in the price is nice with lots of fresh fruit available, sweet and bread rolls and eggs. The location is fine and the only issue we had is that the entire city seems run down and dirty (not the fault of the hotel, of course).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag33437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel!
We are hoping to welcome you in the near future.

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Huge place, did not spend a lot of time, but it worked as a day room for a quick shower and place to relax. Had different electrical outlets compared to other Buenos Aires hotels so be sure to bring two different adapters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Madame,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel!
We look forward to your next stay,

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first room was very small and badly needed a refurbishment (esp the bath) and a terrible view. We complained as we were with a tour group and were given an upgraded room the second night...still old but larger and in better shape. The public rooms are lovely and very spacious. Tea in the afternoon was served with a couple of small cookies...a nice touch. Breakfast buffet was very good with the exception of the runny scrambled eggs. Did not use the spa on the 23rd floor but it looked wonderful with a great view of the city. Location for shopping was disappointing as the side streets were filled with junk souvenir shops and we were told the area was not very safe.

Room Tip: Some rooms are good...some not so good...complain to get a better one.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, especially the public areas.
We look forward to your next stay in Buenos Aires,

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but stopped by at the coffee bar. The coffee was excellent and came with delicious cookies as part of the price - which was very reasonable. The service was excellent.
The location is perfect for a break from sightseeing along the main boulevard.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel coffee bar!
We look forward to your next stay,

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A hotel in an excellent location with beautiful public areas.

We were in a tour group. It was unfortunate that the whole area was having power outtages when we arrived, so only one lift was working. It therefore took some time before we got to our room, but we were happy with it when we saw it. It was clean, comfortable and attractive.

The power returned some time in the middle of the night, and that's when our problem started - some of the ceiling lights were operated by dimmer switches, and they came on and could not be switched off. (Eventaully we duct-taped beermats over them - don't forget your duct tape when going on holiday!) Very annoying! But this problem was seen to as soon as we reported it in the morning, and was fixed for our second night.

There was a curious lack of information about the hotel in the room - no information folder about breakfast, services, wifi, etc. We phoned down to ask if there should be some information in the room, but were only brought a second copy of a book about shopping in Buenos Aires.

It's a large hotel, and the public areas really are worth exploring. We never tried the pool as we preferred to use our short time in BA to investigate the city.

Breakfast was good, with notably yummy spiced prunes amongst the buffet items. At busy times, it was a little difficult to find a table.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boraxwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Many thanks for let us know your experience at our Hotel, it was a shame the lack of a Directory in your Room. Sorry for the inconveciences with lack of energy that produces a lot of trouble with our guests. It will be great to welcome you during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time stay in this classic hotel. Nice welcome at reception, good explanation of all amenities by the bellboy. Rooms are charming but need a bit of refurbishing. Breakfast is basic but good. Why only a four star rating? I guess you expect just that little extra of a five star hotel...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for comments! We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in your next stay in Buenos Aires.
Best regards,

Hotel Panamericano Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#141 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,289 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#52 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 443 in Buenos Aires
3,352 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires
#82 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,088 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#65 of 443 in Buenos Aires
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Calle Carlos Pellegrini 551 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1009ABK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#50 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $129 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel is situated on 9 de Julio Avenue, just in front of the Obelisk and the Colon Theater, in the downtown area of Argentine's Capital Federal known as "microcentro". Located in towers the Panamericano Hotel offers 314 rooms with unique views of Buenos Aires. With imported Italian furniture, delicate adornments and original paintings, they do of the rooms of the Panamericano Hotel the only place. Check each of the rooms in our web. A world of tranquility, pleasure and beauty located in the 23rd floor of the Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel. It has a wonderful panoramic view of the city, and offers an elegant heated swimming pool, solarium, a highly equipped gym, spinning room, sauna, massages, beauty salon and all kinds of treatments. In short, a state-of-the-art Spa and Health Club. Everything with a view to ensure a personalized attention, both for our guests as well as for customers who are not staying at the hotel. Our idea is to design a package tailored to the requests of every customer, whether they would like to come alone or with a couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Buenos Aires
Panamericano Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing