We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding tango show and dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esquina de Carlos Gardel

Esquina de Carlos Gardel
Ranked #182 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Outstanding tango show and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although it is a little bit too long, the tango show following a nice, limited menu dinner, is fabulous, expertly-executed, romantic, amazing in its beauty, speed and fancy footwork with value added drama and expression! The costumes alone make a huge impression and serve as more eye candy. The food is surprisingly good for one who has come to see dinner shows as a show and incidentally, there's a mediocre dinner. The steaks were all that Americans could hope for in Argentina and the surroundings are high class and upscale. As with many tourist spots, you have to get over the fact that there is always a photographer to pose you with the performers and then sell you your photo at the dinner table later. It does go late into the night and there is some nice orchestration and vocals filling in between acts, but there are probably a few too many dance acts - we get it way before the end. These dancers are much more than what we see on Dancing with the Stars... these are the real winners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lsihrofhhisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    111
    30
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Leia antes de comprar no site - read before you buy your tickets using the website”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Primeiramente quero dizer que o show é bem banaca e vale MUITO a pena ir. O jantar eu classifico como razoável, provavelmente a pior carne que comi na Argentina; o pior foi que era notável que havia sido cozida há uns 10 minutos. Mas a razão para minha avaliação ser ruim é por conta política de preço, a qual é totalmente inaceitável.
Eu comprei o ingresso pelo site e paguei Us$ 140 por cabeça + 10% de serviço. Quando chegamos lá nos sentamos ao lado de um casal de brasileiros que pagaram R$ 165 para terem exatamente o mesmo pacote, com a diferença de terem comprado de agentes de turismo que ficam na Florida. Francamente acho um despeito com o consumidor praticar uma política de preço que cobra praticamente o dobro pelo mesmo serviço simplesmente pelo fato de eu ter comprado pelo site. Então fica a dica, NÃO usem o site deles, comprem seus ingressos na Florida! Volto a ressaltar o show vale a pena!

To start Id like to state that the show is well worth going! Dinner is reasonable, probably the worse meat i had in Argentina because it was cooked 10 minutes before served. But the real reason for this rating is their princing policy, which I consider unacceptable. I bought my tickets via their website and paied USD 140 plus 10% on services. When we got there we sitted riht next to another Brazillian couple who paied BRL 165 (roughly USD 70) for exactly the same with a slight difference: they bouht it from tour agents offering the show at Florida street. Franckly, I felt cheated by the fact that I paid twice for the same show just cuz I bought it in advance and used their website. So here is my tip: DONT use the site, instead buy from a tour agent in Florida! Seriously the show is very nice!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flavio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Night of Tango and glamour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This venue was recommended by our accomodation host. It provides a 3 course meal (including wine) and tango show. The scene is black tie in an opulent Art Deco music hall environment - theatrically over the top but great fun. You don't go there for the food - but it is not bad (a typical banquet style cuisine with some choices on the alacarte menu). The dancing is excellent, with several scenes and a good live orchestra. Some live singing tops the night off. We found the photos good fun, but the final result was disappointing and expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Tango Show, Below Average Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the place you go for an elegant night of dinner and a tango show. The venue is like a very elegant dinner theater, including a second story balcony. The tango show was great in that it gave a good background of the history of the tango dance and of Carlos Gardel. The dance acts were a good visual of the different interpretations of tango (elegant, graceful, sensual, and modern). Show was elegant, not gimmicky, beautiful, and enjoyable. You can tell that this show was well choreographed and thoughtfully put together.

Don't expect much for the food - better to stick with the native dishes Argentinians to best (empanadas, steak). Table wine watery but does the job. Wait service was ok - items brought to the table in a timely manner, but I had to flag my waiter a couple times to get my water glass filled.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enigmajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good show but average food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a very good traditional tango show with excellent performers. The food was average and the waiters forgot to serve coffee in or table and still wanted a tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 330epping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquina de Carlos Gardel also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Esquina de Carlos Gardel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing