We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a "bife de chorizo" en Buenos Aires. Fair prices, excellent service.”
Review of La Fonda del Polo

La Fonda del Polo
Ranked #486 of 4,920 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place for a "bife de chorizo" en Buenos Aires. Fair prices, excellent service.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The meat was of an excellent quality at a fair price. The service was fast and courteous. Nice setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeryandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    103
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and ambiance, but somewhat pricey”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

La Fonda is only one of probably a few thousand restaurants in and around Las Cañitas, and you can definitely find better. However our experience was pretty good - nice steaks, done just right (go with "a punto" - even though it varies widely from place to place, it's a reasonable approximation of medium-rare for the most part), and reasonably decent service (don't expect much friendly banter from the mostly over-50 serving staff). Stay with the basics - the "parrilla" meats are nice, and the essential "bife de chorizo" rated a fairly decent 7-on-10 by consensus among 4 of us that tried it. The pancake with dulce de leche is a good dessert to try. Coffee is average. A fairly extensive wine list is on offer too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RollingJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food - ok service”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We went several times to this restaurant and always were served very good food. The only negative point in this restaurant is the service, which (depending on the waiter) is not always top.

Can recommend this restaurant to anybody wanting to enjoy good food in a nice athmosphere.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank defko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Arrived and was seated at an awkward table. When we asked to move, the host looked at us like we had just killed a baby. We sat down and were ignored for 10 minutes. We finally got the waiter--a man looking to be about 50--to give us a menu. Took another 10 minutes to find him again. He brought out stale bread and cheese spread in an airplane like package as the mandatory 11 peso per person couvert. Asked for butter; he said they did not have any.

Appetizer was stuffed mushrooms with ham and cheese with a sauce. Pretty good 3.5/5.
Her dinner was pasta stuffed with ricotta cheese in a meat sauce. It was cold and salty. 1.5/5.

My dinner was the lomo with creamed spinach and sliced and then fried potatoes. Lomo was cooked well, but unfortunately on the same part of the grill as someone else's salmon so it had a fishy taste. Spinach took that on too. Potatoes that were cooked all the way through were good. The glass of house wine was small and kinda terrible. Waiter throughout the interactions would just walk away without responding. He seemed upset about us being there. Not sure why; my Spanish is pretty good and we weren't have communication difficulties. Just one word answers.

There are so many good options in Las canitas. This is not one of them.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calben007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Would not go back”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

It was the bussiest place on Baez that evening , and altough no reviews were available we opted for trying out La Fonda De Polo. All in all it was not bad , but I've had way better meals in the days before in Palermo. I guess you just get what you pay for.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123Barto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda del Polo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Fonda del Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing