We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could have been better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket - Thai Cuisine

Phuket - Thai Cuisine
Ranked #607 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Palermo
Description: Thai food, located in the heart of Palermo Viejo, quiet and warm, run by owners
Mendoza, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

our appetizers were really delicious (we got some type of pork spring roll and whatever spicy veggie dip they bring out to all tables at the start of a meal.) we had pad thai with chicken and a beef curry dish for our entrees. the portions were small. in order to feign generous portions, there were several giant cabbage leaves under the small portion of noodles and chicken. in addition there were more sprouts and onions that actual noodles. the curry wasn't particularly flavorful and looked more to be an appetizer sized portion. then comes dessert--the funniest part of all. we ordered 1) chocolate mousse with dulce de leche and 2) grilled pineapple. the dulce de leche was nowhere to be found in the mousse dish and the grilled pineapple was accidentally grilled with salt on the outside instead of sugar. we asked the waiter if this was the correct flavor and he said that, no, normally it is a very sweet dish and that there must have been a mix up in the kitchen. thankfully, he took the pineapple off our check. all in all, if you're really really craving thai in BA, you might be able to get away with some simple appetizers but i wouldn't go back for anything more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenP811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    25
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Genuinely rich taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

In spite of the restaurant being quite small, it has incredibly good atmosphere. The decoration, the lights, the music, the candles all contribute to the magic feeling.
And the most excellent part regarding the restaurant: the food! The cuisine is outstanding, really good flavors! I normally do not eat spicy but I love the taste of Thai food. In this concern, what I must emphasize is that there is a wide selection of dishes that are not spicy. Therefore, it does not matter if you prefer spicy or moderate, you will definitely find a dish for yourself there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LianavanNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Spicy & Authentic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Have tried quite a few different thai restaurants so far in BA and I can honestly say this is by far the best thai food in the city! I ordered the pad thai and my friends ordered curry and it was actually spicy, I couldn't believe it! The pad thai noodles were delicious and the sauce was perfect. The appetizers were great as well and the servings are huge! Our server knew quite a bit about the food, was really fast and just overall very sweet and friendly. Absolutely love it!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Verda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe, arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trying to be Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you like the the rich and spicy Thai food we get in the U.S., this isn't the place for you. Staff was nice and service was good, but they are having trouble serving up Thai to the Argentinians because, our server told us, they don't like anything too spicy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bsintempe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food in Buenos Aires”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Getting authentic southeast asian food in Buenos Aires is hard. The Argentines are generally spice wimps and don't like hot food. So it was surprising to find this Thai restaurant in Palermo that was the real thing. The Tom Ga Kai soup was very good, spiced with lemon grass, kefir and ginger. We also had a chicken with basil and a massaman beef curry. If you like real Thai food, make sure you ask for the dishes "muy picante". The service was very friendly and overall it was a good experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket - Thai Cuisine also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Phuket - Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing