We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good - could be great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boca by Design Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Boca by Design Suites
Ranked #58 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty Good - could be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I wanted to tick a rating somewhere between Average and Very Good. There is a lot to like about this hotel: its ultra modern design, good gym, large rooms, WiFi included, and friendly, efficient and helpful reception staff. But some things let it down: despite the room size there is no desk or flat surface to use a laptop, there is only one spare power point in the room, the toiletries are basic - no tissues provided, the breakfast is also basic with waiting staff hard to find.
That said I has a pleasant five nights here. I booked with hotels.com and got a bargain I think, with breakfast included. The area is a bit of a way from the tourist spots but still walking distance to most things and cabs are very inexpensive.
The soccer theme is well done even if you are not a fan. I liked the footballer murals on the room doors even though I have no idea who they were. If you get a good price and enjoy walking, it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierrekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    309
    85
    10
    10
See reviews for
163
393
34
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the Boca in August for three nights. It is across from the Hotel Intercontinental, in a not-so touristy area. Room was large, nice bath-spacious. Almost an industrial feel to the hotel. It wasn't the cleanest, quite dusty with woolen blankets on bed. Service was ok, nothing special.

Location is fair. If you like the Boca Juniors, I'm sure you'll like this hotel. For others, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is located a little bit outside of the major tourist area, but you can easily reach nice places by foot. The whole hotel is designed in Boca Juniors style which comes back throughout the hotel. The room was spacy with an excellent bed, slept like a baby.
Getting warm water in the bathroom took 5 minutes before it was warm enough to take a shower. A bit of a waste and not very eco-friendly.
Breakfast in the morning was fine and plentyful. Hotel staff was friendly and offering good advice on restaurants and things to do. Would stay there again if I have the opportunity.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Roderik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Unique decor with all football players painted on the room doors . Friendly accommodative staff. Spacious rooms ! Breakfast was just nominal with replenishing taking too much time.

When we stayed the cold water in the bathrooms stopped and we had to waste too much time and finally had to go to other rooms for shower.

Overall , a good place to stay in spite of all short comings.

Room Tip: Must request for spacious rooms as standard rooms are quite dingy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinda5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was very impressed with the design of this hotel. We stayed in Maradona room and it was gorgeous. It was big and very comfy. I did not try gym and spa but heard some good feedbacks from my friend. Service is good and breakfast is ok (though the selection of food could be bigger). Selection of wines in the downstairs bar is great and they are not expensive as you could have expected. And I personally love the neighbourhood - San Telmo is one of my favs in VUenos Aires. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a Maradona room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corazonlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

i was very impressed with the decor on this hotel. i am not a Boca fan but after a few nights here I could have become one :-). The hotel has everything you need including a very nice gym and Spa which far exceeds most gyms in South America. the rooms are spacious and clean. My only complaint is that there are not desks in the rooms. I guess if you are traveling for pleasure and dont plan on working this is ok, but for me I need a place to work. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Space_Coast_Rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location for the center of the city. Watched the Celtic v Barcelona match and they had English commentary on the tv. Loads of stuff from Boca Juniors on display around the hotel. Would stay here again if I ever go back. The price was very good as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzerellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#55 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel
Scala Hotel
#50 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Montserrat
Eurobuilding Hotel Boutique Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#59 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
San Telmo
CH Madero Urbano Suites
CH Madero Urbano Suites
#31 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Montserrat
Tango de Mayo Hotel
Tango de Mayo Hotel
#24 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boca by Design Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boca by Design Suites

Property: Hotel Boca by Design Suites
Address: Calle Tacuari 243, Buenos Aires C1071AAE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boca by Design Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 700 meters from Plaza de Mayo, Hotel Boca Juniors by Design is the first football-themed hotel in Buenos Aires. It features a full spa, an indoor heated swimming pool, a fitness centre and a Bar, where breakfast, lunch and cocktails are served. WiFi connection is free of charge in the rooms as well as and in all areas of the Hotel. The Hotel has 85 rooms spread over 17 floors. Boasting modern stylish decor, the rooms are characterized by its dimension (from 28 to 50 square meters) and brightness. They feature flat-screen TVs, parquet floors, individual air conditioning and heating, minibar, and huge windows. All of the rooms have private bathrooms with spa baths and amenities. The cutting-edge Spa is located on the first floor and includes an indoor heated swimming pool, dry sauna, wet sauna, Jacuzzi, relaxation room, massage room and a fully equipped gym with the latest generation equipment. A full buffet breakfast is served daily with the best homemade pastries, selection of breads, fruits and cereals. In "La Barra" Bar, guests can enjoy lunch, drinks and cocktails, snacks, sandwiches and a delicious tea service in the afternoon. The Hotel offers room-service until 18 hours. The Hotel is located in San Telmo. Very close to the Obelisco, Corrientes Avenue, the financial district, the trendy Puerto Madero and La Boca with its mythical Caminito. The International Airport (EZE) is 40 km away, whereas the Domestic Airport (AEP) is 8 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Boca by Design Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing