We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe,clean,friendly service:)”
Review of Pop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pop Hotel
Ranked #101 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Safe,clean,friendly service:)”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Welcomed by friendly service,and checked in fast.front desk helped me with questions like best place to eat close,can I drink tap water and I got map over baires,excellent service.Room had good space,comfortable bed,tea water heater,aircondition,refrigerator and more.Internet connection was faster close to the exit door to the room,the further inside room the slower,in the bed it was too slow.room windows let in some sounds from outside.Hotel was close to el subte(subway) a easy way to travel in baires.next to hotel was supermarket with all you can need,5 minutes walk a good place to eat,10 minutes to subte.Best:service was great Worst:no toilet brush

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPnr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    264
    58
    16
    13
See reviews for
94
291
66
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Before my friends and I arrived in Buenos Aires, I've sent the hotel staffs a few emails about booking us a package to the Iguazu Falls. They've been super helpful with professional advises. I loved them even more when we actually arrived. They also arranged a tango night for us. They suggested the best restaurants in the neigbourhood. The rooms are very modern and unique. The neighbourhood is safe and trendy. I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Buenos Aires!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent 2 nights here to start off my stay in Argentina. This was a great choice to try and get over the jet lag. The room was comfortable, quiet, great a/c and an awesome bed. The staff were very friendly, spoke good English and were very helpful. Pop is great value for money, especially if you're splitting the room cost with another person - it works out to be slightly more expensive than the cost of a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshdub89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is nice and clean, in a small colorful new modern elevator building in a residential neighborhood surrounded by outlet stores. The hotel and location was perfect for me since this was my third trip to BA and I had already stayed downtown before. The room was large with a big double paned window facing the street (#109) with a king size bed, flatscreen tv, desk, alarm with ipod dock, and toiletries. The Pressure btw in the shower is glorious and maybe that's why some of it ends up on the floor but I just put the towel down and that soaked it up. The hotel is about 10 blocks from Palermo, and about 20 mins by subte on the Red Line from Florida Street downtown. It only costs AR 2.50 (50 cents) per ride and you can buy several rides at a time. The stop is Malabia, which puts you on the corner with Corrientes. To get to the hotel you just walk up two blocks up and then over two blocks on Gurruchaga towards Juan Ramirez de Velasco. The hotel is right on the corner. There's a really good restaurant down the street on Gurruchago, Cantina. They open at 9pm and by 9;15 its packed! Wonderful food. But there are many places to eat the closer you get to Palermo and the square walking along Gurruchaga. One other tip, if you are traveling alone, you might as well take the shuttle from the airport run by Mauuel de Tienda bus comapny. The one way cost to downtown BA is AR $75. Once you get to their downtown terminal they switch you to cabs. Altoghether it cost me AR 90 to get to the hotel. They dropped me on the corner of Cordoba and Gurruchaga and I walked the few blocks over to Pop hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here. The reception desk was always friendly and informative. They seemed to go out of their way to answer questions and give suggestions. Who can blame them? At night the area looks desolate and to find food you do have to walk mostly out of the area towards Palermo. In the morning my favorite cafe was called Krok, across the street. They made the best Capuccino and I preferred their croissants. Everywhere you go they have wifi!

Room Tip: I had room 109 which faced Gurruchaga! I liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olofhermelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked here for 2 days in januari and we liked it so much that we booked the last week of our holliday there as well.
Spacious, light, basic and clean room. Friendly and helpfull staff and located in a nice neighbourhood.
When we go back to BA we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 311 was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

not much of a pop theme anywhere. rooms are large and minimalistic/functional. considering the new construction windows and doors are poorly insulated, so noise levels can be high. had trouble with leaky AC dripping water all over the floor. issue was not addressed during the stay.

hotel location is questionable as villa crespo is just a bit too far on at the fringes of BA. subway close by though. no breakfast/restaurant on site but coffee shop in same building with nice bakery nearby. also convenient supermercado and laundry services next door.

in summary, good value for basic settings with no services to speak of.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlausMaus139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Pop hotel. We found the place very clean, quite and modern. No huge bells and whistles, but it has everything you need. Location is pretty good. Close to the metro and a 10-15 minute walk to the key areas of Palermo.
The staff were really helpful in providing tips and recommendations. I also lost my cell phone, and Guillermo (at the front desk) spent so much time trying to help me locate it. I really appreciated how willing he was to go above and beyond to help me - particularly considering my Spanish was lacking and there was no way I could have made all the telephone calls that he did. Although I didn't get my phone back, Guillermo really tried. Thanks anyways Guillermo!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parnkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#124 of 445 in Buenos Aires
393 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#113 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3,318 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 445 in Buenos Aires
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,414 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#44 of 445 in Buenos Aires
751 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#45 of 445 in Buenos Aires
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Hotel

Property: Pop Hotel
Address: Juan R. de Velasco 793 | Villa Crespo Outlet Zone, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pop Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POP Hotel, the first Budget Boutique Hotel in Buenos Aires. POP Budget Boutique Hotel is a hotel where you can make new friends. It is located in Villa Crespo, the new outlet zone, near the main access to commercial and touristy points. Whether for business or for pleasure, POP satisfies your needs, and gives you the best rates for your stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing