We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff, good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scala Hotel
Ranked #50 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here twice on a recent trip to Buenos Aires and my overall impression is a good one. However, I am not quite sure why they gave me a room with disabled facilities on the first occasion. Given that I'm not disabled and never instructed staff that I was, I can only assume that the seat in the shower was there so that one can sit, head in hands, pondering the previous night's booze-fuelled behaviour and hoping that the water will wash away one's embarrassment. Indeed, this was a minor inconvenience but it did mean the room was smaller (due to the bathroom being understandably enlarged) than I was expecting.

During my second stay, which unfortunately, was only for one night, the room was much bigger. That said, the key card controlling the electricity decided to stop working at about 1am and at this hour, I decided against calling reception for an electrician to come and fix things. This did mean that I showered in near darkness the next morning though.

All in all, I thought the location was great. It's a relatively short walk to most of the major surrounding attractions such as the Obelisk, San Telmo markets, Plaza Dorrego and Puerto Madero. Casa Rosada and Congress are a little further but still within walking distance. Even if you don't like walking that much, taxis hardly cost the earth in Buenos Aires and I presume (didn't use it) the underground is pretty easy to use. Stations are very near to the hotel anyway. Staff were friendly and all spoke great English so no problems there but the internet, as some have already pointed out, is a little unreliable in rooms.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel - it's clean, modern and not overly large. The breakfast is pretty impressive and when improvements like the swimming pool are complete, it'll be an even better choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foggyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us the details and feedback from your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you found the hotel to be enjoyable and our staff to be friendly! Many of our guests find the location of the hotel convenient and we are glad that you could agree. On the other hand, we apologize that some areas of your stay fell short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve and provide the best possible experience to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    332
    60
    10
    13
See reviews for
157
400
39
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is quite modern and it does look like the photos on the website. The location is ok - not quite as central as we had hoped. You're not in the middle of things as soon as you step outside the hotel and when we arrived on Saturday afternoon, we couldn't find ANYWHERE open in the back streets around the hotel. Odd, and a little disconcerting, as it was around 3pm on Saturday. It's about an 8 block walk to San Telmo market area. The room was great - bigger than expected and the bathroom was particularly big. The only downside was that the in-room internet sucked. We were rarely able to get a connection. So be advised - even though it says free in-room internet, the chances of getting a connection are minimal. If you do get one, it disconnects pretty quickly so we had to go down to the lobby to get a reliable connection. The hotel itself, as in the facilities, were fine but the staff, in particular Front Desk, didn't seem particularly helpful. They weren't rude - but just didn't seem to understand the basics of hospitality. Also, very few of them speak English. It's not that I travel the world expecting everyone to speak my language, but it seems unusual that in a hotel of this caliber, in a major capital city, the guest-facing staff don't speak English. So communication was a problem.

Room Tip: Other reviewers have said they had good internet speed, so maybe we were just unlucky. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Scala Hotel Buenos Aires for your stay. We do appreciate your comments regarding the facilities as well as our service, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We truly hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future! Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Located 8 blocks from San Telmo Sunday market. Everybody at the hotel is very helpful (front desk staff, bellboys, waitresses). At lobby you can ask for tourist information and there is a gentleman who will help you to make an easy stay and enjoyable visit. If you would like to purchase some leather stuff he is the right help. The breakfast buffet is really good. Rooms have a lot of space and very nice done. They have a spacious parking lot in the basement with convenient valet parking service. It worth the value per night, specially if you pay cash (exchange almost 10 to $1 in the street) instead of credit card.

Room Tip: I liked more the rooms with a backyard view (to internal terrace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Ronald,
Thank you for choosing the Scala Hotel Buenos Aires and sharing your feedback about your experience. We are glad to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy all aspects of our service.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit! Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Scala is a very nice and roomy hotel in Buenos Aires. Matias and Victor as well as the entire front desk staff were very helpful arranging a remis to and from the airport. The wifi in my room was very good and the rooms are quite large. The breakfast was abundant though heavily tilted to pastries and carb filled foods. There were three or more types of juice, coffee, tea, cereal, eggs, several types of ham. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner at very attractive prices due to the exchange rate. Monica in housekeeping was also very helpful when I needed it. The location is close to two Subte stops but not the best part of town. However, it was safe, taxis are cheap, and I never had problems walking around the hotel even late at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HermosaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Scala Hotel Buenos Aires and posting your feedback about your experience. We are glad to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy all aspects of our service.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Is a great hotel. Staying here for 4 days and have nothing to complain about. The room is clean, the neighborhood is ok. They a have free wi fi with a good speed. It worth the cost! Didn't tried the restaurant. It is very near Puerto Madero, where you'll have great moments!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your important feedback and for your preference. We are pleased to read that you have had a good stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Buenos Aires. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Scala, it was suitably located, courteous and ready to help staff and the hotel was affordably priced. I also loved the fact that the hotel was easily accessible by road, bus transport and subway. It is also close to the EZE international airport. close to tourists sites, I catch a view of the Obelisco from my room window, the university sits just opposite my room, porteo Madero is closeby and the San Telmo market is just behind. Florida street is also not far off. i spent weeks here and it was worth it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayode Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Scala Hotel for your stay at Buenos Aires! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our infrastructure and service. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I've spent 10 days in Buenos Aires for businees reasons and my agent book this hotel for me considering it well located for me.
It was. Very close to mrt station, walking distance from business city and at the same same time quite well located for local attraction expecially if you are willing to take a taxi.
Common areas and room are simple but clean.
Restaturant does not offer big choises but anyway hotel consierge can suggest you any kind of restaurant nearby located.
Overall good money for value.
Gymnasium was under rennovation at my time and this actually was my biggest dissapoint... Anyway, not a big trouble, hope now it's well renewed.
Surounding looks ok, you are not in the core of the movida of course... But it can be manage if you are there for business.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know our hotel fulfilled your expectations, and we do hope you come back in the future not only for work but for vacations as well! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#48 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#51 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#55 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#79 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Montserrat
Tango de Mayo Hotel
Tango de Mayo Hotel
#27 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#43 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scala Hotel

Property: Scala Hotel
Address: Bernardo de Irigoyen 740 | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires C1072AAP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scala Hotel Buenos Aires Facing the beautiful Avenida 9 de Julio, be surprised by a new urban icon, neoclassical, to accompany the famous avenue, which connects the north and south of the City. A majestic building that adorns the neighborhood, comes with the purpose of providing its guests an unforgettable experience. Imposing from its entry and lobby for its exquisite style that combines elegance with advanced technology. Because of its strategic location, Bernardo de Irigoyen 740th, San Telmo neighbourhood, known internationally as the birthplace of tango. Buenos Aires Scala Hotel allows easy access to the historic, cultural, financial, and gastronomic part of city. It has 143 spacious rooms and suites designed for comfort. Multiple rooms connected and adaptable to the needs of any type of meeting, product launches and conferences. Social and corporate events. International Bar and a Restaurant of Mediterranean cuisine that will amaze any exquisite taste. Fitness and business center. A swimming pool & Spa will be soon available. Warmth and experience of out staff provide the resources and solutions to the most diverse customer requirements. It makes Scala Hotel Buenos Aires an irresistible proposition in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing