We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Buenos Aires”
Review of Galerias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galerias Hotel
Ranked #334 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We recently had 3 nights in Buenos Aires and were so pleased we were staying at the Hotel Galerias. It is really well positioned close to Florida for strolling. We walked to San Telmo to look around the antique shops, took a taxi then to the Evita Museum in Recoleta (which was a really interesting place to visit) and then walked back to the hotel via the cemetery and along Ave Alvear. The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful and rooms were spacious and modern. We were also grateful to be able to access an iron and ironing board in our room - not always the case in some hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 431 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

The room was nice and large, very spacious, the bathroom was designed nice (except maybe just a little dark), the breakfast was great, the best one we had out of 6 hotels we stayed at on the 2.5 week vacation. We had great service from the morning front desk guy (didn't get his name), he was so enthusiastic and helpful.

Everything was fine EXCEPT the bathroom had this open grate where whenever someone else flushed, i think it was flowing through that plumbing. And our bathroom STUNK! it stunk so bad, the whole time. We ended up having to hold our breath every time we went to use the bathroom, we even tried covering up the grate with the trash can (helped a little). And just closed the sliding door to the toilet area every time afterwards so the smell wouldn't permeate through the whole room. we were in room 104. don't know if that was the only room w/the smell.

Location is great to all the downtown area, but Florida street can be kinda sketchy sometimes. Walking distance for us to almost all the sites.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank croelin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our first stay at Galerias, having always previously used Claridge, just down the road: (generally very good, but with cramped bedrooms).
Our 3 rooms at Galerias were very large, modern, well furnished & quiet, despite overlooking the busy Tucuman. The hotel is very centrally located, 100 m. from the pedestrianised Florida shops. The staff could not have been more attentive & helpful.
Drawbacks: the cafe style bar & dining area is "minimalist" in the extreme, & we did not want to dine there. So also is the small seating area in the reception area: useable only while waiting for a taxi, etc.
Breakfasts were also definitely on the poor side, compared to the most varied & lavish spreads at Claridge.
Overall, if you plan to be out & about most of the time then the very large bedroom s at Galerias nudges it into first place over Claridge. However, Claridge dining, lounge & bar areas are vastly superior.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

A few steps from the Florida Street, this hotel is modern, very clean and offers bigger rooms than you normally can get for this price (1500 pesos/night for 2 rooms). Breakfast is average and the staff is a bit too serious, but it's definitely the best hotel I stayed in BA (I've been there 4 times).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cquad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Excellent central location right next to Florida mall, however still quiet at night. A reasonably basic breakfast but that was not a problem. Front desk staff were very good, especially Nicholas. Nice size rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeyeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Can't check in until 3pm, which is a bit of a nuisance...but the staff are very helpful. Rooms are nice, large and clean, and the bathroom is big..(be careful I locked myself in!) Safe, fridge, TV, small pool on the roof top with 2 lounges, spa and a gym. Very close location to Florida and shopping centres.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaUnitedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Great location just off Florida's shopping. Beautiful large rooms, well-appointed including a great bath in the modern bathroom, which was much appreciated after a long flight. Efficient and user-friendly air-con and hard floors which gave a feel of cleanliness. We loved the roof-top pool, although we didn't use it. In-room safe was handy. Very friendly staff. Only downfall: Wi-Fi in room did not work. Have re-booked for when we return to BA in a week.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Claridge Hotel
Claridge Hotel
#149 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,395 reviews
Montserrat
Babel Suites
Babel Suites
#280 of 442 in Buenos Aires
317 reviews
Abasto Hotel
#240 of 442 in Buenos Aires
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Kenton Palace Buenos Aires
Kenton Palace Buenos Aires
#92 of 442 in Buenos Aires
466 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#109 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,445 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Dolmen
Hotel Dolmen
#106 of 442 in Buenos Aires
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galerias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galerias Hotel

Address: Calle Tucuman 651, Buenos Aires C1049AAM, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $68 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galerias Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galerías Hotel Boutique is a new hotel establishment recently opened in downtown Buenos Aires. It is close to worldwide known Florida pedestrian walkway, and just a two blocks from mythical Corrientes avenue. This area is known for its shopping circuits and malls, varied gastronomy, innumerable movie theaters, and prestigious company and bank headquarters.It is an innovating, unique and idyllic hotel, where guests feel free and seduced by an unequalled service in every hotel area. Its sophisticated and harmonious atmosphere searches plenitude through countless details.Its avant-garde and elegant style contains nevertheless state of the art technology. Its comfortable and practical furniture privileges taste in a modern fashion. Our fine and spacious 40 square meter guestrooms are bright and comfortable, and contain sofas, desks, LCD television, cable TV, Wi Fi, individual air conditioning, minibar, laptop fitting safety boxes, double glazed windows with air chamber insulation, sound and heat insulation, Mito coffee makers with capsules of different flavours, in addition to our distinct touch. The bathrooms have separate jacuzzi, shower, lavatory, toilet and bidet areas, and our exclusive amenities. At our boutique hotel you will feel at home thanks to the service provided by our staff. Excellent experienced professionals in each area will attend you and satisfy your needs. Galerías Hotel Boutique has a bar area, restaurant, business center, swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gym and offers room service, complimentary Wi Fi, laundry, free medical assistance, transportation and tours. Stays include a buffet breakfast and unrestricted access to our hotel services and premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galerias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing