We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milhouse experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Milhouse was everything they said it would be....great service...legendary parties.......top of the line facilities and just a very well organised hostel..... Definitely appeals to the party goer but there are heaps of chill out zones as well.......Could recommend this to almost anyone that likes to party!!!! & or someone who is travelling alone and needs some help with what things they can do because the staff there organise alot of events so you wont be bored......Good luck and have fun!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponedogmillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 919 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Best hostel I have stayed in across South America. Everything from the hotel-esque cleanliness (and hot showers), to the parties and club nights 7 nights a week made it a brilliant place to stay. The staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about BA but were also keen to get to know the guests. Loads of stuff to do during the day both organised by the hostel and generally taking place across BA. Cannot recommend it enough and while I absolutely loved BA, I can honestly say that my stay here would not have been complete without milhouse! 11/10

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank Kretz186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Milhouse hostel is so far one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed at. Rooms are large and comfortable. We got ourselves an ensuite room, bathroom was actually pretty good and clean. Location is the best, a couple of blocks from Casa Rosada at Avenida de Mayo, near metro station and taxi cabs (taxis are very cheap in argentina, I would recommend you to ride them everywhere) or you can just walk, the hostel is just some blocks from Av. 9 de Julio (main av). The only problem I had at Milhouse hostel was with some guys from the front desk, they were very rude once when we went laudry, they wanted to charge us twice the ordinary price, we sure refused to pay and they started to curse in spanish, but you know, stupid guys... they're everywhere. I'd definitely stay there again, If I went to BSAS.
One more thing, if you're not the party kind, avoid this hotel, parties happen pretty much every night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenomartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hostel is cool and had a nice atmoshpere but after night 2 I noticed a bed bug on my sheet. If you see even one bedbug that means there are tons more where that came from. I reported it and they changed my bed, Then I woke up with more bites and my roommate had the bites also. They changed our matresses and cleaned the room but the bites were still coming. Now I am paraniod my whole trip around because of the bugs. Just watch out,,, Read about hostels before you stay in them because bedbugs never go away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteftheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melina S, Manager at Milhouse Hostel Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Milhouse. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

I can assure you that this is not a common occurrence at the property. We have a strict fumigation policy every 2 weeks and we are very focused on cleaning. Unfortunately, however, many long distance buses our backpackers use to come to Buenos Aires have bed bugs in their bags compartments, so when they arrive in the hostel, no matter when we fumigated and how clean we keep our rooms, they carry the bedbugs with them, quickly spreading them in the room. We always try to anticipate this situation, fumigating often, hence preventing the spread of bedbugs in most cases. I´m very sorry that in spite of our efforts and small occurrence of this kind of problem, you did experience bed bugs while your stay with us. We will keep on working hard to prevent bedbugs, and, as you say in your review, provide a cool and fun experience!

With Kind Regards,
Melina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Top quality staff, clean rooms, en-suite bathrooms, powerful hot shower, comfy beds, amazing social element, free wifi, cheap drinks and food, good location, good security, great people - nothing this hostel doesn't have. Would recommend it to everyone! Tip: ask for Paula Siciliano at reception, she's the best, we love her...10/10

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeEMB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Straight to the point, a GAP sweater was stolen from me and the management couldn't care LESS. I went to the hostel to spend a week with my dad and my stepmother, and arrived there on a Saturday with the first night already paid. As the receptionist told us we could get better rates for money exchange on Monday, we asked if we could pay the rest of the nights on Monday, and she said it was okay. The next day when I was out, my sheets were taken, and my sweater was next to my pillow. They were NOT supposed to take them, because I warn them I would stay for the whole week. When I came to the reception, they promised me they would look for it. Then two days passed and no sweater was found.
Then I talked to the responsible manager (at least he was identified so), and he was very rude by saying it was my fault I didn't keep it in the locker. How about their fault by taking the sheets by mistake? I don't believe the roommates stole it from me, but I do believe the cleaners took it accidentally and washed it and BLEACHED it.
Apart from that, obviously there were good things about the hostel and other people from the staff. But this manager behavior really lit down every other thing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mendesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in. I like to party and this was the perfect place to kick off my holiday to Argentina. Seha3 has done a good write up below and there is no point of repeating it, so I won't.

I went there with my girlfriend so I had to have a ensuite private room, which was large and clean. However whilst there I heard some horror stories from what was happening in the dorms (bed bugs, possible orgies etc) but that wasn't my experience. When I got back to BA I will definately be staying here for a few nights for as long as I can handle it.

Room Tip: Get an ensuite private. A little bit more money but you get to avoid other people's bad habbits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achunike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#51 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,471 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#4 of 471 in Buenos Aires
681 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
#1 of 471 in Buenos Aires
96 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#9 of 471 in Buenos Aires
1,382 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#11 of 471 in Buenos Aires
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Avenue

Address: Avenida de Mayo 1245, Buenos Aires C1085ABC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 471 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $13 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular hostel is housed in a beautifully restored 1905 mansion and located on one of the most important avenues in the city - Avenida de Mayo. It features modern facilities and luxurious rooms, all with private bathrooms. This hostel resembles a boutique hotel, the real difference being the price tag! Inside there are different areas to suit all needs and preferences - you can relax on the roof terrace with a refreshing cocktail or simply chill out on one of the many sofas and watch TV, read a book or use the internet. It also boasts a large bar area which is perfect for meeting fellow travellers, watching various sports events, playing pool, using the book exchange or having a bite to eat from our tasty food menu. But the true asset of Milhouse Hostel Avenue is the friendly, well informed and energetic team working here. Typical Porteños, they are passionate about helping you discover Buenos Aires ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing