We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alex is wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Altournatives

Altournatives
Ranked #129 of 272 Tours in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private guided tours in Buenos Aires. Alternative tours to visit Buenos Aires and Argentina from a different and native point of view
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alex is wonderful!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of having Alex (Alejandro Creus) as our guide in March 2012. Alex showed us around the city and was both professional and curtious. Upon meeting Alex he gave us many options to chose from during the eight hours we were going to spend together. We toured Buenos Aires, went for a lovely lunch did more touring and then called it a day.
If anyone is in the market for a wonderful tour guide while in Buenos Aires then look no further then Alex at Altournatives Travel and Adventure.

Cheryl
Toronto, Canada

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Guide and Experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Communication with Alejandro of Altournatives, from booking to arrival in Buenos Aires was a n extremely pleasant experience. We had a day to spend in the city, arriving on a Cruise, early in the morning, with my wife flying back home in the late evening, with me continuing on the cruise.

This required a bit of logistical planning as our departures were at different times from different locations. My wife had several more hours to spend in the City, and therefore Alejandro was gong to take her to San Telmo on the way to the airport. This unfortunately did not pan out as traffic was very heavy and the trip from Downtown to the International airport took over two hours. Something to be mindful of.

Not only did Alejandro take us to the normal tourist attractions, but also took us to areas that are off the normal tour bus agenda, they most people with limited time to not get to see. His command of English, Argentine Politics, and knowledge of the City are exemplary.

The tour was well planned and informative, and his knowledge of the port formalities saved us a lot of frustration, given that my wife and I had to exit from different locations. We were forewarned of this by Alejandro by email, even though the cruise desk on board ship, were not aware of this recent requirement.

This private tour was worth every penny as it gave us the flexibility to make on the spot changes, based on many factors beyond out control, such as traffic, etc. Certainly worth the small extra one pays over organised ship board, overpriced tours.

Alejandro also took us to a restaurant frequented by locals and not crowded with busloads of tourists, we we enjoyed wonderful Argentinian steaks, which were among the best we have tasted on our extensive travels.

An excellent guide and experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank montfleurToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buenos Aires complete”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I am a travel agent from Los Angeles who recently returned from a South America vacation.
We had 24 hours to visit Buenos Aires, prior to our cruise departure.
We were so lucky to have hired Alejandro with Altournatives.
He is a very knowledgeable guide, and we managed to cover so much of the city within the 8 hour we had. His English was perfect and it was very clear how much he enjoyed his work.
He showed us spots and places that not every visitor gets to see. He is kind and polite and try to make our experience memorable, which indeed it was.
I would definitely recommend his services to my clients when ever they visit the city. I know they will be in good hands the way I was.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sarahtvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I recently visited BA from South Africa and arranged a day in the country side with Altournatives. Everything was prearranged and Alex was there to pick us up from our hotel as agreed. His knowledge and enthusiasm for his country made our day with him one of the highlights of our trip. The trip he planned for us was all and more than we expected and you cannot go wrong booking an outing with him.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank elliott_leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Intense and well done tour”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We took the full day Buenos Aires tour. It was 9 hours long and was packed with lots of interesting visit. The guide was very knowledgeable, patient and was always willing to go the extra mile.

If you want a private tour with no strings attached this is definitely a really good choice.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank peflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altournatives also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Altournatives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing