We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Carbon

Al Carbon
Ranked #55 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Retiro
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First rate restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Recently visited the restaurant but had to return within the few days in Buenos Aires because it was so good!!!! Food excellent and the staff superb, especially Frederico who was great. Lovely restaurant and it is well recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brenda162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    266
    52
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, COLOMBIA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We'll be coming back !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food,the wines and the service were excellent!It is not a tourist restaurant;you will mainly find local business people and several of their international business friends.
We have been going to this restaurant for at least 15 years, I would say at least once during everyone of our visits to Buenos Aires.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dtheumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good meat and attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went at Al Carbon twice and both times got an excellent service in a very nice and elegant ambience.
The waiter was very friendly and helped us with our choices of food and wine.
The restaurant wasn't busy and got our food served very fast.
Our meat was very good, tender and cooked exactly as ordered (jugosa for me, al punto for her).
Serves are (as almost everywhere in BA) huge and the meat could easily serve 2, especially if you have a starter and a side dish.
The price is a little bit higher than other places but far away from Porto Madero prices, so a good value especially for the whole experience. I would therefore recommend it without hesitation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allyeartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good, but I forgot how big Argentine portions are”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were staying nearby, and decided to try Al Carbon mainly on the basis that it was well- regarded by Tripadvisor members, a short walk and opened early by Argentine standards (having spent the previous night on a trans-Atlantic flight). Although it was suggested that it was necessary to book, we had no problem in getting a table for 4 at short notice (possibly affected by the early hour).

The appearance from the outside was not favourable, as there was a lot of rubbish in the street across the road, but there was a friendly reception when we arrived, and we found the food to be very good although the steaks were just too big for most of us. Unless you have a big appetite, it is probably a good idea to ask for a half-portion, or to share - that way you have a better chance of managing a dessert as well, which we miserably failed to do.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Modern Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Al Carbon on Reconquista Street.has a modern look with lots of wooden accents. The tables have unique metal supports, and the large wooden wine rack adds to the look of an upscale restaurant. There is also a second floor level balcony section. The menu has many choices of meats. We stayed with the chicken entrees. I had the chicken breast with Gruyere cheese mushrooms and scalloped potatoes. It was fantastic. My wife had the chicken pan fried with vegetables Chinese style. She also really enjoyed her meal. The breads before the meal were great with the flavored butter. The service was friendly and prompt but they had difficulty with English. We were there at night and felt very secure. It is a busy street with many people walking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Carbon also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Al Carbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing