We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice on a budget”
Review of Pop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pop Hotel
Ranked #90 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great choice on a budget”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our four night stay at Pop Hotel in Villa Crespo. Absolutely loved the neighborhood-- it's just off the subway line and within walking distance to trendier neighborhoods, but the immediate area is full of leafy streets with little cafes, restaurants, bakeries, gelaterias, etc. Really fun base to explore from.

The hotel has a youth hostel feel to it, but the rooms are nice: ultra clean, ultra modern. The furniture and furnishings seem like it came from Ikea, but then we paid less for our room here than for two twin beds in a hostel, so I can't complain too much. Really, an incredible value for what it is, and for the neighborhood. Highly recommend the breakfast place across the street.

The staff in the lobby aren't terribly friendly, and that's my only real complaint. They weren't terribly helpful on recommendations for sights, entertainment, or restaurant recommendations, and barely said hello when we were coming and going. Still, this wouldn't stop me from staying here again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cintagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    262
    56
    16
    12
See reviews for
94
290
65
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited Pop Hotel for our honeymoon. It was the first hotel we stayed at and turned out to be a much nicer accommodation than a more luxurious hotel we stayed at later in the trip. Villa Crespo is a beautiful neighborhood that is off the well-beaten tourist path. It's an authentic, working class Buenos Aires community that's lively during the day and quiet at night. Many, many great establishments where you'll hear only Spanish and won't see or hear any North Americans or Europeans.

The room is wonderful and very comfortable. Extremely clean rooms. Impeccable room service. Unfortunately, the front desk staff was hit or miss. The front lobby has a youth hostel feel, and the staff are mostly younger neighborhood residents. The reason I'm only giving Pop Hotel three stars is because the Internet was out for three of the four days we were there. We were planning on using the Net to plan our activities, but the staff and hotel seemed genuinely uncaring about the situation and were not helpful, nor did they seem in any hurry to fix the problem. If not for this occurrence, this would have been a five-star stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drizell253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The welcome was warm and the service was excellent. The rooms are clean, nicely designed and quiet – at least mine was. The cafe/coffee shop next door was an unexpected find and the nearby bar, 878, is worth visiting

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
178 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Welcomed by friendly service,and checked in fast.front desk helped me with questions like best place to eat close,can I drink tap water and I got map over baires,excellent service.Room had good space,comfortable bed,tea water heater,aircondition,refrigerator and more.Internet connection was faster close to the exit door to the room,the further inside room the slower,in the bed it was too slow.room windows let in some sounds from outside.Hotel was close to el subte(subway) a easy way to travel in baires.next to hotel was supermarket with all you can need,5 minutes walk a good place to eat,10 minutes to subte.Best:service was great Worst:no toilet brush

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPnr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Before my friends and I arrived in Buenos Aires, I've sent the hotel staffs a few emails about booking us a package to the Iguazu Falls. They've been super helpful with professional advises. I loved them even more when we actually arrived. They also arranged a tango night for us. They suggested the best restaurants in the neigbourhood. The rooms are very modern and unique. The neighbourhood is safe and trendy. I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Buenos Aires!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent 2 nights here to start off my stay in Argentina. This was a great choice to try and get over the jet lag. The room was comfortable, quiet, great a/c and an awesome bed. The staff were very friendly, spoke good English and were very helpful. Pop is great value for money, especially if you're splitting the room cost with another person - it works out to be slightly more expensive than the cost of a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshdub89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is nice and clean, in a small colorful new modern elevator building in a residential neighborhood surrounded by outlet stores. The hotel and location was perfect for me since this was my third trip to BA and I had already stayed downtown before. The room was large with a big double paned window facing the street (#109) with a king size bed, flatscreen tv, desk, alarm with ipod dock, and toiletries. The Pressure btw in the shower is glorious and maybe that's why some of it ends up on the floor but I just put the towel down and that soaked it up. The hotel is about 10 blocks from Palermo, and about 20 mins by subte on the Red Line from Florida Street downtown. It only costs AR 2.50 (50 cents) per ride and you can buy several rides at a time. The stop is Malabia, which puts you on the corner with Corrientes. To get to the hotel you just walk up two blocks up and then over two blocks on Gurruchaga towards Juan Ramirez de Velasco. The hotel is right on the corner. There's a really good restaurant down the street on Gurruchago, Cantina. They open at 9pm and by 9;15 its packed! Wonderful food. But there are many places to eat the closer you get to Palermo and the square walking along Gurruchaga. One other tip, if you are traveling alone, you might as well take the shuttle from the airport run by Mauuel de Tienda bus comapny. The one way cost to downtown BA is AR $75. Once you get to their downtown terminal they switch you to cabs. Altoghether it cost me AR 90 to get to the hotel. They dropped me on the corner of Cordoba and Gurruchaga and I walked the few blocks over to Pop hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here. The reception desk was always friendly and informative. They seemed to go out of their way to answer questions and give suggestions. Who can blame them? At night the area looks desolate and to find food you do have to walk mostly out of the area towards Palermo. In the morning my favorite cafe was called Krok, across the street. They made the best Capuccino and I preferred their croissants. Everywhere you go they have wifi!

Room Tip: I had room 109 which faced Gurruchaga! I liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olofhermelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#114 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3,280 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#57 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,369 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 447 in Buenos Aires
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Aspen Suites Hotel
Aspen Suites Hotel
#98 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,168 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#115 of 447 in Buenos Aires
386 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#46 of 447 in Buenos Aires
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Hotel

Property: Pop Hotel
Address: Juan R. de Velasco 793 | Villa Crespo Outlet Zone, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pop Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POP Hotel, the first Budget Boutique Hotel in Buenos Aires. POP Budget Boutique Hotel is a hotel where you can make new friends. It is located in Villa Crespo, the new outlet zone, near the main access to commercial and touristy points. Whether for business or for pleasure, POP satisfies your needs, and gives you the best rates for your stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing