We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”
Review of Tarquino Restaurante - CLOSED

Tarquino Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Recoleta
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Well Done”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a break from normal steak centered Argentinian food and overall the experience was very good. Service was excellent and friendly and the food very tasteful if not trying to hard. It was overall good and we would give it a try if you are in BA for a few nights and want something different.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    56
    26
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this place carefully after reading wonderful things about it from other reviewers on Trip Advisor, as our choice for our first dinner out together with friends we were meeting in BA, they coming from the U.S., and us from Canada. All four of us ordered the set menu with wine pairings. All four of us were very unimpressed with the food (poor flavors, bad textures --- one of us had a large bone in our entree, which was supposed to be a boneless meat dish, and when we mentioned this, they simply didn't really respond), the service (very lacklustre --- when we politely asked for explanations of our dishes, they gave minimal descriptions, and very reluctantly), and the ambience (very strange decor that simply doesn't work, and a bad 'vibe' --- e.g. although the restaurant was reasonably full of people, it was deathly quiet). It was very expensive for what you got compared to every other restaurant we went to in BA, and we went to some very high-end ones. (We are more than happy to pay higher prices for a better experience.) Over our two weeks in BA we had many great meals, but one of them was most definitely not at Tarquino.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tia-Zac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent, interesting Argentine food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I love this place. The food is interesting and delicious and clever. The place is very chic and the staff are friendly. We have been a few times and this menu was our favourite. Fantastic place for a special occasion. The cold soup was stunning. Brilliant wine list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingworldwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“High quality dining in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We has a very pleasant meal at Tarquino last night. We didn't have the set menu and instead ordered our 3 courses. Our dining experience started with a delightful play on a pizza, a small olive flavoured package was placed on the tongue and exploded whilst consuming a foam of other classic pizza tastes. Truly special.

Unfortunately the rest of the meal wasn't up to this playful high standard. The next 3 courses were all well cooked and seasoned but lacked the finesse of a 3 Mitchellin starred restaurant. The courses weren't completely balanced and it felt like one of more ingredients were lacking in quantity to match the other items in the plate. That said the quantities were huge and the centre pieces of each dish were cooked to perfection (suckling pig was divine)

Only getting 4 stars as everything needs a little work, the waiters didn't remember who had ordered what. The courses weren't perfectly balanced, we had to ask for more water or wine. These are only minor complaints but when paying more than $100 per head, you get a star knocked off


We will return to see if the wrinkles have been ironed out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Foodie Nirvana”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This just might be the best restaurant I've ever dined in. Innovative food, excellent wine list, impeccable service in the heart of Recoleta. The white chocolate infused with black olives at the end of the meal blew me away. We will definitely be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank svh175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarquino Restaurante also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing