We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, but with a caveat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilum Experience Home
Ranked #15 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, but with a caveat”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel was amazing. Beautiful, clean, peaceful. The rooms were spotless, and the beds were very comfortable. There was free wifi and free netbooks for the guests. The breakfast had a huge variety, including eggs made to order. It lasts until 11am, which is great. The location is great. I would come back here for sure.

As others mentioned, the service was extraordinary. Gustavo and Catalina were our heroes - they did so much research to book us restaurants and spa reservations. They went above and beyond and did everything they could to make us comfortable.

Now the caveat: Monday-Friday there is construction during the day. If you're an early riser and are going to spend most of the day out and about, it won't affect you. If you want to sleep in, I recommend you stay in the terrace room during the week. The construction can be heard from some of the garden rooms in the back but not in the terrace rooms in the front. The terrace rooms were fine noise-wise (and I'm a light sleeper). You could here some street noise but really nothing exceptional. The garden room on the weekend was very peaceful.

Room Tip: Choose the garden room on weekends and the terrace rooms during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    71
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
34
223
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in Ilum for 5 nights in Feb and thought it was fantastic.
Rooms: really clean, huge bed, modern finish, lovely attention to detail. Garden view room best.
Jacuzzi: worth a visit on the roof. Really peaceful little oasis.
Location: walking distance to any areas in Palermo. Cab journey needed to San Telmo and Retiro. Some great restaurants near by.
Staff: some of the most helpful and friendly staff I've encountered. Gastavo on reception was fantastic at finding any bit of info we required... Need a dinner reservation they will sort it all out. Even after we left he emailed us with info to help with rest of our trip.
Breakfast: lots of choice. Eggs, hams, cheese, breads, croissants, cakes, fruits, biscuits.
Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jormurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Really could not fault this place - we stayed here for 5 nights in December 2012 - we thought that it was well-priced for what it was ($225/night in peak season), the location was really great (it's in the middle of Palermo Hollywood, close to some very cool restaurants and bars and really good nightlife, and a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of Palermo Soho, where there are some amazing little boutique shops and more great little restaurants and bars), the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, breakfast was more than adequate (continental breakfast with lots of yummy pastries, fruits, breads etc, and also a range of hot breakfast options available), and the room was very modern and well-appointed, very clean and fresh with a well-equipped bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The rooms wouldn't make you say WOW but they were certainly nice and more than adequate given that we were going to be spending most of our day exploring BA! I noticed some other reviewers said they had issue with noise travelling through the hotel - we were on the top floor and didn't experience this at all.

Overall a very pleasant stay :)

Only thing I will say is that you seriously should not book a private airport transfer through the hotel - we had asked for them to arrange one on our way back from the hotel to the airport and were quoted 250 pesos, and were told that was a flat rate. I then said I thought 175 pesos seemed more reasonable - the lady at reception then promptly said okay 200 is fine. I didn't like how the 'flat rate' was able to change so quickly, so I ended up just hailing a cab off the street - and paid 150 pesos! Lesson learned :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is adorable and lives up to it's online photos. The lobby is very pretty and the rooms were great. Clean and good size private bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's located in Palermo Hollywood near a ton of restaurants(check out Miranda!). Palermo Soho is even busier and has more restaurants but this location was very good especially if you don't mind walking a few blocks to explore more. Taxis also run frequently between the two areas. Also, the concierge was super helpful and handled every request and dinner reservation we asked for. Spoke English well and happy to help. Breakfast was also decent for being free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sireenah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at Ilum. The one thing I will remember about the hotel is the fantastic staff, all very helpful and willing to help you in every way they can. Nothing is a problem; everything has a solution. Hotel itself is nice rooms are big and breakfast is delicious. Not the best location (Palermo yes, but Palermo Hollywood). Plenty of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We did not know much about what we could expect from a "boutique hotel" in Buenos Aires,
but when we arrived at the ILUM it was a great and pleasant surprise. Friendly, helpful staff -especially Gustavo, Juan and Carolina- good English spoken. Only 12 state of the art large rooms (only 4 per floor) and all with hand-picked furnishings and the best available refinements to add!
There are some "teething problems" though with the ultra modern lift and the bathroom taps which one needs a college or university degree to work.
A light -but sufficient- breakfast is included in the price of the room, so is Wi-Fi, if you do not have your laptop, they will lend you one for the duration of your stay!
A refreshing and friendly place in the Palermo Hollywood area, with lots of restaurants and outlet shopping nearby.
If you want an experience like home, do not go past the ILUM Experience Home!

Room Tip: Garden facing room is quieter if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Ilum when our initial reservations elsewhere fell through (we were delayed due to Hurricane Sandy), and ended up there for five nights. It is a very nice little hotel, with clean and pleasant rooms, a nice breakfast, and very friendly, helpful staff. Juan, who manned the front desk for much of our stay, was particularly helpful with recommendations of restaurants, etc. They also arranged an airport pick-up for us which was very helpful. The area is very convenient, and we had no trouble finding great restaurants nearby (Miranda was amazing) - it's also a quick walk across the train tracks into Palermo Soho, and we had no trouble finding taxis in the area when we wanted to go further afield.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our terrace room, but I think we would have been okay with a balcony or garden room, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,808 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,596 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 447 in Buenos Aires
790 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,288 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 447 in Buenos Aires
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilum Experience Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilum Experience Home

Property: Ilum Experience Home
Address: Bonpland 1762, Buenos Aires C1414CMV, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilum Experience Home 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The importance of a first step is that it would mark the way we are heading. That's why choosing Ilum is understanding that our reality doesn't nourish itself from our yesterday or our tomorrow, today is forever today, it is here and now where I choose to be. Ilum is a place with no pressures, a place where we found that the most important thing is to allow ourselves to enjoy of the best, what we receive in life is a consequence of what we give, that is why in Ilum experience home what we give is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ilum Experience Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing