We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Um--- could someone get the door?”
Review of Defensa 821

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Defensa 821
Ranked #99 of 259 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is the worst b&b/hotel experience ever easily. I made my reservation online (venere.com) and there was no asking about what time I would arrive or anything. I got to the place at 7:30pm (no sign or anything on the little door) and waited for several minutes after knocking on the door and buzzing the bell until someone staying there randomly came out and said the owners weren't there but that they would maybe come back. We called the only phone on the website and reservation and left a message. We checked back between a meal several times and finally at 11:30pm gave up and left to a hotel we stayed at before which luckily had space.

I emailed them making sure I wouldn't get charged anything (which I wasn't) and their response was that venere.com should had told me that their B&B was full, that it was venere's fault for not refreshing their availability calendar, etc. The owners may be very nice but if this is the case they should drop venere.com before they lose more business and get more reviews like this. What a waste of my researching efforts, my time that evening, my money taking taxis and ruining my evening. I'd hate for this to happen to anyone else out there... steer clear of this one. Cuidado

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank jordypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

The location of the B&B is quite nice, with the San Telmo market right outside your door. It is not a quiet location in the evening, but I don't think there is much in Buenos Aires that really qualifies as "quiet." We found the hosts to be quite helpful, arranging an early checkout and taxi to the airport for us. One suggestion for future guests, if you have any dietary concerns, be sure to advice ahead of time. I forgot to do this, so breakfast was quite bread heavy, hard for my gluten intolerant husband. The hosts would have happily arranged for a more suitable breakfast if I had arrange ahead of time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Home San Telmo ist one of the best Hotels/B&B we ever stayed at. It´s located brilliantly right where the San Telmo Fair is. Marcela and Jose and are very helpful hosts that never leave a question not answered. One thing, if you want a quiet nights sleep you should choose one of the other rooms (we had the one with the fair view). Or go to the chemist and get ear plugs. The room we stayed in was huge and had a balcony.

Room Tip: Room with fair view was really big and has a balcony. It was a bit loud though when sleeping with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blum75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed in this Guest House boutique for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The B&B is fantastically located.

Breakfast was lovely and the location in San Telmo was excellent to walk to good restaurants and bars. You are also close to the Subway which is useful for the main city.

I definitely recommend Home as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed with Juan and Marcela for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. The B&B is fantastically located. On Sundays the start of the San Telmo markets are almost outside the front door. Everything was perfectly clean in the B&B. The rooms are excellent, clean and very quiet, the bathrooms are top quality. The breakfast is really good. I can't imagine staying in a better place in San Telmo.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elamanzasalvaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in October 2011 during a trip to the amazing country "Argentina". The B&B was really nice. Great rooms, really nice roof too with tables and chairs. The breakfasts were delicious and exactly that we want. Every morning, crossaint, cheese and jam.

San Telmo is lovely, the location is really really good! Desnivel "The Parrilla" perfect too!!

Thank you so much to Juan and Marcela, they are make our staying more comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a 3-night stay and then a 2-night stay during our 2-wk Argentina trip. Marcela and Juan Jose are absolutely great hosts and made us feel like home.

We were early for our checkin so we left our luggage and head to the cafe that Marcela recommended. By the time we went back, our suitcases were in our top floor room already! I got great advice from another TA posting regarding the top floor room. We enjoyed the quick access to the roof top terrace and the daily stair climbing is worth it. We left our door opened sometime to get a nice draft. We got great suggestion from Juan Jose on many things - attractions, tango show, neighbourhood restaurants, traffic to/from airport etc.

If you are staying over the weekend, you will be in the middle of the Sunday market that stretches from Plaza de Mayo to Plaza Dorrego. Perfect spot to make a mid way pit stop to drop off your shopping.

The couple is kinda enough to let us store our suitcases while we head to Patagonia. When we returned, our stuff was already moved back to our top floor room.

Marcela and Juan Jose are a lovely warm couple who will share their stories with you.

We will definitely visit Argentina again in the future. Home San Telmo will be my first choice at BA!

Room Tip: The top floor room has an inside facing window. Not the best view but may be less noise from the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#166 of 441 in Buenos Aires
201 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#49 of 441 in Buenos Aires
1,510 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#48 of 441 in Buenos Aires
3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 474 in Buenos Aires
735 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
San Nicolas
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#319 of 441 in Buenos Aires
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Defensa 821? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defensa 821

Address: Calle Defensa 821, Buenos Aires C1065AAO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $53 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Defensa 821 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home San Telmo, bed & breakfast and guest house in the real Soho of Buenos Aires. Contemporary amenities combined with the intimacy and tranquility of small property in the hearth of San Telmo is the first and only of its kind in Goa. We have four rooms with elegant private bathroom. All rooms with modern style. Home San Telmo is ideally located within one of the most traditional neighborhoods, which give Buenos Aires its indisputable flair. Here you can enjoy the wonderful colonial architecture, lavish history and unique art, which make San Telmo so culturally rich. Wake your spirit up and embark on a grand journey with the HOME to discovery the tradition of art, music, history and literature intertwined with style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Defensa 821 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing