We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GReat place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GReat place”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Have been there for 3 days and was a great idea, the location is perfect, the parties are great, the rooms are spacious with good lockers and the atmosphere there is very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    280
    66
    20
    34
See reviews for
25
88
257
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed with a group of friends for 4 nights at the beginning of September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked 4 private rooms, and had no hassle when checking in. Staff were friendly, rooms quite large and clean. The bed wasn't hugely comfortable, but it felt like really good value overall. We signed up for most of the activities on offer, the La Boca tour (would probably enjoy more if you're a big fan of football). The 'Graffitimundo' tour (which was my favourite) and went to a tango show. The tango show lesson was amazing, but the food was average and even though it's billed as a 'free' wine bar, it really wasn't. Don't let reception talk you into going to the tango show for dinner over La Cabrera - lovely and juicy Argentinian steaks. The free tango lessons at the hostel were fun though, and a great way to meet people. Definitely lots to do at this hostel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibague, Colombia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Crazy good location, good facilities, good staff (specially ANA), and fun people all the time!
I stayed there in a dorm and a private room in different visits to Buenos Aires, I have to say I saw more Brazilians than I have seen before !! (I´m not complaining, the girls were beautiful, but I never expected to see so many people from Brazil in Argentina).
Buenos Aires is awesome!!!! I could not believe it! It has a special atmosphere that makes your walks around the city unforgettable.
If you´re a futbol fan, you should definitely come! Boca Juniors, River Plate, Huracan, and many more futbol teams have their stadiums in the city or near by.
The street markets of San Telmo, and Recoletta are places you should not miss. Also, take a guided tour through the Recoletta cemetery, without a guide, you´ll miss tons of good tales.
Buenos Aires, is a city you should enjoy at its maximum !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djmenaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Fun, friendly staff. Great bar - always busy. This hostel is massive. Private rooms are really nice. Clean and relatively comfy beds. Food is average. Internet fast but definitely needs more computers since there are 4 for the entire massive hostel! Kitchen could do with a few more general utensils. Bathrooms clean. if your not into partying don't stay here! Quite expensive and full of English people but nice. Be sure to book in advance even off-season.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich/london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hostel is amazing! Service is so good and the reception staff are so helpful and nice as well as the bar staff...

Partied hard, but mainly just felt deliriously happy all the time! This hostel makes u not want to leave buenos aires! And made some really good friends...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeseygander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Where to begin......this hostel was simply amazing! We arrived and from the front...were a little scared that it would be another dump of a hostel in S.America...but soon as the doors opened...it was amazing....nice posh modern feel with smiling faces waiting 4 us in reception.

The guy behind reception (forgot his name)...but he has dreadlocks and fair skin...was VERY helpful and made us feel very welcome. they were very accomodating..changing out reservation from a double bed to a twin room.

Now for the facilities, they had good internet, good food, gr8 b'fast (cereal...bread, jam, butter, tea, fruit)..sounds simple..but taste much better than b'fast anywhere else.

But the main part of the hostel is its social aspect....everyone in town knows it. There is always a party going in either in the Avenue..or the other Millhouse. Meeting ppl is so easy and having a gr8 time is always going to happen here.

The hostel do greeat tours of BOCA stadium and neighbourhood..this lovley nice lady took the tour..so friendly and made us all feel welcolm.

They do football games, tando shows (A MUST DO) and various other tours.

Best city in S.America for me....all thanks to The Millhouse Avenue...love it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Milhouse is the kind of place I probably would have loved when I was 20, single, and more into partying and meeting people than actually enjoying the places I traveled to. Now I'm 35, and married, and the youth hostel scene (with daily arranged tours and activities, as well as parties shared with its sister property, the older and more worn Milhouse Hostel a few blocks away) that the Milhouse provides has become tiresome and dull - and beside the point. Well, why would we stay at a hostel, then? The truth is, many hostels have private rooms, friendly hosts, and pleasant atmospheres for half the price of a hotel room, and we usually enjoy staying at them in more expensive cities. The Milhouse was an exception because it seemed so big, so loud, and so corporate. You had to wear a wristband "at all times" (the staff seemed horrified when I suggested that I didn't want to walk around Buenos Aires with a fluorescent orange biergarten bracelet on my arm) to prove that you'd paid for your right to be there, and the (mostly foreign, primarily Brazilian) staff, while youthful and exuberant, was usually clueless and unable to deviate from their memorized scripts to help you with anything out of the ordinary. And, though it's no fault of the Milhouse, the type of international tourist that stays here is the type that elbows you mercilessly, never holds the door, tries drunkenly to unlock your door at 4 a.m., and avoids saying "thank you," "sorry," or "excuse me," perhaps out of uncertainty about which language to say it in. I'd blame it on their youth, but plenty of the people at the Milhouse were my age or older.

On the other hand, the bar has great empanadas, pizza, sandwiches and beer for incredible prices, and the location of the Milhouse is in the center of town, convenient for exploring. Our immaculately clean room had wood floors, high ceilings, and a nice balcony overlooking the Avenida de Mayo - for $65 or thereabouts, and a similarly appointed hotel would have cost twice that. The next time we go to BA we will probably opt to stay in the more atmospheric San Telmo or Palermo districts instead of Central, but for our first trip, it was good to be in the middle of everything. Oh, everything at the hostel is in English, which in my view is a detractor, but is probably convenient if you don't speak Spanish.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessbarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#57 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,369 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#124 of 447 in Buenos Aires
847 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 447 in Buenos Aires
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
#76 of 447 in Buenos Aires
637 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#46 of 447 in Buenos Aires
738 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 457 in Buenos Aires
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Avenue

Property: Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Address: Avenida de Mayo 1245, Buenos Aires C1085ABC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular hostel is housed in a beautifully restored 1905 mansion and located on one of the most important avenues in the city - Avenida de Mayo. It features modern facilities and luxurious rooms, all with private bathrooms. This hostel resembles a boutique hotel, the real difference being the price tag! Inside there are different areas to suit all needs and preferences - you can relax on the roof terrace with a refreshing cocktail or simply chill out on one of the many sofas and watch TV, read a book or use the internet. It also boasts a large bar area which is perfect for meeting fellow travellers, watching various sports events, playing pool, using the book exchange or having a bite to eat from our tasty food menu. But the true asset of Milhouse Hostel Avenue is the friendly, well informed and energetic team working here. Typical Porteños, they are passionate about helping you discover Buenos Aires ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing