We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Buenos Aires
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
If you want to know about Gaucho life go on this trip!

This was a fantastic day out well organised from the start via email with Guillermo, punctual... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
April H
A wonderful day at the Estancia El Ombu de Areco with Camino Pampa

We chose Camino Pampa because of the many positive reviews. And they did not disappoint. The small... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Irena2000
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Read all 516 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Buenos Aires
from $104.98
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $28.50
More Info
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
484
28
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
484
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juan manuel horseback ride gaucho culture day trip horse whisperer asado chocolate shop estancia tour empanadas el ombu working estancia town tour gaucho experience horse drawn carriage guide laura traditional dancing beautiful estancia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 516 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2019

We were looking for an easy, fun day trip from Buenos Aires and that is exactly what we found and so much more!

Transportation was so easy, Carlos picked us up directly from our hotel and dropped us off there at the end of the day. After a scenic drive through the countryside we arrived at the sweet town of San Antiono, which has remained untouched by the tourism of the area. Manuel, our hilarious and insightful guide, met us in the town and filled our head with the history and culture of the area. We visited a chocolate shop, silversmith workshop and gallery, and beautiful church. It was such an educational morning!

We then took the short drive to the enstancia and breathed in the fresh air and sunshine. it was GLORIOUS!! We were immediately met with empanadas and wine, which we enjoyed on the beautiful terrace. Then we took a horse ride around the property (my finace had never ridden a horse before and they made him feel very comfortable and it was an easy yet fun ride!). We rode past baby lambs, sheep, and had the adorable shepard dog following along with us! We really enjoyed getting to know the Gauchos on a personal level thanks to Manuel's relationships with them. Manuel lives in the area and had so many fun stories to share about the gauchos and town. After a DELICIOUS barbecue we had so much fun dancing with the Gauchos and watching the horse show.

We were so sad to leave at the end, but were so thankful for this authentic experience. We left with beautiful memories and feeling like we were totally immersed in the gaucho lifestyle. Thank you all for the BEST day of our trip!!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

We had a wonderful day out, the farm is pleasant and relaxing, Laura was a lovely tour guide, Carlos an excellent driver. We were even allowed some extra gallops since we knew how to ride horses.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank BirgitM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

If you are in Buenos Aires, and interested in taking a day trip to the Argentinian countryside to learn about the history of the Argentinian gaucho, this is the company to book your tour with. Guillermo did a wonderful job of explaining the details of the trip, and communicated well with me about the arrangements, up to the moment of departure. Our driver, Carlos, was excellent. He spoke good English, and was very informative about the area (although he didn't want to tell us too much on the way to our destination, for fear of spoiling the information our guide was going to share with us). He was a good driver, friendly, and concerned about our needs. Our guide, Manuel, was fantastic! It seems he has lived multiple lives, with all of the travel and adventure he has experienced. Although he has traveled far, his home has always stayed near to his heart. He is extremely knowledgeable about the history of this area, and enjoys sharing it with others. He knows everyone in the town of San Antonio de Areco, and took the time to introduce us to many of them. We toured the town, learned about its history, and met some of the local business owners. If you are searching for beautiful hand-made Argentinian products, this is the place. The silversmiths, in particular, do beautiful work. By the way, we were never pressured to buy anything. After our visit to San Antonio de Areco, we visited El Ombu, a great estancia, nearby. We walked the grounds, went on a trail ride with one of the gauchos (you can also take a horse-drawn carriage, if you prefer), had a wonderful lunch (and yes, they can accommodate vegetarians. I had the most delicious vegetable empanadas there), and were treated to singing and a dance performance by the gauchos and some of the women staff. We were also treated to dance lessons. It was a lot of fun. In addition, we watched a "horse whisper" demonstration, by one of the young gauchos. It was educational, fun, enjoyable and relaxing. Thank you, Camino Pampa, for an unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank kellyttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

Excellent, excellent, first-class excursion!!! Guillermo was very responsive from the very first contact about the tour. On our tour he was professional, enthusiastic, fun, and very knowledgeable. I can not imagine a more passionate guide for our day. José, our driver, was prompt (early) in picking us up and shared interesting descriptions of, and information about, sites we saw on our drive to San Antonio de Areco. Of the many tours we did in Buenos Aires, this one was by far the best!!!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank lkltvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Literally cannot say enough about this tour. We wanted to get out of the city after a week in BA and Rio but did not want to waste a day piled in a bus with 20 of our not-so-best-friends. This was first class from the pick up and ride out to the estancia through to drop off at our San Telmo hotel. Juan was a great driver and fantastic talker about all things BA and Argentina, from politics to history to the price of fuel! Carlos was a talker, but in a good way. He didn't talk so much about himself as he did tell stories and bring you in to his experiences to share those with you in a way old friends tell you what they have been up to while you were apart. It blended perfectly with the downtown history and the estancia environment, the gaucho lifestyle and the way the family is running the operation both to share the history and breathe life into what could easily be missed if you stayed in BA the whole trip. Getting out to the country, seeing the house and out buildings, having a meal while just talking and enjoying the company, going for the horseback ride to see how amazingly beautiful the areas is and cap it off with the way the gaucho and horse interact like best friends...probably the highlight of everything we experienced in Argentina! Cannot say "DO THIS" enough after how friendly, informative, and what a different experience it was from the city. LOVED the experience from pick up to drop off. Hats off!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews