We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tour Guide and Tour of Buenos Aires”

Buenos Aires Local Tours
Ranked #33 of 279 Tours in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A "Pay What You Want" tour, Buenos Aires Local Tours, is a great introduction to the past and present of Buenos Aires. You'll travel by public bus, subway and foot to see the Buenos Aires most tourists miss. Visiting Abasto, Congreso and Plaza de Mayo and it's the perfect way to get to know the city as a local does. Run by English & American expats, there are regular group "Pay What You Want" tours, and a private custom tour service is also available if you would like to visit other areas such as Recoleta (& the cemetery), La Boca or San Telmo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour Guide and Tour of Buenos Aires”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are so glad that we did the free tour with Jonathan and saw a completely different perspective of Buenos Aires. We learned about the history of Tango, rode on the wood train (which is so cool) and met lovely people from the U.S. and abroad on this tour (Shout out to Marianne and Andrew). Needless to say, we had a great time!! Jonathan is super nice and he knows so much about the history of Buenos Aires. It was good to learn and to visit so many of the historic sites. He was kind enough to consider that we would need a food and bathroom break and we still had time to see everything of interest. He was even patient enough to wait on those of us who slowed the group down while we were taking photos. I would recommend doing this tour if it is your first time in Buenos Aires for sure! Oh, and how can I forget that Jonathan was also kind enough to explain the bus and subway system (by the 5th day we had already figured it out on our own). We wished that we had taken this tour earlier in our trip, however it was still great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    25
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
“Much More Than A Walking Tour”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sign up for Jonathan's tour now! It was fun, full of facts that make BA even more interesting, and so much more than just walking from one place to another. You learn how to best navigate the city, take a bus and subway, and meet other cool travelers. Jonathan gives important historical context, vital pop culture gems, recommendations, and he clearly loves talking about BA/Argentina's greatness and oddities. Taking the tour at the start of your visit will be helpful, but I loved it even on my last day in BA. Thanks again, Jonathan!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A walk with jonathan”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A deep knowledge of Buenos Aires and Argentina's history combined with a british humour,this is the Jonathan's experience. Good fun and good memory. Enjoy! Eric from Paris

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Buenos Aires”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Walking tours are often enjoyable and this one was no exception. The reason I enjoyed Jonathan's tour more than most was because he gave a good introduction to the public transportation system, which can definitely be intimidating in a city like Buenos Aires. Also, his tour was more detailed than most of the other tours we tried, meaning that you didn't just "brush" over everything. I would recommend this tour to first time visitors as a great way to start your travels.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Fun Day, Useful Info!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a great time on the walking tour! Jonathan really knows his stuff and shared a great mix of practical information, like how to operate the public transportation system and how to stay safe, and a really good mix of history, geography, architecture and cultural information about Buenos Aires. The pace was great, the walking was leisurely and our group had a nice time. I learned a lot !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vrathbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buenos Aires Local Tours also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Buenos Aires Local Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing