We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loara's Hostel
Nearby Hotels
NH Buenos Aires City(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
$368
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
$135
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$689
$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
$328
$220
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$501
$465
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$134
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mine Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
$148
$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
21
13
4
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
13
4
8
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 51 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I booked this hostel very late and was very pleased to find a single room with air conditioning for a reasonable cost in BA. The hostel is in San Telmo and is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Casa Roasada but is well located for San Telmo restaurants and Sunday market. There is a metro station within 5 minutes on line C (direct to the station).

The hostel is in an old property and does not have a lift. But once in the room the facilities made up for this. The beds were comfortable, the lockers were huge and there was also a safe inside the locker with a separate key – very secure. The air-conditioning was great for the warm city nights. There were clean towels every day, soap and shampoo and even a bathrobe! The bathrooms are mainly shared but are new and very clean with two showers, sinks and toilets per floor.

The breakfast was great with croissants, cake, tea, coffee, fruit and even hot toast, courtesy of a toaster. There was also jam, cheese spread and butter.

Book here if you are looking for something more than a hostel but at better rates than hotels.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Audles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I first came across this hostel when a friend stayed there and I called in to visit - even though only visiting, I was offered coffee and breakfast. This, combined with the positive reviews, led me to book a stay there when I returned to Buenos Aires.
I booked what was listed as a "superior single room". Upon my arrival they had no record of my booking even though I'd booked online and had received an email confirmation myself. They said they could fit me in though, and put me in a 4-bed room which was nice, comfortable, clean. The bathrooms are shared here but were also clean with hot showers.
The next morning they asked me to move into the single room I had booked. There is nothing "superior" about this room - to reach the room you have to walk up two floors (no elevator), then go outside, then walk up a spiral staircase which is so narrow I had to climb sideways - impossible with luggage. The room was only slightly wider than a single bed and had no locker/safe storage. The window was next to the pillow, with curtains so long they draped over my head - I had to rearrange the bedding to sleep the other way. I also had to go down the staircase and outside to reach the shared bathrooms.
When I complained to the man on reception about how awful this room was he just said "yes, I know". All of the rooms seem to be the same price here - as I travel alone I booked the single room to be helpful - to not take up space that could otherwise be used by someone else, though I would prefer a double. When I pointed out the rooms being the same price and asked if I could have a double instead I was told no...
Also, the front door is locked which is great for security, but when I returned one evening I had to ring the doorbell several times and wait 15 minutes to be let in.
I'm sure if you book a different room you can have a great stay here, but my experience was awful and I therefore wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't book the single, even if you're travelling alone!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

What a Great Hostel - more like an hotel.
very very clean! very big rooms and very comfortable beds.
the best place we stayed in Argentina.
good location if you're not afraid walking and using the subway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are big and very specious, great Breakfast Ernesto (the owner) very helpful and very very nice. all rooms are same price
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleonDelPlata, Manager at Loara's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Hi Roy, thank you for your words, we -as owners- always really do all we can for our visitors. You´ll be very welcome in our hostel when you come again to Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: una muy buena ubicacion.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews