We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best night out in BA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Vinilo

Cafe Vinilo
Ranked #170 of 721 things to do in Buenos Aires
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Best night out in BA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We went there for the tango lesson and milonga on a Monday. The place was full, instructors were lovely and funny, the atmosphere relaxed. The show, made of an orchestra of 11 was simply fabulous. Even the food was tasty. What a great find! And so cheap

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Venue-Poor Empanadas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went to this venue tonight to listen to Luciana Jury. There is a small restaurant/bar area out front, with the show venue further in. We thoroughly enjoyed the show and the space itself has a lovely ambiance. I wish there was more than one toilet for women, though. Otherwise, my only advice would be to avoid the empanadas, especially if you appreciate the real deal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely neighbourhood milonga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Definitely recommend Café Vinilo on a Monday night. They hold a beginners' tango class from 8.30pm (ARS $30) which is incredibly friendly. Even if you don't want to do the class, it's best to come early as the tables tend to be taken by the time the band starts playing around 10pm.

They get some of the best tango orchestras in BsAs playing here and every Monday has a different feel. It's a lovely, small, candlelit venue, attracts great dancers (which makes it perfect for tango novices looking for inspiration!) and is a great Monday night out.

The food is very simple (choice of pizza or stew). The drinks are reasonably priced and you contribute rather than pay entrance, so you won't break the bank.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cazaraghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A really nice night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I went here with a friend to watch Quatro Vientes and it was a fantastic performance. The place is lovely as well and has some interesting decor. It was a nice atmosphere while I was there and I would have loved to come back again. Check out what events they have on and pick on you'll enjoy, it's definitely worth checking out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalmaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great music, wines and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I really like that place for its excellent choice of music, great food and wine. I allways enjoyed it to go there. Be sure to make a reservation one day before!

Helpful?
Thank Nancy_Schmelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Vinilo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Cafe Vinilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing