We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IQ Callao by Temporary Apartments
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Apartment hotel in a very good location, in a very safe neighborhood. Rooms are very nice with new furniture. The apartments have a kitchen equipped with pots and basic items. Everything is well-maintained and tastefully decorated. Interesting rooms with balconies overlooking the very nice garden with exhibitions and sculptures. Modest breakfast at a nearby cafe (coffee and croissants) but pleasant - you can feel the real atmosphere of Buenos Aires. Recommendable hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andree28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for IQ Callao by Temporary Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Located in an upscale part of the city. Apartment studio was modern and spacious enough for a couple. Air condition could not go below 23c, fridge was a bit small, and Internet wifi slow, but otherwise it was fine. Roof top outdoor swimming pool area was nice, but quite a few dead insects floats on the water. Open 24hr with building guard.

Nice to know about Argentina for visitors: It feels more European than American, even sales tax is 21% and everybody drives tiny European cars. Cost level is high, much cheaper to visit Spain or the USA. Beef is good, but otherwise the food is mostly bland. If you like driving, speed limits appears not to be enforced outside the cities (for Chile however, this is strictly enforced). GPS works and toll roads are everywhere, but if you want to avoid dirt roads visit ruta0 website for planning! No problem driving in Buenos Aires or elsewhere, but drivers have an "active" style - not slow/polite American style. First man to a stop sign is not necessarily the first to cross the road. If you want mobile Internet, don't buy Movistar SIM card - it's mostly not working.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janoleolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for a month in a privately owned apartment in this complex. The location was super close to everything yet on a quiet street. The building was well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The building is very new. Lots of small Recoleta cafes and restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Our apartment faced the street and was not that noisy but those facing the courtyard might be quiete...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Due to flight cancellations my wife and I could only stay here one night. In that little time we were pleased. The apartments are in a good location less than 10 minutes walk from recoleta cemetery and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. The room it self was a good size, with comfortable bed, kitchette, dining area and a balcony. There is free wifi and a small breakfast from the cafe next door. The staff were friendly although didn't go out of their way to help. Although the apartments were nice there were some signs of wear and tear: the kitchen cupboards were loose, as was some paneling. The sink on the bathroom was pretty much blocked. That aside, pretty good.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamDRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed at the IQ Callao over and over again. Location is great - next door is Pacheco, an excellent comfort food restaurant with typical Recoleta families/couples. Also few blocks from La Querencia, an unpretentious restaurant that serves regional dishes such as locro. Breakfast is served downtown, at Santos Sabores Café. Nice staff and, again, many local customers. Pacheco de Melo is a quiet street, so if you cannot stand noisy hotels, that is a good choice. IQ Callao feels the weight of time though: some apartments now need to be refreshed to compete with new, similar chains. There's a chronic issue with the telephones: they never work and the reception people always say they will be activated the following week (I heard it a year ago and I heard it last week). Still a good choice, with spacious, quiet apartments (no city views here).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

These apartments are in a good location about 5 minutes walk from the Recoleta Cemetery and 10/15 minutes walk from the Callao subway station. A No.17 bus from the city centre will drop you almost across the street on Avenida Callao, or a tax will cost about £5

The apartment we occupied was on the 9th floor. There are 2 lifts which are quick and don't take long to come. The apartment was modern, clean and well maintained, with AC/heating. We didn't use any of the utensils etc, but there appeared to be a comprehensive range.

The bathroom was a good size with a bath, shower and bidet. There was always plenty hot water, and towels were replaced regularly

If you are on a B&B rate, breakfast is served in the cafe next door. The cafe itself is very nice, if a little small. Breakfast consists of a small glass of orange juice, two small croissants with butter and jam, tea or coffee. We tried to swap the croissants for toast after a couple of days, but were told that we would have to pay for the toast, which we did, but didn't get the croissants!

The reception is only open from 08.00 until 18.00 so if you arrive to check in outwith these hours you would have to hunt down the security guard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great location, nice design, great idea - it was so nice to have a studio not just a room.
The room was excellent but it could have been cleaner. The day spa on the roof was not working. Would be good if they had a porter/receptionist full time - our key didn't work one night so we had to get a security guard to give us a master key which isn't very secure, eg how did he know we hadn't just wandered in off the street? Also we had to go to the airport two hours early as we had nowhere to leave our luggage after 5pm when reception closed. Great value for money for us but we got the hotel nearly half price in a special offer. If these little things were ironed out I'd whole-heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
#278 of 443 in Buenos Aires
111 reviews
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#166 of 443 in Buenos Aires
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
#87 of 443 in Buenos Aires
707 reviews
Recoleta
Casa Bevant
Casa Bevant
#34 of 465 in Buenos Aires
23 reviews
Recoleta
Concord Callao Hotel by Temporary Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IQ Callao by Temporary Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IQ Callao by Temporary Apartments

Address: Pacheco de Melo 1859 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 465 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $51 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IQ Callao by Temporary Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your IQ Callao by Temporary Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing