We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel Most Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tango Lodge to your Saves list
Tango Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fray Justo Santamaria de Oro 2047, Buenos Aires 1426, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 449 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Hotel Most Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I just returned from 5 weeks in Argentina with more than two weeks at the Tango Lodge. My stay at the Lodge was most wonderful and I am so glad to have discovered this bright and sunny hotel. Most important, the staff is amazing: welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. When I needed advice, on buying Tango shoes, on finding restaurants, and identifying a local tour company for a last minute change in plans the Tango Lodge staff came to my rescue.

My room was spacious, quiet, and crisp. Sitting on the balcony was a treat in the morning, or was it afternoon, when I started my days. I would have made better use of the small kitchen in the room if the food at the hotel wasn't so special. Continental breakfast is included and if you want more it's there and a bargain. The Hotel cook is special and I loved it when I found myself at the Lodge at lunchtime. No need to go anywhere else but downstairs for a yummy meal.

Subte (subway) and buses are close by, cabs are inexpensive and plentiful. BsAs is a very big City but you can get where you need to and be very happy in Palermo Soho & Hollywood.

And did I mention the free Tango classes that are included with your hotel stay? Try it. The dance might just become your healthy addiction. Tango Lodge is a great place to get your introduction to the embrace of Portenos and all the abrazos and besos Buenos Aires has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

By far and away the best place we've stayed in our 10 days from Rio to BA! Big rooms, great decor and very clean.
One thing that made a huge diffence is the staff that run it. Perfect English, great local knowledge and advice. Joy helped us plan our days before we headed out with all the 'must-do's according to the locals! She even gave us all the heads up on all the scams we could get caught up in...total legend!
We took them up on the free tango lessons, which turned into a private lesson for me and my husband! A lot of fun.

This place has only opened in the last few months but they have the organization as if they've done it forever!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sallie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gawci, Propietario at Tango Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks a lot for your nice comments, Sallie. For us it was also a big pleasure to receive you in our hotel. We love what we do.
Hope to receive you again some day in the future.
Kindest regards,
All Tango Lodge staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great location and wonderful staff would make this place a find even without the incredible rooms. Our room was a spacious studio with a tiny kitchen and eating area, and a surprisingly roomy bathroom with a tub. The large balcony was perfect for people watching while drinking our morning tea and coffee.
Cafes, bars, restaurants, and trendy boutiques abound in the area. The staff are knowledgeable and give great advice. It's close to the subway but, unfortunately, they were on strike while we were there. We had no problems walking around the area even late at night.
The free tango lessons were a huge bonus. Our teacher, Laura Rajneri, was excellent.

Room Tip: At the time we were there the tango lessons were every week night except Wednesday. Take advantage i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in August and it was very pleasant. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from Palermo station / plaza de Italia station near shops ATMs etc; and about 5 mins on foot from all the great restaurants around el Salvador and Gorriti streets in Palermo Soho.
The staff were friendly and the hotel felt very safe. Rooms great, very spacious and nice big TVs and bathrooms. They also offer free tango classes on weeknights. Would happily stay again. Only problem was some noise with the elevator near our room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roselewis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we snagged an amazing deal on this hotel ($52/night). our room was spacious with one kind and one twin bed. it also came with a kitchenette and office desk. the wifi is fast and dependable. the staff is very courteous and helpful. great location as well. the only downside is that the hot water pipes creek constantly and can interrupt a good nights sleep.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dangerchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel and Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel and Wine Bar
#1 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Palermo
Own Grand Palermo Soho
Own Grand Palermo Soho
#21 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#3 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Aspen Square
Aspen Square
#54 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#27 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#6 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Lodge

Address: Fray Justo Santamaria de Oro 2047, Buenos Aires 1426, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 449 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tango Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Lodge is the First Real Tango Hotel located in the heart of Palermo Soho. All rooms are one-room apartments with a kitchenette and a private bathroom. The kitchenette is fully equipped with a refrigerator, dishes, a microwave, a toaster and kitchen utensils. It also has a bar with stools where you can eat. The bathroom is complete, with bathtub and shower. All rooms have air conditioning (cold/hot), a desk, a 32''LCD TV, a safe and individual balconies. All rates include daily maid service, sheets and towels, free wi fi connection and free group tango lessons, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Tango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#