We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located but not fantastic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Play Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Play Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well-located but not fantastic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The best thing about this hostel is that it is well-located in Palermo, a pretty cool neighbourhood of Buenos Aires. Within 10 minutes is the metro station that can take you to downtown.

The staff are friendly and helpful for the most part. Their blue market exchange rate is not great if you want to pay in US dollars but it's still fairly well priced for the area.

The vibe was pretty cool at times, though the downside of this is that it can get noisy if you're after some rest. The thin walls do not help in this regard.

The rooms are ok. The beds are comfortable enough, though the sheets provided are a bit small. Not many power outlets in the rooms themselves. The lockers suck; they're just wooden boxes that barely accommodate a small bag, and half of the ones in my room had broken locks or doors.

The place looks a little run down, but generally pretty clean. Facilities are ok, though the hot water can take a while to heat up so keep that in mind when showering.

Reasonable wifi speeds but not lightning quick.

Overall, decent value and good location but it's far from amazing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank headlessclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    37
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
5
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed for multiple days with a group in April. The downstairs rooms are ok, but the room I was assigned was right next to the office. The staff has no regard for guests in the sense that they blasted music from the office as loud as possible. all day and all night long. As we had early mornings, we needed to go to bed around 11 pm. Music was pulsating thru the thin walls into our room. We had to get up every night and ask them to turn down the music. The staff seemed surprised each night by our request. The room was serviced once out of 6 days, and on that one day, the staff left the door unlocked. Rather than clean or upgrade the facilities, the staff was more focused on sitting in the office and selecting the next song to play. The breakfast was pastries and cereal and coffee. Bring your own food. The location is great and in walking distance of good shops and restaurants. Overall a bad experience. Feels dirty. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Met great people here, pretty good location that's near good food/bars. Annoying that there aren't plugs in the rooms to charge your electronics. But it forces you into the communal areas to hang out with people.

Pretty clean but I did feel itchy after 2 nights. Breakfast is pretty minimal -- stale pastries, corn flakes, coffee, tea. But there are plenty of great places to go out around the neighborhood instead.

Some of the staff spoke decent English, others spoke almost none.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbmanchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is located amongst the hussle of the trendy Palermo suburb. Boutique, bars and cafes are plenty, which is probably the best thing about this place.

This may differ as with most based on the people who are staying there, however the entire time we were there, people were outside our room talking in the very early hours of the morning, which I found quite rude, and of course the hostel didn't exactly ask them to keep it down/move along.
Showers were a bit annoying, no hooks or anything in there, water all over the floor.
Basic and get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanta1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is very well located and the staff is fine, but the rooms look bad with an exotic smell, the beds arent comfy, it is noisy and unclean and the bathrooms are quite dirty and not comfy. Palermo has many hostels and i do not recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabrielpaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here two times. Would return again. Good and safe part of BSAS, close to metro and all important amenities.
Staff helpful and always nice. Hostel seem to frequented by nice travellers and I always met good people here. Wifi is good, although bit weak signal in some of the rooms when I stayed, but I think they have installed a second router by now, so that should sort the problem out. Kitchen facilities are good and nice sitting patio. Its not the most modern, most fancy, most luxorious of buildings, but the important thing is, it is safe, it has a good vibe and everything WORKS. It is good maintained, and the staff could advise me EXCELLENT hostels in other cities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Eco Pampa Hostel
Eco Pampa Hostel
#47 of 487 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#28 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#17 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
70 30 Hostel
70 30 Hostel
#43 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Beer Garden
Art Factory Beer Garden
#146 of 487 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Play Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Play Hostel

Property: Play Hostel
Address: Calle Guatemala 4636 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1425BUL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 487 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Play Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Play hostel is at the core of palermo soho, the fastest growing area in the city, and the coolest! Our house is a typical 19th-century buenos aires building, popularly known as "casa chorizo". The house was recycled but keeping its historical value, and we have rooms for two, four and six guests with private and shared bathrooms. The breakfast room and living room were specially designed for reading, listening to music, watching videos, and more! There is an open-air colonial patio to enjoy a cool morning, and a totally furnished kitchen to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Play Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing