We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you very much!”

Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in the San Telmo neighbourhood Lucia & Gerry have been teaching Tango since 2005. During your stay it is a, must do, to take some Tango classes or join them as they guide and immerse you in an unforgettable Tango Night Out in it’s birth place Buenos Aires. Tango is now considered an Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO. Do not miss this wonderful opportunity. English and Spanish spoken. Click on the email above to connect directly with them and organize your Tango experience. Best to book in advance to secure your place.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were in Buenos Aires for the first time and, like everybody, we associated the city with TANGO.
I am a ballet teacher, but my husband didn't want ever to take lessons on any kind of dance. I am very grateful to Lucia and Jerry because they were so good teachers and they convinced my husband not to take one, but 3 lessons of tango.
They know and they have the patience to explain you everything, and (very important) they choose the steps very carefully, so when you go from them you know a little dance. Of course that it's not possible in 3 lessons to know tango, but you know enough to dance one song. I think this is marvelous!
They also took us to a real milonga, where we saw the local people dancing and an excellent band - absolutely fantastic!
It was one of the best experiences we had in Buenos Aires!

Thank yafeEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

You are welcome. What pleasure and fun to work with you both. Lovely to see reluctance turn to desire to learn. You picked up a lot in a very short time. Well done. Glad you enjoyed the Milonga show. and thanks for the invite to setup in your studio, you never know one day we may turn up...;-)
Best Regards Gerry and Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 397 of 502 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

My finace, Alex, and I were traveling to Buenos Aires for vacation and he suggested we take some tango lessons. We are getting married in June and thought, what a great dance to lead into after our traditional "first dance".

In advance, Alex contacted Gerry and Lucia to schedule two private 1.5 hour classes with a group class in between. Alex and I already had chosen the song, so when scheduling the classes, we also indicated we wanted to dance to the song in "Scent of a Woman" : Por una cabeza (Carlos Gardel / Alfredo Le Pera). Gerry and Lucia in advance of our lessons thought about the dance and what moves we could learn in a short period and be able to replicate.

Gerry and Lucia were always very quick to respond and the scheduling was one of the easiest that we experienced in Buenos Aires. We felt that the prices were reasonable, especially when you consider the individual attention you are receiving. The group class is extremely affordable and a great chance to dance with other tourists and locals alike. At first we were both a little nervous that we would not be advanced enough to participate in the group class as we had only had one lesson prior. However, the other students were of varying levels and beginners were welcome.

In by no means are we now experts, but the tutelage from Jerry and Lucia was top notch. It was great because not only did I work with my finace on learning the moves, but since both Gerry and Lucia taught us, we were able to also work 1:1 with the experts. We purposely had the same song repeat so that we could really feel comfortable with the music and a few specific dance moves.

Not only were Gerry and Lucia great teachers but at the end of our last session, they videoed them and us doing our dance with our song. Throughout all of the private classes they took photos of us. Now we will have pictures of our memories! We plan to practice with the video so that we don't forget our steps.

The only slight negative that I have is that while we were in Buenos Aires during their summer (December 26-Jan. 2nd), it was extremely hot. Since it was also vacation (new year), where Gerry and Lucia normally teach was closed and we practiced in an old house in San Telmo with no air conditioning. They did bring a fan, which was very helpful, and provided cold water. Like many houses we saw, the studio was in a house that at one time was owned by someone very wealthy. The moulding on the outside and in was absolutely beautiful, coupled with gorgeous the marble staircase. Unfortunately, it is now a hostel so besides the room where we practiced, it was in need of some tender loving care (TLC). Looking back though, being in this environment gave me a true view into the lives of argentineans and if anything, the heat was something we all overcame.

Besides learning how to tango, Gerry and Lucia invited us see Argentineans dance the Marengo at a local bar/ club. The night started off with an incredible 11 piece orchestra with 4 accordionists! Honestly, it was one of the best musical performances I have seen. Gerry and Lucia had reserved 2 large tables for their students and friends. While the musicians played, people danced on the floor in the center of the room. The club was packed so luckily we grabbed two big beers before we stat down. We sat at the table for about an hour and we were both completely mesmerized by the skill of the people on the floor.

We have Gerry and Lucia to thank for such a memorable experience and it was definitely one of the best things we did on the trip!! We hope to see you next time we are back in Buenos Aires.

Thank AhnaBm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your beautiful review. When possible we all ways try to accommodate to class time requests and changes made during your stay in Buenos Aires. Everything should run as smooth as possible. All adds up to a fun and enjoyable tango experience. The heat this year was much more than usual. We re also delighted you enjoyed your visit with us to the milonga with a live orchestra. It was a great night out. Congratulations on your engagement we are really looking forward to seeing a video of your wedding tango.
Gerry and Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lucia and Gerry will tailor the class to you. They asked us what we wanted via email and when we got there, tailored it to our needs. We are klutzes, but still managed to learn a few moves in one hour. They spent time dancing with each of us individually as well so we could see what it felt like to really dance tango. Recommended!

Thank karends77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments, As mentioned in several responses earlier we adjust to each individuals level as this is key to you making progress in a short time and getting your tango off to a good start. Thanks for your recommendation.
Gerry and Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

While staying in Buenos Aires I had been trying to find a good Tango teacher. Luckily through word of mouth I managed to find Lucia and Gerry's class. From day one I felt at ease, at home and welcomed into their Tango world. Lucia and Gerry are very enthusiastic and patient, they give you a lot of attention, they really want you to succeed. I wasn't just looking to learn a set of steps, but really learn how to dance Tango. There approach is based on learning how to feel the music, dance naturally, and relax in order to improvise effortlessly, as opposed to just learning a set of routine steps. They are teaching you the essence of Tango, to be free and enjoy the dance.They both have a lot of experience and passion for Tango and are well immersed in the Bs As Tango scene. After some classes Gerry and Lucia took us to authentic Milongas where you can practice. It doesn't matter what level you are, they will help you improve. If you want to really learn Tango in an encouraging and warm environment I cannot recommend Lucia and Gerry's classes enough.

Thank roisin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for you comments. You have stated how we teach the tango very well. Clearly you understood our communication. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and at the milongas (where everybody meets to dance tango) as well.
Thanks again for you recommendation.
Gerry and Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you're staying in Buenos Aires I highly recommend you take some Tango lessons from Gerry and Lucia. They have nearly 2 decades of teaching experience, they are immersed in the BA Tango culture and they both happen to be two of the sweetest people you'll ever meet.

They offer both group lessons and one-on-one lessons. I recommend you do both. Their approach is very much based around how Tango is danced at the Milongas as opposed to how Tango is danced at Tango shows. Their focus is based around feeling the music as opposed to counting and robotically repeating steps.

If you're new to the dance (as I was) they begin very basic and get you moving very simply. A big part of the dance is the relationship and collaboration between the two partners; one is a Lead and one is a Follow. Almost immediately they'll get you focused on your part in that relationship and how it's meant to feel. Both of them teach and advise on both the leading and following parts which is great because of their different perspectives. You'll definitely receive a lot of attention from them.

I can't recommend their lessons enough. Even if you don't have any intention to continue on with the dance afterwards, it's worth it. It's all about moving to the music and that's how Gerry and Lucia and approach their teaching. Plus since they're immersed in the Tango community they can keep you up to date on the various Milongas happen in the city. They had the chance to go to two Milongas during our stay. It is such a great opportunity to see the beautiful dynamics of this amazing dance.

I highly highly recommend Lucia and Gerry.

Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thanks for such a fantastic review. We enjoyed working with you and it was great to show you the customs at the milongas as well.We see tango as a dance danced by a couple moving as one. Sometimes the language used can seem at odds with this, words like lead and follow, but with practice the connection and collaboration becomes clearer and allows a unified movement from the partnership. Thank you again for the recommendation. Best of luck not that you need it with your Tango.
Gerry and Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing