We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel, central and very welcoming”
Review of Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Serena Hotel
Ranked #59 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great small hotel, central and very welcoming”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Very polite and helpfull staff in this small but fab hotel. Great bed, good airconditioner, drinks ( pisco sour is a must) and perfect location. A pitty the pool didnt work... But we could use the pool of the hotel around the corner that was not as nice as the serena pool. Definetly we will come back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldfch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Hola, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    128
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
228
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our group of friends spent 8 days between Christmas and New Year's and had a fabulous time at the Serena. From the moment we arrived to our departure we were shown a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. I cannot not say enough of the friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located within a few short blocks of BA's finest 5 star hotels, restaurants and shops. One annot gpp wrong with The Serena. I look forward staying and visiting with the Serena Hotel !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Hola, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Serena's room #103 was somewhat run down, carpet stains were the most obvious. But, the location, Recoletta (best and safest area of BA) could've be beat. The bed sheets were the softest I've ever slept in and I am super demanding about my sheets at home. On this trip I stayed at the Ritz Carleton Santiago, and they had nothing on Serena's sheets. the included breakfast is simple, you can order scrambled eggs, good coffee. The air conditioning was cold as ice; at 95 f that was appreciated. The price was close to three times less than the nearby Hyatt or Four Seasons. If your interested a great value at a higher standard, the Serena is it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colarada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2015
Google Translation
Hola, muchas gracias por sus comentarios, hemos tomado nota de los detalle que no detallo para mejorarlos, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is a boutique hotel with reasonable rates for staying in the trendy and very safe area of Recoleta. The location is great, you can walk to most everything (if you are up for full days of walking) including the Microcentro area and the main shopping areas. The street is quiet and clean, and very safe. The service was very good, and the onsite restaurant serves a good breakfast. You cannot go wrong with selecting this hotel when visiting Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: A higher floor will be quieter if you are on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Hola, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked Serena based on the positive reviews we saw on TA. And to be honest we can see the potential...great location, contemporary styling, friendly and professional staff. However, our stay was ruined by a litany of problems that arose during our stay...most notably:
- the air conditioning broke down so we were stuck in a stuffy room in the middle of a summer heat wave and broke out in sweat in the middle of the night...truth be told, the staff upgraded us to another room, but the AC in the new room also broke down!
- the guest wifi didn't work
- something is terribly wrong with the plumbing in our washroom so it had a terrible stench no matter now long you turn on the fan
- the pool was 'out of order' for the entire duration of our stay
- the sheets and towels are filthy...the sheets in our upgraded room had something which looks like a blood stain on it, and the towels have dark blotches on them - this is absolutely unforgivable for any hotel, nevermind a hotel which claims to be a 4 star property

Room Tip: Rooms at the street side are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_sanchez222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2015
Google Translation
Hola, muchas gracias por sus comentarios, hemos tomado nota de los detalle que no detallo para mejorarlos, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

When we booked our stay at Hotel Serena we were not sure what to expect when we got there.
After a 14 hour flight we arrived in Buenos Aires. We took a 40 minute cab ride to Hotel Serena. The staff at the front desk were so nice and helpful and welcoming. Even though our room was not ready as we arrived 2 hours before you can check in. They directed us to some cafes within walking distance. Serena is located in a great area. It is walking distance to almost everything you one would want to see while in Buenos Aires. The Bull Rich mall is across the street . It is a very exclusive shopping area. The area is quiet,safe and very clean. Our luggage was stored in a special locked room as we went for a short walk. When we returned we were escorted to a our room. It was great!!
Breakfast is a a buffet made up of meets, cheeses, pasteries,fruit, yogurt and cerals.All very good.
The staff is accomodating that on the morning that we had to leave it was several hours before breakfast is served and the staff made sure we had coffee and some pastery before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiminysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Hola, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel in Buenos Aires. My wife and I had a very nice stay at this hotel. Very clean and comfortable rooms. The whole hotel provides for a very relaxing stay. Location is superb, close to good restaurants and tourist attractions. Breakfast is simple, but good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Hola, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery by Sofitel
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#16 of 447 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#34 of 447 in Buenos Aires
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 447 in Buenos Aires
642 reviews
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#37 of 447 in Buenos Aires
734 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#43 of 447 in Buenos Aires
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel

Property: Serena Hotel
Address: Libertad 1617, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing