We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Buenos Aires
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
If you want to know about Gaucho life go on this trip!

This was a fantastic day out well organised from the start via email with Guillermo, punctual... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
April H
A wonderful day at the Estancia El Ombu de Areco with Camino Pampa

We chose Camino Pampa because of the many positive reviews. And they did not disappoint. The small... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Irena2000
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Read all 516 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Buenos Aires
from $104.98
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $28.50
More Info
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
484
28
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
484
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juan manuel horseback ride gaucho culture day trip horse whisperer asado chocolate shop estancia tour empanadas el ombu working estancia town tour gaucho experience horse drawn carriage guide laura traditional dancing beautiful estancia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 516 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

This is a first class company providing a very fun and interesting day. it started by being picked up at our Palermo area hotel by the friendly and professional driver, Carlos. His English was perfect and he was very informative as we drove for 1 1/2 hours through the countryside to San Antonio de Areco. There we met our guide Juan Manual who not only showed us around the town but also entertained us with his lively stories about gauchos and his worldly adventures. A day with him is worth the cost of admission. We drove to the Camino Pampa where we had delicious empanadas before our carriage ride. We sat down to an asado BBQ and sampled a never ending variety of meats. The service was friendly and the food was delicious. Entertainment consisted of singing, dancing, and a short show of gaucho skills. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend this escape from the city.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank wallyworld2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

I booked this tour with Camino Pampa at the last minute because of a friend's suggestion, and it was amazing. From the very first contact, Guillermo was responsive. Carlos picked me up on time for an incredible day. San Antonio de Areco is a lovely town made better by the stories Juan tells. Estancia Ombu was magical. Perhaps, too, they served the best food of my month long trip. I highly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

Wow what an excellent day. Pick up from hotel was prompt and then a pleasant 1.5 hour drive with Cesar our super friendly driver. We met Manuel in San Antonio who gave a really informative tour of the quaint town and a visit to a silver smith. A short drive to Camino Pamper where we had a look around the estancia buildings then a nice easy stroll on the horses then a FANTASTIC lunch with wine! The food was excellent and soooo much meat of all different cuts. The salads were amazing and pleasant service.
After lunch a great traditional dance show then a horse show both were really interesting.
Highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Culleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

My husband and I were in two minds about booking this tour as it is a little more than we would normally spend on a day tour (around £130 pp). We decided to go ahead as we didn’t want to regret not doing it and we were so glad we did. The tour was amazing from start to finish. The communication before the tour was great with Guillermo emailing us to ensure we had all the information we needed and Andreas the driver messaging us to let us know the time he would pick us up. We were quite lucky as although we booked a semi private tour we were the only 2 on the tour so it was like our own private experience (this is likely due to off season as it was a little cold but fine for us). Our guide was so lovely and informative. The tour of the town was nice and just the right length. We stopped for coffee and pastries beforehand. The farm we went to was so lovely, peaceful and filled with lots of cats and dogs, as animal lovers this was perfect for us! The horse ride was great and lasted about 45 mins-1 hour which was the perfect length for us. The barbecue was honestly some of the best food if not the best on our 3 months travelling. So much meat with potatoes, salad and bread which was all delicious. There are also empanadas and wine which is a lovely touch and dessert was great too! The day was finished with a traditional dance show that we joined in with (well tried but was great fun) and a horse whispering demonstration. Everything was prompt and everyone we met was so lovely and friendly. Would 100% recommend this tour to anyone. We will never forget the day we had, it made our time in Buenos Aires even more memorable.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019 via mobile

Great service, and very enthusiastic guide that told us lots of stories about the area.

Transfers were easy from central Buenos Aires. San Antonio de areco is a small town similar to many in south america, but cleaner. Stunning silversmith work.

El ombu was relaxed and friendly with a cosy fireplace and nice little restaurant. It was very wet and cold but sunny when we went. Expect an enormous meat feast, and ask specifically for pink bleeding meat of you want it medium rare. Gauchos only eat beef grey.

The horse mini trek around some paddocks was comfortable and relaxed. Ask the gauchos to show you how to hold the reins, it isn’t english style riding.

The “horse whisperer” demonstration was very sweet, the gauchos are obviously very kind to the horses.

A special thank you to the staff for their trust and help when I left my bag in the restaurant, I needed my passport for a flight the same night, and they went out of the way to get it to me before we started driving back to Buenos Aires.

This trip felt authentic and relaxed, nit like a tourist show.

We traveled in June at low tourist season

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews