We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camino pampas day trip”
Review of Camino Pampa

Camino Pampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Estancia and San Antonio de Areco Town Full day tour: This is an unique way of enjoying and experiencing the cultural legacy of the Gauchos, and Argentina's old traditions in San Antonio de Areco: "Historical Town" and "Cradle of Gaucho's Traditions". Includes round trip from Buenos Aires, bilingual local tour guide, asado barbecue, horseback or carriage riding, folkloric music, demonstration of gauchos' skills on horseback. Learn about the origins of our Criollo Horse, how we grill our beef and the ceremony of the mate. Performed by Areco's experienced locals, tours are based on visitors being in contact with neighbors, artists and gauchos.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“camino pampas day trip”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was such a great experience to get out of the hustle bustle of Buenos Aires and see the countryside. Guillermo picked us up at our apartment, on time and in a nice clean van with a good driver, which we appreciated. We had another couple join us and it was a great ride to the countryside with Guillermo giving us insight into the country. He was the first person we met who spoke good English which allowed us to ask a lot of questions. We got to the town and enjoyed the tour of a couple of restaurants and church. In the silversmith shops we were able to learn a bit about their trade and see some beautiful silver pieces. The town was quiet so it was good to tie the visit in with the estancia. Onto the estancia, which was wonderful with a large front porch where we had lunch. Lunch was good with the empanadas being the best we had all trip. You had time to either ride a horse, have a carriage ride or swim before lunch. Guillermo had a wonderful sense of humor and really did a great job in making sure we were taken care of.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwrs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caminopampa, Propietario at Camino Pampa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear mwrs2010,

We love questions… make us think about us more frequently, so thanks for your questions and for your great review!!!

It is nice to meet people interested in our history and people, and someone that can appreciate it…
Really thanks for taking some time in writing and sharing your experience with us…

Best wishes from San Antonio de Areco…and
Keep walking the world!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    23
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A wonderful day away from the city”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I, both long time residents of Buenos Aires wanted to show visiting friends a bit of the countryside and the pampas. Another well recommended place could not accommodate us on the date we wanted, and put us in contact with Camino Pampa. We were not disappoinnted. The driver picked us up at our apartment on time, and took the five of us to San Antonio de Areco. We were given a personalized tour of this historic town, and then taken to the ranchwhere we were met by the gauchos who took us on horseback around the estancia. The horses were saddled and ready for us. After our ride we had an asado lunch where the gauchos played the guitar and sang. We were the only day visitors this day, the rest of the guests were staying overnight at the estancia. It would be a nice place to spend the whole weekend. After a few hours of relaxation on the ranch we were driven in a minivan back to our apartment. There was a discount for paying in cash. All in all, a great experience for everyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caminopampa, Propietario at Camino Pampa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Captainmcd,

We, the people at Camino Pampa, feel really thankful about your nice review.
Thanks for joining us, for giving us the opportunity to show our people and culture, and for taking the time to write a great review!!!

Thanks for appreciating and sharing what you experience here…

Best wishes to you and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would Do This Again In A Heartbeat!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

On my last day in Buenos Aires, I decided rather than sit around a hotel or airport killing time, it would be nice to see an estancia. After doing some research, I decided to take my Mom and spend the day at Camino Pampa. What a perfect way to end what had been nothing short of a perfect trip, which was a cruise around Cape Horn! Guillermo had a driver come to pick us up for the drive to San Antonio de Areco, which was slightly over an hour outside of Buenos AIres. Guillermo met us and gave a walking tour of this charming little town, full of gaucho history. In addition, there was an unusually large Irish population that had emigrated there, so in that respect, it was like being back in the states. He took us to the church, a silversmith, a jeweler, and the equivalent of a local "pub". Without question, it was one of the most atmospheric little towns, with the most engaging people, we had ever seen.
Afterwards, he took us to the estancia where we were treated to an asado, a barbecue lunch that consisted of beef, sausage, chicken, salad and all kinds of great food, accompanied by beverages, including great Argentine wines. We spent time with one of the gauchos, Jose Antonio, and all but adopted him! Afterwards, there was a demonstration of how the gauchos train the horses, work with and interact with them. They have a way of communicating with them that I've never seen before, almost like "horse whisperers". The horses have a very gentle nature, and they are such that Jose was able to get one to lay down and have some of the guests, myself included, lay down on the horse like one with one's pet dog. It was quite an experience!
For anyone going to Buenos Aires, if you have the time, the city is one of the most incredible on the planet, but you will need a break from it for a day, and this is the perfect opportunity to take advantage of that. Go to Camino Pampa and see how beautiful this wonderful country really is.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avatordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caminopampa, Propietario at Camino Pampa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Avatordon

I am greatly surprised about your review!!!
It is a perfect gift for what we do here, to me, to the people in town, the artisans, the gauchos… everybody here should tell you thanks…
We just pretend to tell you about us… and you give us a lot in compensation.
Hope you can return to Argentina soon!

Best wishes from Areco…and
Keep walking the world!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reviews are true - Excellent tour!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a wonderful way to learn about gaucho culture so close to Buenos Aires! Guillermo was very responsive to all of our questions via email and exceeded our expectations in every category. He made sure to let us know who was picking us up, what time they would arrive and confirmed our trip the day before.
We met Guillermo in San Antonio and he took us on a tour of the town. He is clearly very knowledgeable about San Antonio, but also about about Argentinian history overall. We visited several shops in the city, but never felt pressure to buy anything. Later in the day, we went to the ranch -- the highlight of the trip. Upon our arrival, we were served delicious empanadas and our choice of beverage. We had a choice to ride a horse, ride a carriage, or just sit and relax. The ranch is absolutely gorgeous. We decided to ride the horses, which was a lot of fun. The horses were well-trained under the gauchos watch. After horse riding through the ranch, we had a delicious lunch with several cuts of meat, veggies, dessert, coffee, and wine.
We highly recommend this tour with Guillermo. He is truly passionate about sharing gaucho culture and his knowledge and enthusiasm made this day very memorable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caminopampa, Propietario at Camino Pampa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear John F

Thanks for your very detailed and flattering review!
We enjoy the chance that you give us of showing you all about our people, culture and our lifestyle.
And as long as you came very far from home, we just want to make your time here, worth every minute.

It was a pleasure to have you here and
Keep walking the world!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A memorable day in the country in Argentina”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of our brief visit to Argentina. Raúl and Laura gave us great insights into the culture of this country and we enjoyed visiting the beautiful town of San Antonio de Areco and the visit to the Estancia was wonderful. Everybody made sure we were well looked after and we were treated as guests and not just tourists. The meal was delicious and the opportunity to learn a bit about gaucho culture was very special. We will plan to stay longer in this beautiful place on a future visit to Argentia.

The booking arrangements worked perfectly and the communication and email confirmations were very helpful. We were happy to do this as a small and personal tour with very comfortable transport.

All the positive reviews are well deserved.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caminopampa, Propietario at Camino Pampa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear ShelleyMatt,

Your review is a truly gift for us… Thanks!!!
You had made a long trip from your country in order to visit us…and we really appreciate it , so we treat you like special guests…
And of course… we expect you here again! and

Keep walking the world!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino Pampa also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Camino Pampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing