We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, loved it!”
Review of Mio Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mio Buenos Aires
Ranked #17 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent, loved it!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Amazing boutique hotel, really cool design and loved the wooden bath. Fizz on tap, nice bar with top cocktails and probably the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Breakfast was good, service friendly and efficient. Really good location, Recoleta Cemetry (where "Evita" is buried) two minutes walk away, if you want a really old style classic bar for a nice Kir Royale or proper afternoon tea try the Alvear Palace bar two streets down (very James Bond), a bit further on is Sotto Voce, a very nice and quite classy Italian with the best Pasta (full of Portenos)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    149
    37
    16
    7
See reviews for
86
381
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of the best and most unique hotels we had the pleasure of staying at for a week.
The check in was easy, the room was ready and the airport transfer arranged by the hotel was one of the best, he even waited for us with chocolates, water and that days newspaper..WOW!

The hotel is beautiful, small, quaint, but has many unique features. The rooms was very large, extremely clean and quiet. The amazing wood tub was definitely the highlight of the room. There is also a sparkling wine dispenser in the room, with good quality sparking wine (they had to turn it on since it was not working, but the request was taken care of very fast). The balcony faced the so called courtyard of the hotel, overlooking other apartment buildings in BA covered in lush vegetation, so while there was no amazing view, it was quiet and quaint. WIFI worked great, we received water and a local newspaper in english every day, and sometimes chocolates.

The breakfast is pretty good, not the best we ever had, but had a good selection of meats, cheeses, pastries and fruits as well as eggs made any way you like.

We ate at the hote'ls restaurant two nights, and it was delicious. Our compliments to the chef(s) for both the delicious food and the great presentation.

The spa, which includes the pool/jacuzzi and the steam room is great. The water in the pool is not too hot, nor too cold, it is the perfect temperature, the facility is clean, and quiet, and it has cardio machines and yoga equipment to use free.

The service is extremely good, with all the staff being very friendly, always smiling and doing the very best to accommodate any requests you may have.

The area is very safe, close to many attractions, to a great weekend artisans market and the taxis are so inexpensive in BA, that I have to say I would only stay in Recoleta. After visiting the whole city, I must agree, Palermo has more unique shops, more amazing eateries and more life, but if you want to stay in a central more quiet part of town Recoleta is the best area.

Now, a few things which can be improved by the hotel, which as you can see did not take away from my 5 star rating, but which can bother some people, especially if they don't do their research and know these things BEFORE getting there.

1) The late checkout policy was NOT very clear at all, and while they said at checkin that normal checkout is at 12:00, that it possible to check out at 2:00PM at no charge, with even later checkout available for a fee if available. We said we would like the 2:00 PM checkout and it was noted in file when we arrived. Now on the day we left, we happened to be in the lobby around 12:30 PM and we were told that we were past out checkout of 12:00, and that nobody confirmed with us that we can checkout at 2:00PM, and that it was not available that day....so we had to hurry, finish packing fast and leave....

2) There is absolutely no clothing iron or ironing board in the entire hotel! And I mean, not just in our room, but even if you call reception to get one sent, they do NOT have one, and it takes roughly 24 hours to get your clothes send to be cleaned and iron, and it is EXPENSIVE! So be aware of that, iron your clothes before you leave on vacation and place then nicely in your suite case and you should be fine

3) The spa - the pool jets as well as the steam room were off most days (since there was nobody using the facility when we got there), and there is no option unlike most other places to turn on the jets and the steam room yourself, so you have to use the telephone provided to call reception to send someone to turn them on. they are very fast, so no worries there, but it is a little bit of a hassle. Also, the steam room has a little bit of an odor I did not like, they should invest in a eucalyptus oil addition to it, so that it smells good inside instead of stale.

Just remember these are minor things, and should not detract you from staying at the MIO! It is a great hotel, and when we return to BA we will stay here again

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrobeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Mio Buenos Aires is a real boutique hotel - one of the more modern ones that can be seen in Buenos Aires - the Catena Zapata group has done a wonderful job in maintaining that exclusive touch.
Check-in and porters were fantastic - there was hardly any delays and progress was very smooth. The room was wonderful - stayed on the topmost floor that has 2 balcony's with a never-ending supply of the house "espumante" fit in like a tap. The bed is heavenly and sleeping in the quiet Recoleta neighbourhood is very easy.
Wonderful breakfast - something that hotels in Buenos Aires tend to play down - but here its a very sumptous affair with a chef around to present several freshly made eggs and pancakes. Even though its a buffet, the presentation is impeccable.
One weak spot in a perfect stay was the housekeeping services - overall they wre good but there was a slight lack of attention to details such as timely replacement of fresh towels and water.
Definitely worth a return (the spa looks lovely, did not have the time to try it) !!

Helpful?
Thank kranokm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
around the world
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Small boutique hotel with friendly staff; we were happy to stay at the terrace 902 which is a spacious room with outdoor jacuzzi. Some details need to be looked after but overall it was a good experience. Probably, you can't avoid the local staff to recommend their "friends" places to tourists... and i guess that's the same everywhere around the world. So... if you book your cab back to the airport, just request the price previously and it should be no surprise.

Room Tip: terrace 902
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_the_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed last weekend at this hotel and licked the detour and helpfulness of the staff. The location was also good however being ripped off by the owners friend who owns the leather and clothes shop after being recommended to them my the hotel staff. Between agreeing the price and paying the price went up by 20%. When we discovered this after walking just outside and returning we were given a story that they had to pay currency conversion charges which in retrospect is complete rubbish. I paid with. Debit card and m bank charge me to convert this in to the local currency I purchased in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koatsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in a junior suite and the room was excellent. It was large, with a comfortable bed and plenty of seating and a great bath.

However, good as the room was the overall experience at the hotel did not match up to a five star experience or five star prices. A couple of examples:

1) there are sparkling wine dispensers in the rooms. Ours was empty when we arrived so we asked for it to be refilled. They said they had no more Ieft but sent a couple of small bottles up instead which was good. However, the dispenser never got refilled during our stay! When we asked again, they said that it would be changed right away but then took an hour to come. At that point my wife was in the bath and so asked them to come back in 10 mins but they never returned.

2) the concierge service is carried out by reception who were very friendly but perhaps lacking experience. It appears that they messed up the booking of a tango show meaning we arrived late and got the worst seats. In addition, whilst recommending a good restaurant they were unable to get a reservation and failed to mention that you can usually get a table just turning up there (which is what we eventually did).

3) the pool is a waste of space. Neither a swimming pool, or jacuzzi and very shallow - it looks good but that is all. Also no towels in the pool area.

In general I felt that his hotel tried hard, but that despite the great roomit did not work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Mio Buenos Aires. We had a wonderful
experience especially since we had just left a horrible experience at the Hilton Buenos Aires.
The service was impressive. If a request or need was made it was dealt with immediately.
The bed was very comfortable and I wish I had it at my house. The room was "different"
but in a good way. There was a beautiful hand carved bathtub in the center of the "bath room area". Look online for pictures.
The one draw back was that the bathroom was in the bedroom area. There wasn't much privacy which was okay for us but wouldn't be if traveling with a friend.
I would recommend this hotel. It was in Recoleta and we felt safe when we walked down the streets unlike our experience in Puerto Madero.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kare-Kare3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#16 of 445 in Buenos Aires
739 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,815 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mio Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mio Buenos Aires

Property: Mio Buenos Aires
Address: Avenida Pte Manuel Quintana 465, Buenos Aires C1129ABA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#13 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#33 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mio Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mio Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mio Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing