We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean, and affordable!”
Review of Pop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pop Hotel
Ranked #96 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, clean, and affordable!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Pop Hotel for 3 nights and found it to be perfect for my needs. Safe, clean, and comfortable; the room had a sink, mini fridge, and water kettle. Also, a safe and an electrical outlet suitable for American plugs, so I didn't need an adapter, but you just have to wiggle it a bit. It was very hot in Buenos Aires, and the AC in the room was just perfect. Also, the water pressure in the shower is outstanding; however, close the shower curtain before turning the water on, or you will get water all over the bathroom.

The location was great, very close to the outlets (if looking for leather goods I highly recommend Prune bags, only 3 blocks away), and hip Palermo. There is a supermarket next door and a nice cafe at the corner.

Ezequiel and the rest of the staff were really friendly, helpful, and highly professional. Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat_B_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    264
    58
    16
    13
See reviews for
94
291
66
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

It was so refreshing to walk in the lobby and have an English speaking person on reception who was helpful and friendly. Room was very cute and great size. Window looked over street and into apartments across the road. Located right in the outlet shopping area so if you want to buy clothing or shoes you are in the right area. It is a 10 block walk to the restaurant area of Palermo Soho. Free wifi available in your room. A great place to stay. Recommend that you do not eat at Ristretto across the road as awful food and service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

In my life, because I worked in exports , I travelled a lot and stayed also at the finest hotels in different parts of the Americas, Europe and Asia. Never before I felt at home like this time.
Now I am retired and old enough (81). I spent 12 days with my wife in Buenos Aires,for family reasons,at the hearth of the neighborough were I was born, You don't have to pay for 5 stars hotel to feel at home.
. Clean, quiet, family feelings, a bunch of young people running a place were you cannot feel that You are away from home, because they give You a real home with a smile and a good word.
If I have to complaint for something, may be will be the slow elevator, so slow, that a turttle will beat it at any race. But this is a technical problem that may be can be corrected.But from the leisure point of view, and specially for the human staff, they deserve any excellence prize. Miriam and David Manor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davmir2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel simples, mas muito confortável. Não tem café da manhã, porém exitem restaurantes bem próximos a ele que servem um ótimo café, o Almacén Purista, por exemplo. Destaco a cama do quarto onde fiquei, grande e muito confortável, os quartos são amplos. O que não me agradou foi o chuveiro e a cortina de plástico do banheiro e também o fato de só ter uma tomada com adaptador no quarto, o que dificulta a comodidade em certos momentos. Gostei bastante do hotel, mas só um detalhe que vale salientar, ele não é central, então se for andar de táxi vai acabar saindo caro. Se quer um hotel próximo a pontos turísticos vai escolher o hotel errado, mas se quer um próximo aos outlets estará no lugar certo.

The Hotel is simple, but very comfortable. It does not serve breakfast, but there are nice restaurants around that do, Almacén Purista, for example. In the room I stayed I would highlight the bed that is big and very comfortable, the room was quite spacious. What did not please me was the shower and its plastic curtain and also the fact that there was only one plug with the adapter, which can be inconvenient. I really enjoyed my stay there! But there is something that is worth telling: the hotel is not central, so if you take taxis it may be expensive. If you want a hotel near tourist sites, Pop is not the one you should choose. However, if you want one near the outlets, that's the one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I spent three days in this hotel and my experience was NO good
Firtst of all I must tell that it is a three stars hotel according to others that I visited in Buenos Aires
The location is good if you are thinking of staying in this trendy neighbourhood
The price is correct
But when it comes to cleaning I was very dissapointed
The worst thing to me was the towels
There's an advice in the room that tells they don't change towels daily but they never give you the option of using them many times or not
When I asked to the staff if they could change them I was answered in a bad way telling me that they change towels each 3(THREE) days!!
I would like to remark that the weather was so hot that you need a shower at leadt twice a day
Last but not least the principal of the staff told me that if I want a clean one i have to pay for it
So I said ok I will and they sent me half an hour later 2 towels with big holes in both of then
Was it a joke?
For me it was desgusting
I would like to say thanks to Tripadvisor because I always visit it seat when I travel all around the world

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bárbara B, Gerente at Pop Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sara,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, this is very valuable for us, as we believe it is a great opportunity to keep improving every day. I am sorry we did not reach your expectations.
As you mention that we are “a three star hotel according to others”, we never mention that we are anything but that, we always emphasize on being a “Budget” hotel, and our low rates (you can book for 20 USD + tax per person with our special promos) do show that.
I am sorry you were not satisfied with our cleaning service. We do specially emphasize on this service, we will make sure to revise our processes so that this is improved if needed.
Our low cost and environment care policies include among others, that we do not change towels every day, as it is informed in all the rooms. Anyway, we do understand that some guests may want to use more towels that is why we do offer to change them but at an additional cost. I do deeply apologize if you received towels with holes in them, we would have appreciated you telling that in reception the moment it happened as it is not in our standards to provide broken towels to our guests.
Once again, we appreciate your comments and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.
Best regards,

Bárbara Böttcher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

After an awful stay at the Wilton Hotel, I switched my booking to the Pop Hotel based on the reviews I found on here. The hotel did not disappoint! The bed was so comfortable, the room was HUGE (at least twice the size of my studio in San Francisco), I had 3 windows (2 with beautiful views), and I even had a sink, coffee maker, and refrigerator. Even though I was on the second floor by the street, I slept very well, so I am not sure why other people have complained about that. There are also many restaurants and great shopping in the area.

The only downsides were: the WiFi was AWFUL. Luckily, I was on the second floor in a room above a cafe and I got the cafe's WiFi password, so I was able to use theirs. They do not clean or replace your towels, even if you ask, and the cleaning service seemed hit or miss (I left my room at 11am one day and came back at 5pm, with the sign saying "please clean" on my door, but no one had been inside. When they did clean my room, they did not replace all of the toiletries I used). The reviews are all right - it is IMPOSSIBLE to take a shower without making the entire floor wet. Also, the hotel reception, although trying to be helpful, was not very - I wanted to catch a U.S. basketball game, but the receptionist had NO idea where I should go and did not attempt to find out. After the rave reviews about reception, I expected better.

The neighborhood was just decent and not where you should stay if you want to party and don't feel like taking a cab ride, but I would definitely stay here again. Request a room on the corner, if you can! They are much bigger (at least, it seemed that way after looking into other rooms).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZonaCatHoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The employees speak good English and are eager to help you out.
I didn't know the check-in started at 3 p.m. and they looked after my luggage while I was away waiting for the room to be ready.
We could sleep very well and staff didn't disturb us. The room had an eletric kettle from which we could warm water and make some tea or instant coffee. It was nice.

Room Tip: Remember to put the curtains down or the neighbours of the opposite building may look into your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank veroreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#127 of 445 in Buenos Aires
394 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#113 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3,321 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 445 in Buenos Aires
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,416 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#45 of 445 in Buenos Aires
752 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#46 of 445 in Buenos Aires
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Hotel

Property: Pop Hotel
Address: Juan R. de Velasco 793 | Villa Crespo Outlet Zone, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pop Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POP Hotel, the first Budget Boutique Hotel in Buenos Aires. POP Budget Boutique Hotel is a hotel where you can make new friends. It is located in Villa Crespo, the new outlet zone, near the main access to commercial and touristy points. Whether for business or for pleasure, POP satisfies your needs, and gives you the best rates for your stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing