We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Argentinian”
Review of Pepito

Pepito
Ranked #1,204 of 4,932 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Nicolas
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Classic Argentinian”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a 2nd year I comeback to this restaurant, they have amazing steaks or classic Argentinian bife de chorizo and bife de lomo.Also the pate they serve you as starter with bread it's very good homemade. The service might be a bit slow and if you don't speak some Spanish might be a bit difficult since all the waiters are old timers. Overall I like this restaurant because of the classic Argentinian dishes which is of course meat. If you are looking something upper scale this is not a place for you also the prices are very reasonable. For a good classic Argentinian dinner or steak this is a place to be.

Helpful?
Thank kizas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    55
    32
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Okay if last resort”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Would look elsewhere, service was poor. As a tourist they ignored us most of the time and the service was mediocre. Concerned about the cleanliness; the bathrooms were filthy and half of the table settings were dirty and we had to ask the waiter for clean glasses and dishes. Food was okay but not for the money..go down the street

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“had a nice late lunch here”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stay at Savoy, 5 mins walk from Pepito. The place next door, I wanted to go, was closed for lunch, so I settled at Pepito. Used Spanish only menu. But I can "navigate" well. Waiter did not speak any English.
Ordered mixed green salad and grilled kidneys and small bottle of Malbec.
All was nicely done, even lettuce was kinda sorted*.
Service was usual for busy weekend lunch: not overwhelming. But I was not in a hurry, so it was not a problem.
For deserts I've got newly discovered dish - lemon sorbet or lemon gelato in campaign.
Yammy.
Flashed with cafe cortado and went to take a nap.

* There is an issue with green salads in BsAs - so you know. Even at very expensive places they DO NOT bother to sort the greens. When you get your salad you have to pick out practically dead leaves. So, if you MUST have lettuce in your salad, be prepared to do some picking/sorting... No, it is not me being unlucky. It's my 3rd visit to BsAs in last 1.5 years and only eat out = good statistics.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vesnaileto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,023 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Poor quality steaks”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I went for dinner Sunday evening. We picked this restaurant as it was close to our hotel, and it was raining heavily. We ordered the Bife Chorizo. The steaks were cooked OK but the quality of the meat was poor - more fat than lean and the potatoes/veg were way overcooked. Desert was nice and the service was OK. Perhaps other items on the menu are good, but there are dozens of restaurants in Buenos Aires that do better steaks than here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good meat!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very good food. I had a bife de chorizo, which the Argentines would consider a tourist dish, but I enjoyed nevertheless. A bit more pricy than some of its neighbours, but definitely worth it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank kristof1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepito also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Pepito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing