We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Microcentro”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rochester M

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochester M
Ranked #128 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good choice in Microcentro”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Rochester has got to be a good choice for the centre of Bs As.
We booked this hotel because it was cheap and because it was central.
But we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation and service.
The breakfast in particular was excellent - a very wide choice of fruit, local meats and cheese, pastries, cakes. A breakfast chef will make omelettes and waffles (eg with dulce de leche) to order at no extra cost.
The Rochester rather confusingly markets itself as both Rochester Classic and Rochester M - with the latter, we think, supposed to be a bit better than the former. Just to add to the confusion, there is another part of the chain nearby called Rochester Concept.
Rochester M and Rochester Classic share a common vestibule - but have two reception desks with different brands. Services, including the breakfast, are shared.
Our large room - we booked Rochester M - had been stylishly renovated in recent years with a clean, minimalist look and a comfortable sofa and table as well as a big bed.
The room's bathroom fittings, however, were older but clean. The shower was a bit clunky.
By European standards this hotel was very good value for money - our room with the breakfast averaged at under £50.
The hotel was busy with a mixed international clientele that included plenty of European and South American holidaymakers. Staff appeared to speak good English.
This is a seriously good location - just a few yards from some of the main eating, shopping and theatre strips of Bs As and very close to transport connections.
But expect noise, bussle, excitement and petty annoyances typical of the centre of a major first world city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    234
    84
    21
    11
See reviews for
94
295
35
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Upon arrival, the staff at reception gave us a splendid welcome. They informed us about meal times gave us other useful information. We were greatly surprised to find that the room was spacious, light and spotless. It was a pleasure to be there! It was perfect and had a marvelous view of city. The breakfast is wonderful. Staying at Rochester M was a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiryF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel itself is very clean and modern. A fantastic location in the heart the Buenos Aires area in a very safe and walkable.
The room was very special with all amenities and space to relax.
The staff are knowledgeable, helpful and speak perfect English.
Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There was a hiccup when I checked in in that they were saying that the breakfast and the wi-fi was not included. As I was doing research on the matter (two days later), they said they made a mistake and that it was free after all. Conclusion, read the fine print. If your travel provider says that these items are included take a printout with you.

Location is the best part of this hotel, the subway is literally across the street. The obelisk is 4 blocks away,

Price was good and the food in the morning was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester M, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ,
We would to thank you for sending us your comments as they do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
Moreover, and in order to offer a better service day after day, we are currently working with a renowned consulting group (E.G.A) specialized in guest satisfaction issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel Cassic is a serious hotel, good service, comfortable beds with sheets and pillows of high quality modern bath and all the amenities you need with cleaning services.
Very comfortable and great location !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose AMB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed 6 days in this hotel on november 2012, it was my worst experience ever. There was mold in my room, the smell was terrible, I got sick for ten days after coming back from this hotel. The lobby is beautiful but it has nothing to do with the rooms, they smell awful, the bathroom is a joke, and to complete, it could be better cleaned everyday. The towel and linens are very old and the rooms are dated, really dated. The location although central, is really bad, there trash all over the streets surrounding the hotel, and it's dangerous at night, really creepy. I do not recommend this hotel for solo traveler or family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester M, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We would to thank you for sending us your comments as they do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
Moreover, and together with our housekeeping manager, we are checking all the issues mentioned about the room you stayed at and that where included in your comments. We will contact you to send you an answer at the earliest possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Rochester M for 4 nights. It is located in Centro, which is convenient for some things (could walk for 5 minutes to Teatro Colon) but not as easy to get to others (Palermo). However, the hotel was very good value and the service was good as long as you could find someone who could understand English (hit or miss). One main problem was that the walls were incredibly thin and we had couples on either side of us screaming at each other very late into the night - and we could hear every single thing, which was not pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kameko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Classic
Rochester Hotel Classic
#104 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,690 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#115 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,370 reviews
San Nicolas
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
#111 of 451 in Buenos Aires
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#66 of 451 in Buenos Aires
665 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#153 of 451 in Buenos Aires
880 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Suites Hotel
Aspen Suites Hotel
#98 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester M

Property: Rochester M
Address: Calle Esmeralda 556, Buenos Aires C1007ABD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester M 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochester Hotel M is situated between the Obelisk, downtown Buenos aires, and the trendy Puerto Madero. Minimalistic in style, the hotel combines modernity and vanguard into an elegant design. Rooms are spacious, with their own climate control, soundproof windows, and king size beds, Led TV with cable, mini-bar, business desk and safe. All rooms have access to high speed internet. The buffet breakfast includes artisan bakery as well as a variety of hot dishes prepared by our on-site Chefs. In addition, the restaurant also serves a diverse selection of Argentine and European cuisine. Furthermore, Rochester M has a fitness center, a bar that serves coffee, snacks, and cocktails as well as a comfortable and stylish sitting area. The hotel provides a 24-hour front desk assistance and room service, as well as tour information, transfers and tours around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rochester M reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing