We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Temper your expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algodon Wine Bar

Algodon Wine Bar
Ranked #1,335 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Retiro
Description: Algodon Wine Bar is a favorite destination for neighborhood locals and international crowds alike. Our unique wine list exemplifies the Argentinean wine portfolio, with emphasis on the premium and icon vintages of our own private collection from Algodon Wine Estates in Mendoza. Featuring a scrumptious menu presented by our Chef de Cuisine, our lounge's intimate atmosphere and chic Recoleta ambiance makes the perfect spot for business lunches, romantic dinners, after-office happy hours, or pre-nightlife aperitifs. Afterwards, head up to our rooftop Davidoff Lounge to enjoy an outstanding cocktail menu.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Temper your expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Having eaten at several restaurants in Buenos Aires, I would say that this is an average restaurant when taking into consideration all a restaurant must offer. The food is above average, but what kills the place is the service and attitude of the staff. I walked in with my friend, and felt unwelcome from the beginning. When we stated that we would like a table for two, they said all they had was seating in the bar area. This area is nice...no issues there...but the restaurant portion was not full. The waiter did not smile once...and it seemed we were a bother to him. Not once did he welcome us; thank us for coming; he just went through the motions.

Aside from the issues regarding service, I have to say the atmosphere was too stuffy. One cannot tell the difference between hostess/waiter/front desk clerk/manager because they are all dressed the same - dark suits with dark ties. And not a smile among any of them.

This is in stark contrast to the Algodon Wine Estates in San Rafael, where the service/atmosphere/food are exceptional.

The pricing is curious, particularly for drinks. We ordered a bottle of the Bonarda Wine, which turns out costs the same as two limoncellos. Either the wine is underpriced, or the limoncellos are overpriced.

In short...the food was above average...the service and atmosphere below average....comes out to an average rating.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viajero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Algodon Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Viajero S,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted that you found our menu to be above average, and of your favorable mention of Algodon Wine Estates in San Rafael, Mendoza. However we are very sorry that your overall dining experience at Chez Nous was disappointing.

As the Chairman & Founder of Algodon properties, I would like to personally apologize for the service issues you experienced. I would also like to take this opportunity to state on the record that we very much appreciate feedback such as yours, and take it very seriously.

The Algodon brand itself was founded on the very concept of exemplary service and amenities, and it’s clear to me that we failed to meet our own standards at the time of your visit. Your evaluation has already been discussed with everyone on our team, and appropriate actions have been taken.

We would like to welcome you back to Chez Nous! I do hope that you’ll accept our invitation and allow us to provide you with an exemplary dining experience worthy of our reputation. I will be contacting you privately to discuss your invitation further. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Scott Mathis, Chairman & Founder, Algodon Properties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We ate dinner at Chez Nous as were staying in the hotel.
We had the de gustation menu in order to try a range of the foods. We found the courses were varied and of the best standard we had in BA. The service was a little un-polished but still very friendly. The atmosphere is really nice and reasonably romantic. There was a good selection of South American wines. We did not find it too expensive (comparing to Sydney).
I would recommend Chez Nous as it was our second best meal in BA.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddsheywo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“an excellent place for diner with gastronomic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I went to this restaurant based on a review performed by Time Out. I was not disappointed at all. The service was first class, extremely client oriented, and also discrete.
The food was absolutely delicious, as well as the presentation of the dishes.
No wonder why the hotel hosting this restaurant is part of the "relais et chateaux" fine network.
I highly recommend given that the prices are also reasonable for the quality of fine food offered.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Florian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We had read about this restaurant on food blogs and Delicious magazine in Australia. We were not disappointed. The food on the lunch menu was light but tasty and beautifully presented. Surprisingly, for such a classy venue the meals were not expensive. Great wines by the glass were available at a good price, and staff were very friendly and attentive.
You will need directions to find this gem as it is easy to walk straight past. it is in the Algodon Mansion Hotel in Recoleta.

Helpful?
Thank moonflower59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“An elegant and delicious experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

A friend and I had lunch at Chez Nous after a long morning of tromping the Buenos Aires streets sightseeing. We were not dressed up, certainly, although most patrons looked like business people or elegant ladies out shopping. Didn't matter to our server nor did we feel out of place. A beautiful little restaurant in a hotel. Wonderful food - I had the filet of sole special (you have to seize the opportunity to have something light in Argentian) and my friend the empanada selections (six little pockets in 3 delicious flavors) and glasses of a delicious Bonardo from the Algodon vineyard in Mendoza. Too bad they don't seem to export this wonderful wine. Very much worth a stop - not at all a tourist joint like some eateries in the Recoleta area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algodon Wine Bar also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Algodon Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing