We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a nice hostel”
Review of Pop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pop Hotel
Ranked #97 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Feels like a nice hostel”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pop's rooms are super modern and beautiful and the hotel has a good location near Palermo, where the real action is. One issue is that they don't change towels during your stay. Not a huge deal, but when we travel we walk all over the city all day and then party all night. That often means showering twice a day. Also, the wifi was spotty and the "lounges" they talk about on their website are literally just the hallways in front of the elevator on each floor. Still, we would definitely stay here again because the price was great and it was only four blocks from a subway stop.

Room Tip: There's currently extensive road construction in front of the hotel so request an interior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyntonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    264
    56
    16
    13
See reviews for
94
291
65
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The Pop hotel was the first hotel we stayed in Buenos Aires and it was great. Very clean and comfortable with funky modern decor. We loved the addition of a fridge and kettle. The staff went out of our way to be helpful, even making numerous phonecalls to the airline who lost our luggage and lending us a card for the subway. The location is second to none, within walking distance of the bars/restaurants of Palermo, close to Malabia subway station and with excellent bus links to other parts of the city including La Boca and Recoleta. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry_Anne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After arriving to a really bad place that we booked through Airbnb (reeked of smoke and the bathroom didn't work), we scrambled to try to find a place in our price range. After finding the great reviews here on Trip Advisor, we felt comfortable that we were making a great choice, so we called and asked for availability, confirmed a price and the gentleman on the other side seemed to be busy while we were trying to make our decision and said to call or come by later as there was lots of availability. So this evening when we showed up, a different gentleman at the front desk gave us potentially the worst service we've ever received. He told us that we had called earlier, but hadn't called back, so he refused to help and said there was no one in the hotel that could put an extra bed in the room (even though they had confirmed they could do just that earlier in the day). When I pushed, he called someone and just kept saying he couldn't provide an extra bed even though it was available because everyone had gone for the day and it was our fault. Then he began to berate me and insult my Spanish speaking saying that I had used a word that had offended his colleague. Then I suggested we were so desperate that I'd just sleep on the floor, to which he replied, "Then I'm going to have to charge you an additional fee" ... for me sleeping on the floor? Instead of getting a bed? I don't get it. The truth is that the hotel seems quite nice. It's a shame that they've gone out of their way to ruin our first day in Buenos Aires and make us feel terrible. I am really, truly in disbelief about what has just transpired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MCSTOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bárbara B, Gerente at Pop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear MCSTOL,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We always appreciate comments that help us provide better service every day.
Unfortunately, this time we do not agree with your comments.
We received your phone call in the morning, when we told you our availability and when you mentioned that there were 3 persons in your party, we explained that our rooms were for single or double occupancy, that an extra charge would apply. You said you would call back, but never did.
Late in the evening, you showed up at the hotel without a reservation. We did offer you rooms, but no extra bed was available at that time. We offered the possibility of booking two rooms for that night, and making the arrangements the next day for an extra bed in your room. You said that the third person was going to sleep in the floor, we said it was not possible.
We did give you options to accommodate you and your party, we are sorry that they were not the ones that you wanted.
Regarding the insulting manners that you mention of our receptionist, we totally deny it. Not only we are known for our great and friendly staff, but a great standard of service is the number one rule in all our hotels. And we stick to that rule no matter what.
Once again I am sorry you did not find in Pop Hotel the type of accommodation that you were looking for. But our staff did offer you different options and by no means they were disrespectful to you, even when you threatened that if you were not getting what you wanted you would write an awful review in TripAdvisor.
Best regards,

Bárbara Böttcher
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel met all of our needs. It had a kettle, fridge, hairdryer, tv, room wifi & computer access. The room was spotless, the bed was huge & comfortable. The room overall was spacious & well decorated. The area is brimming with bars, cafes & restaurants & feels very safe. We felt that Pop hotel was value for money. We found the staff suitably helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our four night stay at Pop Hotel in Villa Crespo. Absolutely loved the neighborhood-- it's just off the subway line and within walking distance to trendier neighborhoods, but the immediate area is full of leafy streets with little cafes, restaurants, bakeries, gelaterias, etc. Really fun base to explore from.

The hotel has a youth hostel feel to it, but the rooms are nice: ultra clean, ultra modern. The furniture and furnishings seem like it came from Ikea, but then we paid less for our room here than for two twin beds in a hostel, so I can't complain too much. Really, an incredible value for what it is, and for the neighborhood. Highly recommend the breakfast place across the street.

The staff in the lobby aren't terribly friendly, and that's my only real complaint. They weren't terribly helpful on recommendations for sights, entertainment, or restaurant recommendations, and barely said hello when we were coming and going. Still, this wouldn't stop me from staying here again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cintagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited Pop Hotel for our honeymoon. It was the first hotel we stayed at and turned out to be a much nicer accommodation than a more luxurious hotel we stayed at later in the trip. Villa Crespo is a beautiful neighborhood that is off the well-beaten tourist path. It's an authentic, working class Buenos Aires community that's lively during the day and quiet at night. Many, many great establishments where you'll hear only Spanish and won't see or hear any North Americans or Europeans.

The room is wonderful and very comfortable. Extremely clean rooms. Impeccable room service. Unfortunately, the front desk staff was hit or miss. The front lobby has a youth hostel feel, and the staff are mostly younger neighborhood residents. The reason I'm only giving Pop Hotel three stars is because the Internet was out for three of the four days we were there. We were planning on using the Net to plan our activities, but the staff and hotel seemed genuinely uncaring about the situation and were not helpful, nor did they seem in any hurry to fix the problem. If not for this occurrence, this would have been a five-star stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drizell253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The welcome was warm and the service was excellent. The rooms are clean, nicely designed and quiet – at least mine was. The cafe/coffee shop next door was an unexpected find and the nearby bar, 878, is worth visiting

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#112 of 446 in Buenos Aires
3,303 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#46 of 446 in Buenos Aires
499 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#123 of 446 in Buenos Aires
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#56 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,392 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#58 of 446 in Buenos Aires
894 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#45 of 446 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Hotel

Property: Pop Hotel
Address: Juan R. de Velasco 793 | Villa Crespo Outlet Zone, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pop Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POP Hotel, the first Budget Boutique Hotel in Buenos Aires. POP Budget Boutique Hotel is a hotel where you can make new friends. It is located in Villa Crespo, the new outlet zone, near the main access to commercial and touristy points. Whether for business or for pleasure, POP satisfies your needs, and gives you the best rates for your stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing