We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun party hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun party hostel”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Milhouse for a week in a private room. This meant that i was removed from most of the party noise. The room was excellent - cleaned daily with fresh towels every day and a safe deposit box at no extra charge. I loved having an en suite!

The staff were friendly, knowledgable and good fun. The hostel does trips most days during the day and parties most nights sonits a great way to meet peolple. I did the south bike tour and thought it was excellent.

All in all a fab stay but i would suggest askig for a room towards the back and on a high level if you can

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    284
    68
    21
    35
See reviews for
25
88
262
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A very cool place to stay.Lots of friendly staff, great location.
Not so good if your a bit older like me,but thats just the generation gap.
all in all great place.
I got a private room but it was 2 single beds pushed together very uncomfortable.
so not so happy about that.

Room Tip: Dont exspect free aircon it cost an extra 20 paceos a night between 11am and 11pm. And get a room u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razorpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

From the staff and the fantastic lockers to the huge beds and the ridiculous parties, Milhouse hostel is everything you could ever want in a party hostel. It is a bit pricey, but it's worth it for the convenience, fun and luxury compared to other hostels. Amazing location and the BEST people! Big shout out to Nachito, Mono, Pau and Mel!

Room Tip: Dorms are amazing, I personally prefer the 8 beds because the bathroom is guaranteed en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Milhouse for 2 nights.
This was my third time in B.Aires buy my first time in Milhouse hostel.
And i just wanted to stay for a night to transfer to go to Iguazu at first. But i extended to stay longer :)

I prefer to stay in a dorm room but at this time, i stayed in private room cuz i was somewhat sick.
And the room was AWSOME!!
The interior of my room was like fancy boutique hotel :)
And the bed and toilet was extremely clean. Also, the bar and atmosphere of the hostel was also perfect.
For me, Loki hostel chain in Peru was always my best before i arrived this hostel. But now i would say Milhouse is better than loki or Argentino version of loki (but more clean and less horny lol )

If u find a nice hostel, i strongly recommend u to stay here!
I dunno abt dorm room but the private room was Perfect. Nothing to complain.

Thx for my good memory in B.Aires

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ahreum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Madryn, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Really big hostel, great atmosphere in the evenings and the staff are great for organising nights out in the city! Pau Siciliano was a great help for us, really friendly and helpful!! If you can afford definitely get a private room, they are excellent!

Room Tip: Private rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beit nehemya
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Globaly milhouse is a great place, a lot of people at the lobby all the time, cheap drinks and food and a great team. I wanna recommend paula she is a really good worker which made our vacation much nicer!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solnik11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Never trust a hostel that sells FAKE MONEY to guests!
I came from Brazil and changed all my money at the hostel. Some time later, I tryied to pay a taxi and I realized the 100 "pesos" the hostel had sold me wasnt original. (the taxi driver didn't change, me and 3 friends were watching)

The manager said (laughing) they could't do anything becouse i didn't see it at the time.

moreover,
very disgusting dirty dishes at the kitchen,
bed bugs,
people talking loud at the halls by 5am

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melina S, Manager at Milhouse Hostel Avenue, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome criticism and reviews of our guests as we believe they help us improve more and more every time. However, this time we firmly do not accept your accusation that we gave you fake money nor that the manager in charge laughed at you when you complaint about it. We repeatedly tried to explain to you that it is, unfortunately, a very common practice by taxi drivers in Buenos Aires to very swiftly change a good bill for a bad bill and tell people that the bill "they gave him" is fake. Taxi drivers do this all the time. We would NEVER EVER give a guest of ours a fake bill. This is definetely not the way we run business and let alone our philosophy of how to treat customes. So once again, we firmly reject your accusation and assure you, as we explained to you already here, that we did not give you any fake money and that most likely the same taxi driver who told you it was fake changed it himself. You can ask plenty of people who came to Argentina and, unfortunately, they will confirm taxi drivers do this.
As for the other angry comments you make, you know, with your hand in your heart, that there were no bedbugs at all (you stayed in a very pretty private room in fact) and that you are only saying this because you are angry.
However, I´m sorry if you did find some dirty dishes in the kitchen. We try all our guests wash the dishes after they cook, but we know that not everyone does it We do have a housekeeper looking after the kitchen but it is possible that you saw them before her. Sorry about this.
Kind Regards,
Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,416 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#120 of 445 in Buenos Aires
872 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#46 of 445 in Buenos Aires
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#45 of 445 in Buenos Aires
752 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#117 of 445 in Buenos Aires
2,388 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#4 of 461 in Buenos Aires
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Avenue

Property: Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Address: Avenida de Mayo 1245, Buenos Aires C1085ABC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 461 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular hostel is housed in a beautifully restored 1905 mansion and located on one of the most important avenues in the city - Avenida de Mayo. It features modern facilities and luxurious rooms, all with private bathrooms. This hostel resembles a boutique hotel, the real difference being the price tag! Inside there are different areas to suit all needs and preferences - you can relax on the roof terrace with a refreshing cocktail or simply chill out on one of the many sofas and watch TV, read a book or use the internet. It also boasts a large bar area which is perfect for meeting fellow travellers, watching various sports events, playing pool, using the book exchange or having a bite to eat from our tasty food menu. But the true asset of Milhouse Hostel Avenue is the friendly, well informed and energetic team working here. Typical Porteños, they are passionate about helping you discover Buenos Aires ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing